概述

热射病是体温过高引起的疾病,通常是由于长时间暴露于高温环境或在高温环境中劳动或运动造成的。如果体温升至 40 °C(104 °F)或以上,可能发生最严重的热射病。热射病在夏季最常见。

热射病需要急救治疗。如果未予治疗,热射病很快就会伤害脑、心脏、肾脏和肌肉。延迟治疗的时间越久,损伤越严重,出现严重并发症或死亡的风险越高。

症状

热射病的体征和症状包括:

  • 高体温。直肠温度计获得的核心体中心温度为 104 F(40 C)或更高,这是热射病的主要体征。
  • 精神状态或行为改变。意识模糊、激动、言语不清、易怒、谵妄、癫痫发作和昏迷都可能因热射病引起。
  • 出汗改变。在酷热天气导致热射病时,您的皮肤会摸起来又热又干。但是,在剧烈运动导致热射病时,皮肤可能感到干燥或微湿。
  • 恶心和呕吐。您可能感到反胃或呕吐。
  • 皮肤发红。随着体温升高,您的皮肤可能变红。
  • 快速呼吸。您的呼吸可能变得浅快。
  • 心率加快。您的脉搏可能明显升高,原因在于热应力带给心脏巨大负担,以帮助身体降温。
  • 头痛。您的头部可能抽痛。

何时就诊

如果您认为某人可能热射病,请立即寻求医疗帮助。拨打 911 或当地应急服务机构的电话。

在等待急救护理时,立即采取措施为热射病者降温。

  • 将患者带到阴凉处或室内。
  • 脱掉多余的衣物。
  • 通过任何可用方法为热射病者降温:将其放入凉水浴缸中或冲凉水浴、用橡胶软管喷淋、用冷水擦拭身体、边喷水边扇风或在热射病患者的头部、颈部、腋窝和腹股沟上放置冰袋或冷湿毛巾。

病因

中暑的原因有:

  • 身处炎热环境。非劳力性(典型)的中暑情况是因为炎热环境导致核心体温上升。这类中暑通常是因为暴露在炎热、潮湿的天气下,尤其当时间一长。老年人和患有慢性病的人最常发生这类中暑。
  • 剧烈活动。在炎热天气下进行剧烈的体力活动使核心体温上升,导致劳力性中暑。热任何人在炎热天气下锻炼或工作都会得劳力性中暑,但如果不适应高温,最容易出现劳力性中暑。

无论哪种中暑,以下情况均会导致病症:

  • 穿衣过多,汗液不容易蒸发,体温无法下降
  • 喝酒,影响您身体调节体温的能力
  • 脱水,吸取的水分不足以补充出汗流失的液体

风险因素

任何人都可能患热射病,但有几个因素会增加患热射病的风险:

  • 年龄。您应对极端高温的能力取决于中枢神经系统的强度。在年龄很小的儿童中,中枢神经系统还没有发育完全,而在 65 岁以上的成年人中,中枢神经系统开始恶化,这使得身体应对体温变化的能力下降。这两个年龄组的人通常都难以保持身体水分充足,这也增加了患热射病的风险。
  • 在炎热的天气中运动。在炎热的天气下进行军事训练和参加体育运动,如橄榄球或长跑项目,都可能导致热射病。
  • 突然暴露在炎热天气下。如果您暴露在气温突然升高的环境中,比如初夏的热浪,或前往气候更炎热的地方,您可能更容易得与高温相关的疾病。

    停止活动至少几天,让自己适应变化。但是,除非您经历了几个星期的高温,否则患热射病的风险仍然会增加。

  • 没有空调。风扇可能会让您舒服些,但在持续炎热的天气里,空调是最有效的降温和降低湿度的方法。
  • 某些药物。有些药物会影响身体保持水分和对热做出反应的能力。如果您服用了收缩血管(血管收缩剂)、通过抑制肾上腺素(受体阻断剂)来调节血压、排除体内的钠和水(利尿剂),或减少精神症状(抗抑郁药或抗精神病药)的药物,那么在炎热的天气里要特别注意。

    治疗注意缺陷多动障碍 (ADHD) 的兴奋剂以及安非他命和可卡因等非法兴奋剂也会使您更容易患热射病。

  • 某些健康状况。某些慢性病,例如心脏病或肺病,可能会增加您患热射病的风险。因此肥胖、久坐不动以及以前患过热射病也会增加风险。

并发症

热射病会导致很多并发症,具体要看体温居高不下的时长。严重的并发症包括:

  • 生命器官损伤。如果不快速降低体温,热射病会使脑部或其他生命器官肿胀,可能形成永久损伤。
  • 死亡。如果没有适当的及时治疗,热射病可能是致命的。

预防

热射病是可以预测和预防的。在酷热天气下,采取以下措施预防热射病:

  • 穿着宽松、轻便的衣服。穿着过多衣服或者紧身衣服不能让身体正常散热。
  • 防止晒伤。晒伤会影响身体的自我冷却能力,因此在户外要戴宽边帽和太阳镜保护自己,并使用 SPF 值至少为 15 的广谱防晒霜。涂抹大量防晒霜,每两个小时再涂抹一次——或者在游泳或出汗时,适当增加涂抹次数。
  • 多喝水。保持水分可以帮助身体排汗,维持正常体温。
  • 使用某些药物时要格外注意。如果您服用的药物会影响身体保持水分和散热的能力,要注意与热有关的问题。
  • 永远不要把任何人丢在停放的车内。这是儿童热相关死亡的常见原因。把车停在太阳下时,车内的温度会在 10 分钟内上升 20 华氏度(超过 6.7 摄氏度)。

    在温暖或炎热的天气,即使窗户开裂或汽车处于阴凉处,将人留在停放的车内也是不安全的。车停好后,要把车锁好,防止孩子进入车内。

  • 在一天中最热的时候,要放松心情。如果在炎热天气里无法避免剧烈活动,要多喝水,在阴凉处休息。尽量将运动或体力劳动安排在一天中较凉爽的时间段,如清晨或傍晚。
  • 适应环境。限制在高温下工作或运动的时间,直至您适应环境。不习惯炎热天气的人特别容易患上热疾病。您的身体可能需要几个星期才能适应炎热的天气。
  • 如果您的风险增加,要小心。如果您服用的药物或所患疾病会增加热相关问题的风险,请避免高温,如果您发现过热的症状,请迅速采取行动。如果您在高温天气下参加剧烈的体育赛事或活动,请确保有应对高温紧急情况的医疗服务。

July 01, 2021
  1. Heat stress-heat related illness. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/niosh/topics/heatstress/heatrelillness.html. Accessed Aug. 6, 2020.
  2. Extreme heat. Ready Campaign. https://www.ready.gov/heat. Accessed Aug. 6, 2020.
  3. O'Connor FG, et al. Exertional heat illness in adolescents and adults: Epidemiology, thermoregulation, risk factors, and diagnosis. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed June 15, 2017.
  4. Mechem CC. Severe nonexertional hyperthermia (classic heat stroke) in adults. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed June 15, 2017.
  5. About extreme heat. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/disasters/extremeheat/heat_guide.html. Accessed Aug. 6, 2020.
  6. Ferri FF. Heat exhaustion and heat stroke. In: Ferri's Clinical Advisor 2017. Philadelphia, Pa.: Elsevier; 2017. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed June 15, 2017.
  7. Laskowski ER (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn. June 19, 2017.

相关

Associated Procedures

Mayo Clinic 新闻

Overview

Heatstroke is a condition caused by your body overheating, usually as a result of prolonged exposure to or physical exertion in high temperatures. This most serious form of heat injury, heatstroke, can occur if your body temperature rises to 104 F (40 C) or higher. The condition is most common in the summer months.

Heatstroke requires emergency treatment. Untreated heatstroke can quickly damage your brain, heart, kidneys and muscles. The damage worsens the longer treatment is delayed, increasing your risk of serious complications or death.

Symptoms

Heatstroke signs and symptoms include:

  • High body temperature. A core body temperature of 104 F (40 C) or higher, obtained with a rectal thermometer, is the main sign of heatstroke.
  • Altered mental state or behavior. Confusion, agitation, slurred speech, irritability, delirium, seizures and coma can all result from heatstroke.
  • Alteration in sweating. In heatstroke brought on by hot weather, your skin will feel hot and dry to the touch. However, in heatstroke brought on by strenuous exercise, your skin may feel dry or slightly moist.
  • Nausea and vomiting. You may feel sick to your stomach or vomit.
  • Flushed skin. Your skin may turn red as your body temperature increases.
  • Rapid breathing. Your breathing may become rapid and shallow.
  • Racing heart rate. Your pulse may significantly increase because heat stress places a tremendous burden on your heart to help cool your body.
  • Headache. Your head may throb.

When to see a doctor

If you think a person may be experiencing heatstroke, seek immediate medical help. Call 911 or your local emergency services number.

Take immediate action to cool the overheated person while waiting for emergency treatment.

  • Get the person into shade or indoors.
  • Remove excess clothing.
  • Cool the person with whatever means available — put in a cool tub of water or a cool shower, spray with a garden hose, sponge with cool water, fan while misting with cool water, or place ice packs or cold, wet towels on the person's head, neck, armpits and groin.

Causes

Heatstroke can occur as a result of:

  • Exposure to a hot environment. In a type of heatstroke, called nonexertional (classic) heatstroke, being in a hot environment leads to a rise in core body temperature. This type of heatstroke typically occurs after exposure to hot, humid weather, especially for prolonged periods. It occurs most often in older adults and in people with chronic illness.
  • Strenuous activity. Exertional heatstroke is caused by an increase in core body temperature brought on by intense physical activity in hot weather. Anyone exercising or working in hot weather can get exertional heatstroke, but it's most likely to occur if you're not used to high temperatures.

In either type of heatstroke, your condition can be brought on by:

  • Wearing excess clothing that prevents sweat from evaporating easily and cooling your body
  • Drinking alcohol, which can affect your body's ability to regulate your temperature
  • Becoming dehydrated by not drinking enough water to replenish fluids lost through sweating

Risk factors

Anyone can develop heatstroke, but several factors increase your risk:

  • Age. Your ability to cope with extreme heat depends on the strength of your central nervous system. In the very young, the central nervous system is not fully developed, and in adults over 65, the central nervous system begins to deteriorate, which makes your body less able to cope with changes in body temperature. Both age groups usually have difficulty remaining hydrated, which also increases risk.
  • Exertion in hot weather. Military training and participating in sports, such as football or long-distance running events, in hot weather are among the situations that can lead to heatstroke.
  • Sudden exposure to hot weather. You may be more susceptible to heat-related illness if you're exposed to a sudden increase in temperature, such as during an early-summer heat wave or travel to a hotter climate. Limit activity for at least several days to allow yourself to acclimate to the change. However, you may still have an increased risk of heatstroke until you've experienced several weeks of higher temperatures.
  • A lack of air conditioning. Fans may make you feel better, but during sustained hot weather, air conditioning is the most effective way to cool down and lower humidity.
  • Certain medications. Some medications affect your body's ability to stay hydrated and respond to heat. Be especially careful in hot weather if you take medications that narrow your blood vessels (vasoconstrictors), regulate your blood pressure by blocking adrenaline (beta blockers), rid your body of sodium and water (diuretics), or reduce psychiatric symptoms (antidepressants or antipsychotics).

    Stimulants for attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder (ADHD) and illegal stimulants such as amphetamines and cocaine also make you more vulnerable to heatstroke.

  • Certain health conditions. Certain chronic illnesses, such as heart or lung disease, might increase your risk of heatstroke. So can being obese, being sedentary and having a history of previous heatstroke.

Complications

Heatstroke can result in a number of complications, depending on how long the body temperature is high. Severe complications include:

  • Vital organ damage. Without a quick response to lower body temperature, heatstroke can cause your brain or other vital organs to swell, possibly resulting in permanent damage.
  • Death. Without prompt and adequate treatment, heatstroke can be fatal.

Prevention

Heatstroke is predictable and preventable. Take these steps to prevent heatstroke during hot weather:

  • Wear loosefitting, lightweight clothing. Wearing excess clothing or clothing that fits tightly won't allow your body to cool properly.
  • Protect against sunburn. Sunburn affects your body's ability to cool itself, so protect yourself outdoors with a wide-brimmed hat and sunglasses and use a broad-spectrum sunscreen with an SPF of at least 15. Apply sunscreen generously, and reapply every two hours — or more often if you're swimming or sweating.
  • Drink plenty of fluids. Staying hydrated will help your body sweat and maintain a normal body temperature.
  • Take extra precautions with certain medications. Be on the lookout for heat-related problems if you take medications that can affect your body's ability to stay hydrated and dissipate heat.
  • Never leave anyone in a parked car. This is a common cause of heat-related deaths in children. When parked in the sun, the temperature in your car can rise 20 degrees F (more than 6.7 C) in 10 minutes.

    It's not safe to leave a person in a parked car in warm or hot weather, even if the windows are cracked or the car is in shade. When your car is parked, keep it locked to prevent a child from getting inside.

  • Take it easy during the hottest parts of the day. If you can't avoid strenuous activity in hot weather, drink fluids and rest frequently in a cool spot. Try to schedule exercise or physical labor for cooler parts of the day, such as early morning or evening.
  • Get acclimated. Limit time spent working or exercising in heat until you're conditioned to it. People who are not used to hot weather are especially susceptible to heat-related illness. It can take several weeks for your body to adjust to hot weather.
  • Be cautious if you're at increased risk. If you take medications or have a condition that increases your risk of heat-related problems, avoid the heat and act quickly if you notice symptoms of overheating. If you participate in a strenuous sporting event or activity in hot weather, make sure there are medical services available in case of a heat emergency.
Aug. 15, 2017
References
  1. Heat stress-heat related illness. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/niosh/topics/heatstress/heatrelillness.html. Accessed June 15, 2017.
  2. Extreme heat. Ready Campaign. https://www.ready.gov/heat. Accessed June 15, 2017.
  3. O'Connor FG, et al. Exertional heat illness in adolescents and adults: Epidemiology, thermoregulation, risk factors, and diagnosis. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed June 15, 2017.
  4. Mechem CC. Severe nonexertional hyperthermia (classic heat stroke) in adults. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed June 15, 2017.
  5. Extreme heat: A prevention guide to promote your personal health and safety. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/disasters/extremeheat/heat_guide.html. Accessed June 15, 2017.
  6. Ferri FF. Heat exhaustion and heat stroke. In: Ferri's Clinical Advisor 2017. Philadelphia, Pa.: Elsevier; 2017. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed June 15, 2017.
  7. Laskowski ER (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn. June 19, 2017.