Diagnosis at Mayo Clinic

By Mayo Clinic Staff


Mayo Clinic accepts appointments in Arizona, Florida and Minnesota and at Mayo Clinic Health System sites.

Request an Appointment

The main types of amyloidosis include primary amyloidosis, secondary amyloidosis and hereditary amyloidosis. An accurate diagnosis is essential so that you receive the appropriate treatment. Mayo Clinic is one of the few centers in the United States that offers leading-edge diagnostic technologies and top-quality expertise to determine the specific type of amyloid protein that is building up in your body.

Your doctor may recommend blood or urine tests to detect an abnormal protein, which could indicate amyloidosis. However, the only definitive test for amyloidosis is a tissue biopsy. Mayo Clinic offers specialized analysis of the amyloid deposits — such as immunostaining or chemical analysis with a test called mass spectrometry — to confirm amyloidosis and to identify the type that you have.

Aug. 06, 2011

You Are ... The Campaign for Mayo Clinic

Mayo Clinic is a not-for-profit organization. Make a difference today.