نظرة عامة

تُعد ضربة الحرارة حالة مرضية تنتج عن ارتفاع درجة حرارة الجسم، وعادة ما تكون نتيجة عن التعرض الممتد للإجهاد البدني في درجات الحرارة المرتفعة. يمكن أن يحدث هذا النوع الأكثر خطورة من الإصابة الحرارية أو ضربة الحرارة، إذا ارتفعت درجة حرارة الجسم إلى 104 درجة فهرنهايت (40 درجة مئوية) أو أكثر. تعتبر هذه الحالة أكثر شيوعًا في شهور الصيف.

تحتاج الضربة الحرارية إلى العلاج الطارئ. قد تتلف ضربة الحرارة التي تُركت دون علاج الدماغ، والقلب، والكلى، والعضلات بشكل سريع. كلما زاد التلف سوءًا كلما طال التأخر عن العلاج، ويؤدي ذلك إلى الموت أو زيادة خطر حدوث مضاعفات.

الأعراض

Heatstroke signs and symptoms include:

  • High body temperature. A core body temperature of 104 F (40 C) or higher, obtained with a rectal thermometer, is the main sign of heatstroke.
  • Altered mental state or behavior. Confusion, agitation, slurred speech, irritability, delirium, seizures and coma can all result from heatstroke.
  • Alteration in sweating. In heatstroke brought on by hot weather, your skin will feel hot and dry to the touch. However, in heatstroke brought on by strenuous exercise, your skin may feel dry or slightly moist.
  • Nausea and vomiting. You may feel sick to your stomach or vomit.
  • Flushed skin. Your skin may turn red as your body temperature increases.
  • Rapid breathing. Your breathing may become rapid and shallow.
  • Racing heart rate. Your pulse may significantly increase because heat stress places a tremendous burden on your heart to help cool your body.
  • Headache. Your head may throb.

متى تزور الطبيب

إذا كنت تعتقد أن شخصًا ما قد يكون مصابًا بضربة شمس، فاطلب المساعدة الطبية فورًا. اتصل بالرقم 911 أو رقم خدمات الطوارئ المحلي.

قم باتخاذ إجراءات فورية لتبريد الشخص المصاب في أثناء انتظار علاج الطوارئ.

  • ضع الشخص المصاب في الظل أو في الداخل.
  • قم بإزالة الملابس الزائدة.
  • قم بتبريد الشخص بكل الوسائل المتاحة — ضعه في حوض ماء بارد أو دش بارد، أو رشه بخرطوم الحديقة، أو امسح عليه بماء بارد باستخدام إسفنجة، أو قم بالتهوية في أثناء رشه بالماء البارد، أو ضع أكياس الثلج أو المناشف الباردة والمبللة على الرأس والرقبة والإبطين والمنطقة الأربية.

الأسباب

يمكن حدوث ضربة الحرارة نتيجة ما يلي:

  • التعرض لبيئة حارة. وفي نوع من ضربات الحرارة معروف باسم ضربات الحرارة غير الجهدية (الكلاسيكية)، يكون الشخص في بيئة حارة تؤدي إلى ارتفاع درجة الحرارة الأساسية في الجسم. ويحدث هذا النوع من ضربات الحرارة عادةً بعد التعرض للطقس الحار الرطب وخاصةً لفترات طويلة. ويحدث غالبًا في البالغين الكبار والمرضى المصابين بالأمراض المزمنة.
  • الأنشطة الشاقة. تحدث ضربات الحرارة الجهدية بزيادة درجة حرارة الجسم الأساسية بسبب الأنشطة الرياضية الشاقة في الطقس الحار. يمكن إصابة أيّ شخص يتمرن أو يعمل في طقس حار بضربات الحرارة الجهدية، ولكن يترجح أكثر حدوثها إذا لم يكن الشخص معتادًا على درجات الحرارة المرتفعة.

وفي كلا النوعين من ضربات الحرارة، يمكن حدوث الحالة بسبب ما يلي:

  • ارتداء ملابس زائدة تمنع تبخر العرق بسهولة وتبريد الجسم
  • تناول الكحوليات، الذي يمكن أن يؤثر على قدرة الجسم على تنظيم درجة الحرارة
  • الإصابة بالجفاف نتيجة عدم شرب السوائل الكافية لتعويض فقدان السوائل عبر التعرّق

عوامل الخطر

من الممكن أن يُصاب أي شخص بضربة الحرارة، ولكن توجد عدة عوامل تزيد من خطر إصابتك بها:

  • العمر. تعتمد قدرتك على التأقلم مع الحرارة الشديدة على قوة جهازك العصبي المركزي. ففي حالة صغار السن، لا يكون الجهاز العصبي المركزي متطورًا بشكل كامل، وفي حالة البالغين فوق 65 عامًا، يبدأ الجهاز العصبي المركزي في التدهور، مما يجعل الجسم أقل قدرة على التكيف مع التغيرات في درجة حرارة الجسم. وعادةً ما تواجه كلا المجموعتين العمريتين صعوبة في الحفاظ على رطوبة الجسم، مما يزيد أيضًا من المخاطر.
  • بذل المجهود في الطقس الحار. من الممكن أن تؤدي ممارسة بعض الأنشطة في الطقس الحار، مثل التدريب العسكري والمشاركة في رياضات مثل كرة القدم أو سباقات الجري لمسافات طويلة، إلى الإصابة بضربة الحرارة.
  • التعرُض المفاجئ للطقس الحار. قد تكون أكثر عرضة للإصابة بأمراض متعلقة بالحرارة إذا تعرضت لارتفاع مفاجئ في درجة الحرارة، مثل التعرض لموجة الحر في أوائل الصيف أو السفر إلى مناخ أكثر سخونة.

    ففي هذه الحالات، ينبغي لك تقليل ممارسة أنشطتك لعدة أيام على الأقل حتى يتمكن جسمك من التأقلم مع التغيير. ومع ذلك، ربما تظل احتمالية تعرضك لضربة الحرارة عالية إلى أن تقضي عدة أسابيع في هذا الجو الحار.

  • عدم وجود تكييف الهواء. قد تشعرك المراوح ببعض التحسن، لكن أثناء الطقس الحار المستمر، يكون تكييف الهواء هو الطريقة الأكثر فعالية للتبريد وتقليل الرطوبة.
  • أدوية معينة. تؤثر بعض الأدوية على قدرة جسمك على البقاء رطبًا وعلى استجابته للحرارة. سيكون عليك توخي الحذر خاصةً في الطقس الحار إذا كنت تتناول الأدوية التي تضيق الأوعية الدموية (مضيقات الأوعية الدموية)، أو تنظم ضغط الدم عن طريق منع الأدرينالين (حاصرات مستقبلات بيتا)، أو تخلص جسمك من الصوديوم والماء (مدرات البول)، أو تقلل الأعراض النفسية (مضادات الاكتئاب أو مضادات الذهان).

    كما يمكن أن تؤدي المنبهات المستخدمة في حالات اضطراب نقص الانتباه مع فرط النشاط والمنبهات غير القانونية، مثل الأمفيتامينات والكوكايين، إلى زيادة خطر الإصابة بضربة الحرارة.

  • أمراض معينة. قد تجعلك بعض الأمراض المزمنة، مثل أمراض القلب أو الرئة، عرضة بشكل أكبر لخطر الإصابة بضربة الحرارة. والأمر نفسه إذا كنت تعاني من السِمنة، وكنت قليل الحركة، ولديك تاريخ من الإصابة بضربة حرارة سابقًا.

المضاعفات

يمكن أن تؤدي ضربة الحرارة إلى عدد من المضاعفات، حسب مدة ارتفاع درجة حرارة الجسم. تتضمن المضاعفات الشديدة:

  • تلف الأعضاء الحيوية. من دون استجابة سريعة لخفض درجة حرارة الجسم، يمكن أن تسبب ضربة الحرارة وذمة الدماغ أو الأعضاء الحيوية الأخرى، مما قد يؤدي إلى حدوث تلف دائم.
  • الوفاة. بدون العلاج الفوري والوافي، يمكن أن تكون ضربة الحرارة مميتة.

الوقاية

يمكن توقع الإصابة بضربة الحرارة والوقاية منها. اتبع الخطوات التالية للوقاية من ضربة الحرارة أثناء الطقس الحار:

  • ارتداء الملابس الفضفاضة والخفيفة . ارتداء قطع كثيرة من الملابس أو الملابس الضيقة لن يسمح لجسمك بتبريد نفسه بشكل صحيح.
  • الوقاية من السفعة الشمسية. تؤثر السفعة الشمسية على قدرة جسمك على تبريد نفسه، لذا يتعين حماية نفسك عند الخروج للشارع بارتداء قبعة واسعة الحواف ونظارات شمسية وكذلك استخدام واقِ من الشمس واسع المجال بمعامل حماية من الشمس 15 على الأقل. ضَعْ مستحضرًا واقيًا من الشمس بكمية كبيرة، وأعِدْ وضعه كل ساعتين أو أكثر عند السباحة أو التعرُّق.
  • شرب كمية كبيرة من السوائل. يساعد ترطيب الجسم بشكل دائم في إفراز العرق والحفاظ على درجة حرارة الجسم الطبيعية.
  • اتخاذ المزيد من الاحتياطات في حالة تناول بعض الأدوية. الحرص على رصد درجة الحرارة في حالة تناول أدوية يُمكن أن تؤثر على قدرة جسمك على البقاء رطبًا وتزيد من الحرارة.
  • لا ينبغي ترك أي شخص داخل سيارة متوقفة مطلقًا. هذا سبب شائع لوفيات الأطفال جراء ارتفاع الحرارة. يمكن أن ترتفع درجة حرارة سيارتك عند ركن السيارة في الشمس 20 درجة فهرنهايت (أكثر من 6.7 درجة مئوية) في غضون عشر دقائق.

    أن ترك أي شخص في سيارة متوقفة أثناء الطقس الدافئ أو الحار، حتى في حالة فتح النوافذ أو وقوف السيارة في الظل، أمرًا غير آمن على الإطلاق. احرص على غلق السيارة في حالة الركن لمنع الطفل من الولوج للداخل.

  • تعامل مع الأمور ببساطة خلال أشد أوقات اليوم حرارة. في حالة ضرورة القيام بعمل شاق أثناء الطقس الحار، أحرصِِ على شرب السوائل وأخذ قسط من الراحة في مكان بارد. حاولِ وضع جدول لممارسة الرياضة أو العمل البدني خلال الساعات الأقل حرارة، مثل الصباح الباكر أو المساء.
  • تكيف مع الوضع. العمل على تقليل وقت العمل أو ممارسة الرياضة في الجو الحار حتى التكيف مع الوضع. فالأشخاص غير المعتادين على الطقس الحار معرضون كثيرًا للأمراض الناتجة عن شدة الحرارة. يمكن أن يستغرق ذلك عدة أسابيع حتي يعتاد الجسم على الطقس الحار.
  • كن حذرًا إذا كنت معرضًا لخطورة متزايدة في هذا الصدد. إذا كنت تتناول أدوية أو تعاني من أي أمراض تزيد من خطر التعرض للمشاكل الناتجة عن ارتفاع الحرارة، يُرجى الابتعاد عن كل ما هو حار مع التصرف بسرعة في حالة ظهور أعراض ارتفاع في درجة الحرارة. إذا كنت تشارك في حدث رياضي شاق أو أي نشاط في الطقس الحار، تأكد من توافر الخدمات الطبية اللازمة تحسبًا للطوارئ.

29/07/2021
  1. Heat stress-heat related illness. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/niosh/topics/heatstress/heatrelillness.html. Accessed Aug. 6, 2020.
  2. Extreme heat. Ready Campaign. https://www.ready.gov/heat. Accessed Aug. 6, 2020.
  3. O'Connor FG, et al. Exertional heat illness in adolescents and adults: Epidemiology, thermoregulation, risk factors, and diagnosis. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed June 15, 2017.
  4. Mechem CC. Severe nonexertional hyperthermia (classic heat stroke) in adults. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed June 15, 2017.
  5. About extreme heat. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/disasters/extremeheat/heat_guide.html. Accessed Aug. 6, 2020.
  6. Ferri FF. Heat exhaustion and heat stroke. In: Ferri's Clinical Advisor 2017. Philadelphia, Pa.: Elsevier; 2017. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed June 15, 2017.
  7. Laskowski ER (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn. June 19, 2017.

ضربة الحرارة أو ضربة الشمس

Overview

Heatstroke is a condition caused by your body overheating, usually as a result of prolonged exposure to or physical exertion in high temperatures. This most serious form of heat injury, heatstroke, can occur if your body temperature rises to 104 F (40 C) or higher. The condition is most common in the summer months.

Heatstroke requires emergency treatment. Untreated heatstroke can quickly damage your brain, heart, kidneys and muscles. The damage worsens the longer treatment is delayed, increasing your risk of serious complications or death.

Symptoms

Heatstroke signs and symptoms include:

  • High body temperature. A core body temperature of 104 F (40 C) or higher, obtained with a rectal thermometer, is the main sign of heatstroke.
  • Altered mental state or behavior. Confusion, agitation, slurred speech, irritability, delirium, seizures and coma can all result from heatstroke.
  • Alteration in sweating. In heatstroke brought on by hot weather, your skin will feel hot and dry to the touch. However, in heatstroke brought on by strenuous exercise, your skin may feel dry or slightly moist.
  • Nausea and vomiting. You may feel sick to your stomach or vomit.
  • Flushed skin. Your skin may turn red as your body temperature increases.
  • Rapid breathing. Your breathing may become rapid and shallow.
  • Racing heart rate. Your pulse may significantly increase because heat stress places a tremendous burden on your heart to help cool your body.
  • Headache. Your head may throb.

When to see a doctor

If you think a person may be experiencing heatstroke, seek immediate medical help. Call 911 or your local emergency services number.

Take immediate action to cool the overheated person while waiting for emergency treatment.

  • Get the person into shade or indoors.
  • Remove excess clothing.
  • Cool the person with whatever means available — put in a cool tub of water or a cool shower, spray with a garden hose, sponge with cool water, fan while misting with cool water, or place ice packs or cold, wet towels on the person's head, neck, armpits and groin.

Causes

Heatstroke can occur as a result of:

  • Exposure to a hot environment. In a type of heatstroke, called nonexertional (classic) heatstroke, being in a hot environment leads to a rise in core body temperature. This type of heatstroke typically occurs after exposure to hot, humid weather, especially for prolonged periods. It occurs most often in older adults and in people with chronic illness.
  • Strenuous activity. Exertional heatstroke is caused by an increase in core body temperature brought on by intense physical activity in hot weather. Anyone exercising or working in hot weather can get exertional heatstroke, but it's most likely to occur if you're not used to high temperatures.

In either type of heatstroke, your condition can be brought on by:

  • Wearing excess clothing that prevents sweat from evaporating easily and cooling your body
  • Drinking alcohol, which can affect your body's ability to regulate your temperature
  • Becoming dehydrated by not drinking enough water to replenish fluids lost through sweating

Risk factors

Anyone can develop heatstroke, but several factors increase your risk:

  • Age. Your ability to cope with extreme heat depends on the strength of your central nervous system. In the very young, the central nervous system is not fully developed, and in adults over 65, the central nervous system begins to deteriorate, which makes your body less able to cope with changes in body temperature. Both age groups usually have difficulty remaining hydrated, which also increases risk.
  • Exertion in hot weather. Military training and participating in sports, such as football or long-distance running events, in hot weather are among the situations that can lead to heatstroke.
  • Sudden exposure to hot weather. You may be more susceptible to heat-related illness if you're exposed to a sudden increase in temperature, such as during an early-summer heat wave or travel to a hotter climate. Limit activity for at least several days to allow yourself to acclimate to the change. However, you may still have an increased risk of heatstroke until you've experienced several weeks of higher temperatures.
  • A lack of air conditioning. Fans may make you feel better, but during sustained hot weather, air conditioning is the most effective way to cool down and lower humidity.
  • Certain medications. Some medications affect your body's ability to stay hydrated and respond to heat. Be especially careful in hot weather if you take medications that narrow your blood vessels (vasoconstrictors), regulate your blood pressure by blocking adrenaline (beta blockers), rid your body of sodium and water (diuretics), or reduce psychiatric symptoms (antidepressants or antipsychotics).

    Stimulants for attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder (ADHD) and illegal stimulants such as amphetamines and cocaine also make you more vulnerable to heatstroke.

  • Certain health conditions. Certain chronic illnesses, such as heart or lung disease, might increase your risk of heatstroke. So can being obese, being sedentary and having a history of previous heatstroke.

Complications

Heatstroke can result in a number of complications, depending on how long the body temperature is high. Severe complications include:

  • Vital organ damage. Without a quick response to lower body temperature, heatstroke can cause your brain or other vital organs to swell, possibly resulting in permanent damage.
  • Death. Without prompt and adequate treatment, heatstroke can be fatal.

Prevention

Heatstroke is predictable and preventable. Take these steps to prevent heatstroke during hot weather:

  • Wear loosefitting, lightweight clothing. Wearing excess clothing or clothing that fits tightly won't allow your body to cool properly.
  • Protect against sunburn. Sunburn affects your body's ability to cool itself, so protect yourself outdoors with a wide-brimmed hat and sunglasses and use a broad-spectrum sunscreen with an SPF of at least 15. Apply sunscreen generously, and reapply every two hours — or more often if you're swimming or sweating.
  • Drink plenty of fluids. Staying hydrated will help your body sweat and maintain a normal body temperature.
  • Take extra precautions with certain medications. Be on the lookout for heat-related problems if you take medications that can affect your body's ability to stay hydrated and dissipate heat.
  • Never leave anyone in a parked car. This is a common cause of heat-related deaths in children. When parked in the sun, the temperature in your car can rise 20 degrees F (more than 6.7 C) in 10 minutes.

    It's not safe to leave a person in a parked car in warm or hot weather, even if the windows are cracked or the car is in shade. When your car is parked, keep it locked to prevent a child from getting inside.

  • Take it easy during the hottest parts of the day. If you can't avoid strenuous activity in hot weather, drink fluids and rest frequently in a cool spot. Try to schedule exercise or physical labor for cooler parts of the day, such as early morning or evening.
  • Get acclimated. Limit time spent working or exercising in heat until you're conditioned to it. People who are not used to hot weather are especially susceptible to heat-related illness. It can take several weeks for your body to adjust to hot weather.
  • Be cautious if you're at increased risk. If you take medications or have a condition that increases your risk of heat-related problems, avoid the heat and act quickly if you notice symptoms of overheating. If you participate in a strenuous sporting event or activity in hot weather, make sure there are medical services available in case of a heat emergency.
Aug. 15, 2017
References
  1. Heat stress-heat related illness. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/niosh/topics/heatstress/heatrelillness.html. Accessed June 15, 2017.
  2. Extreme heat. Ready Campaign. https://www.ready.gov/heat. Accessed June 15, 2017.
  3. O'Connor FG, et al. Exertional heat illness in adolescents and adults: Epidemiology, thermoregulation, risk factors, and diagnosis. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed June 15, 2017.
  4. Mechem CC. Severe nonexertional hyperthermia (classic heat stroke) in adults. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed June 15, 2017.
  5. Extreme heat: A prevention guide to promote your personal health and safety. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/disasters/extremeheat/heat_guide.html. Accessed June 15, 2017.
  6. Ferri FF. Heat exhaustion and heat stroke. In: Ferri's Clinical Advisor 2017. Philadelphia, Pa.: Elsevier; 2017. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed June 15, 2017.
  7. Laskowski ER (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn. June 19, 2017.