نظرة عامة

Mayo Clinic تطلق برنامج العلاج بحزمة البروتونات

المزايا

تتضمن مزايا بعلاج بالشعاع القلمي بالبروتينات ما يلي:

  • القدرة على تقديم جرعات علاجية أعلى من الإشعاع للأورام
  • مزيد من الدقة في استهداف الأورام
  • تعرض إشعاعي أقل للأنسجة العادية ممَّا يقلل التأثيرات الجانبية قصيرة الأجل وطويلة الأجل، بما في ذلك تطوير علاجات لأمراض سرطان جديدة وبالتالي خفض تكاليف الرعاية طويلة الأجل
  • بديل لعلاج جديد للأشخاص الذين يعانون تكرار الإصابة بمرض السرطان، والذين خضعوا لإجراءات علاج إشعاعي سابقة

الفصل التالي في علاج السرطان

تقدم Mayo Clinic برنامجها للعلاج بحزمة البروتونات، مع توفير العلاج للمرضى في المباني الجديدة في مينيسوتا وأريزونا.

إن العلاج بحزمة البروتونات يزيد من نطاق قدرات Mayo Clinic على العناية بمرضى السرطان. في عينة من المرضى المختارين بشكل سليم، وخاصة الأطفال ومرضى السرطان الذين يقع الورم السرطاني لديهم بالقرب من الأعضاء وبنيات الجسم الحرجة، يمثل العلاج بحزمة البروتونات علاجًا متطورًا عن العلاج الإشعاعي التقليدي.

يختلف برنامج العلاج بحزمة البروتونات الذي تقدمهMayo Clinic عن معظم البرامج الأخرى المقدمة في الولايات المتحدة - فهو يتميز بأنه علاج حصري منظم الشدة بحزمة البروتونات مع المسح بواسطة الشعاع الدقيق. يستخدم هذا النوع من العلاج، والذي يمثل شكل من العلاج بالبروتونات، المسح بالبقعة الضوئية ليركز تيارات البروتونات ذهابا وإيابا داخل الورم، والذي يستهدف الورم بدقة ويتجنب الأنسجة السليمة.

كل مريض مصاب بورم فريد يختلف عن غيره. لذا يضع الأطباء والأخصائيون الآخرون في Mayo Clinic خطة مخصصة حسب احتياجات كل مريض. والعلاج بحزمة البروتونات هو أفضل خيار لبعض المرضى ولأنواع معينة من الأورام في حين أنه قد يستفيد المرضى الآخرون من أسلوب مختلف للعلاج — نوع آخر من العلاج الإشعاعي أو الاستغناء عن العلاج الإشعاعي تمامًا. المرضى في Mayo Clinic لديهم نطاق كامل من خيارات المتاحة لعلاج السرطان.

20/04/2016

Overview

Mayo Clinic launches Proton Beam Therapy Program

Benefits

The benefits of pencil beam proton therapy include:

  • Ability to deliver higher therapeutic doses of radiation to tumors
  • More accurate targeting of tumors
  • Lower radiation exposure to normal tissue, reducing short- and long-term side effects, including development of new cancers, thus lowering long-term care costs
  • A new treatment alternative for people with cancer recurrences who have undergone previous radiation therapy procedures

The next chapter in cancer treatment

Mayo Clinic introduces its Proton Beam Therapy Program, with treatment for patients available in new facilities in Minnesota and Arizona.

Proton beam therapy expands Mayo Clinic's cancer care capabilities. In properly selected patients — especially children and young adults and those with cancers located close to critical organs and body structures — proton beam therapy is an advance over traditional radiotherapy.

Mayo Clinic's Proton Beam Therapy Program differs from most other programs in the United States — it exclusively features intensity-modulated proton beam therapy with pencil beam scanning. This, the latest form of proton beam therapy, uses spot scanning to deposit streams of protons back and forth through a tumor, closely targeting the tumor and sparing healthy tissue.

Every patient's tumor is unique. Mayo Clinic doctors and other specialists develop an individualized plan for each patient. Proton beam therapy will be the best option for certain patients and tumor types while others may benefit from a different approach — another type of radiation therapy or no radiation at all. Mayo Clinic patients have a full range of cancer treatment options.

April 20, 2016