妙佑医疗国际的尿道狭窄治疗

妙佑医疗国际为您提供的医护团队

妙佑医疗国际的泌尿科医生可为全年龄段存在尿路问题的患者提供专家级护理。从诊断到恢复非常快,往往在首次就诊后几天之内便可完成。

妙佑医疗国际的医生提供综合治疗。医生花时间了解您,并与您密切合作,以准确提供您所需要的治疗。

先进的诊断和治疗

为了做出诊断,医生会询问您的症状和病史,并安排进行体格检查。医生可能建议您接受许多检查,以确定尿道狭窄的原因、部位和长度,其中包括:

  • 尿分析 - 寻找尿中有无感染、血液或癌症的迹象
  • 尿流量试验 - 检测尿流的强度和数量
  • 尿道超声 - 评估狭窄段长度
  • 盆腔超声 - 检查排尿后膀胱中是否存在尿液
  • 盆腔磁共振成像 (MRI) - 评估髋骨是否正影响您的疾病或受此影响
  • 逆行尿道造影 - 利用 X 线影像来核查尿道的结构性问题或损伤,以及沿尿道核查狭窄段的长度和位置
  • 膀胱镜检查 - 利用装有透镜的纤细管样器械(膀胱镜)来查看尿道和膀胱

只有当狭窄引发问题时,才需要在妙佑医疗国际接受矫正治疗。如果接受相关治疗,应安排频繁随访检查至少一年,以确保狭窄不再复发,且患者保持未感染。

治疗方法取决于患者的自身情况。妙佑医疗国际的治疗选项包括:

  • 插管术。向膀胱插入细管(导管)导尿,通常是治疗尿路阻塞的第一步。如果存在感染,医生还可能建议抗生素治疗。如果诊断发现狭窄段较短,可以选择自我导尿。
  • 扩张。医生会将一根细丝穿过尿道并插入膀胱。沿着细丝通过尿道的扩张器尺寸会逐渐加大,以逐渐增加尿道开口的大小。该门诊手术可用于治疗复发性尿道狭窄。
  • 尿道成形术。该治疗方法是指以手术方式切除收窄的尿道段或使其扩大。该手术还可能涉及重建周围组织。重建期间,可能使用皮肤或口腔等身体其他区域的组织作为移植体。尿道成形术后,尿道狭窄复发率较低。
  • 内镜下尿道切开术。为了施行手术,医生会将一个细小光学装置(膀胱镜)插入尿道,然后通过膀胱镜插入器械,以切除狭窄部位或用激光使其气化。这种手术在术后恢复更快、瘢痕化最小且感染风险较低,不过可能会复发。
  • 植入支架或永久性导管。如患有重度狭窄且选择不做手术,则可选择通过永久性人工管(支架)来保持尿道通畅,或者使用永久性导管引流膀胱。但是,这些治疗方法存在诸多缺点,包括膀胱发炎、不适和尿路感染风险。期间需要接受密切监测。尿道支架往往作为最后的治疗措施,通常很少使用。

一般来说,只要可以采用尿道成形术来治疗尿道狭窄,医生们往往首选此法,而非其他手术治疗。传统观点认为,若治疗期间早期进行尿道成形术,有望避免因尿道狭窄复发而接受多次内镜下尿道切开术。

专长与排名

经验

妙佑医疗国际的泌尿科医生技术精湛,且在利用微创手术和重建手术疗法治疗尿道狭窄疾病方面拥有丰富经验。

尿道狭窄专业技能

妙佑医疗国际的泌尿科医生及其团队不仅训练有素,而且通常还会接受额外的专业培训以处理复杂的尿道重建手术。妙佑医疗国际的医生每年会为 1000 多名尿道狭窄患者提供治疗。

全美公认的专业实力

在《美国新闻与世界报道》最佳医院排行榜上,妙佑医疗国际明尼苏达州罗切斯特院区在治疗泌尿系统疾病方面排名第一。妙佑医疗国际亚利桑那州凤凰城/斯克茨代尔院区和佛罗里达州杰克逊维尔院区均被《美国新闻与世界报道》评为全美泌尿系统疾病最佳医院。根据《美国新闻与世界报道》2021-2022 年“最佳儿童医院”排名,妙佑医疗国际罗切斯特院区儿童中心无论是在明尼苏达州还是在爱荷华、明尼苏达、北达科他、南达科他和威斯康星五州区域内,均名列第一。

详细了解关于妙佑医疗国际泌尿外科的信息。

位置、旅行和住宿

Mayo Clinic 在亚利桑那州的凤凰城和斯克茨戴尔、佛罗里达州的杰克逊威尔,以及明尼苏达州的罗切斯特都有主要院区。Mayo Clinic 健康系统在几个州拥有十几个工作地点。

有关参观 Mayo Clinic 的更多信息,请在下面选择您的位置:

费用与保险

Mayo Clinic与数百家保险公司合作,为数百万人提供网络内服务。

在大多数情况下,Mayo Clinic 不需要医师转诊。某些保险要求转诊,或有其它特定医疗方面的要求。所有优先预约都基于医疗需求。

了解更多关于在 Mayo Clinic 预约

请联系您的保险公司,核实医保范围,并在就医之前获得任何所需的许可。您保险公司的客户服务号码通常印在您的保险卡背面。

July 02, 2022

Urethral stricture care at Mayo Clinic

Your Mayo Clinic care team

Urologists at Mayo Clinic provide expert care for people of all ages who have urinary tract problems. You move quickly from diagnosis to recovery, often within a few days of your initial visit.

Doctors at Mayo Clinic provide comprehensive care. Your doctor takes the time to get to know you and work with you to provide exactly the care you need.

Advanced diagnosis and treatment

To make a diagnosis, your doctor will ask about your symptoms and your medical history and conduct a physical exam. Your doctor might recommend a number of tests to determine the cause, location and length of the urethral stricture, including:

  • Urinalysis — looks for signs of infection, blood or cancer in your urine
  • Urinary flow test — measures the strength and amount of urine flow
  • Urethral ultrasound — evaluates the length of the stricture
  • Pelvic ultrasound — looks for the presence of urine in your bladder after urination
  • Pelvic magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) — assesses whether your pelvic bone is affecting or is affected by your condition
  • Retrograde urethrogram — uses X-ray images to check for a structural problem or injury of the urethra as well as the length and location of the stricture along the urethra
  • Cystoscopy — examines your urethra and bladder using a thin, tubelike device fitted with a lens (cystoscope) to view these organs

Corrective treatment at Mayo Clinic is necessary only if your stricture causes problems. If you do undergo treatment, you'll need frequent follow-up exams for at least a year to ensure the stricture doesn't recur and that you remain free of infection.

Your treatment will depend on your situation. Treatment options at Mayo Clinic include:

  • Catheterization. Inserting a small tube (catheter) into your bladder to drain urine is the usual first step for treating urine blockage. Your doctor might also recommend antibiotics to treat an infection, if one is present. Self-catheterization might be an option if you're diagnosed with a short stricture.
  • Dilation. Your doctor inserts a tiny wire through the urethra and into the bladder. Progressively larger dilators pass over the wire to gradually increase the size of the urethral opening. This outpatient procedure may be an option for recurrent urethral strictures.
  • Urethroplasty. This involves surgically removing the narrowed section of your urethra or enlarging it. The procedure might also involve reconstruction of the surrounding tissues. Tissues from other areas of the body, such as your skin or mouth, may be used as a graft during reconstruction. The recurrence of urethral stricture after a urethroplasty is low.
  • Endoscopic urethrotomy. For this procedure, your doctor inserts a thin optical device (cystoscope) into your urethra, then inserts instruments through the cystoscope to remove the stricture or vaporize it with a laser. This surgical procedure offers a faster recovery, minimal scarring and less risk of infection, although recurrence is possible.
  • Implanted stent or permanent catheter. If you have a severe stricture and choose not to have surgery, you may opt for a permanent artificial tube (stent) to keep the urethra open, or a permanent catheter to drain the bladder. However, these procedures have several disadvantages, including a risk of bladder irritation, discomfort and urinary tract infections. They also require close monitoring. Urethral stents are often a measure of last resort and are rarely used.

Generally, whenever urethroplasty is possible for treating urethral stricture, doctors prefer that procedure over other surgical treatments. The conventional wisdom is that performing urethroplasty early during the course of treatment spares you from needing multiple endoscopic urethrotomies, if urethral stricture recurs.

Expertise and rankings

Experience

Highly skilled urologists at Mayo Clinic have vast experience in performing both minimally invasive and reconstructive surgical techniques to treat urethral stricture disease.

Urethral stricture expertise

Mayo Clinic urologists and their teams are highly trained, often with additional specialty training to deal with complex urethral reconstructive procedures. Mayo Clinic doctors treat more than 1,000 people with urethral strictures each year.

Nationally recognized expertise

Mayo Clinic in Minnesota has been recognized as the best Urology hospital in the nation for 2016-2017 by U.S. News & World Report. Mayo Clinic in Arizona is ranked high performing in the same report.

Learn more about Mayo Clinic's Urology department.

Locations, travel and lodging

Mayo Clinic has major campuses in Phoenix and Scottsdale, Arizona; Jacksonville, Florida; and Rochester, Minnesota. The Mayo Clinic Health System has dozens of locations in several states.

For more information on visiting Mayo Clinic, choose your location below:

Costs and insurance

Mayo Clinic works with hundreds of insurance companies and is an in-network provider for millions of people.

In most cases, Mayo Clinic doesn't require a physician referral. Some insurers require referrals, or may have additional requirements for certain medical care. All appointments are prioritized on the basis of medical need.

Learn more about appointments at Mayo Clinic.

Please contact your insurance company to verify medical coverage and to obtain any needed authorization prior to your visit. Often, your insurer's customer service number is printed on the back of your insurance card.

Oct. 18, 2017
References
  1. Peterson A. Urethral strictures in men. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed June 14, 2017.
  2. Male urethral stricture: AUA guideline. American Urological Association. https://www.auanet.org/guidelines/male-urethral-stricture-(2016). Accessed June 14, 2017.
  3. Tritschler S, et al. Urethral stricture: Etiology, investigation and treatments. Deutsches Ärzteblatt International. 2013;110:220.
  4. Riggin EA. AllScripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn. April 10, 2017.
  5. Castle EP (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn. June 28, 2017.