整理空间如何使您更健康、更快乐

多余的杂物不仅仅看起来杂乱无章。它还可能使您无法过上美好的生活。以下是一些注意事项。

By Matthew Clark

羡慕家居装饰博客和网站上展示的那些整洁空间和空架子吗?空白空间可能很漂亮,而畅销书也大肆炫耀扔掉多余物品的方法。但简约主义是否宜居呢?一些研究表明,整理杂物对您的幸福感的影响与对您的物理空间的影响一样大。

压力不仅来自于大脑:杂物也会带来压力

如果家里到处都是需要收拾的杂物让您感到很焦虑,您并不是个例。杂物确实能够让人焦虑。事实上,参观上班族夫妇的家时,侧重于描述杂物和无序的女性也往往显示出较高的应激激素皮质醇,意味着长期压力的存在。相反,那些把家描述成宁静安闲之处或是谈论户外美好空间的女性则表现出较小压力,一天下来报告的悲伤情绪也较少。

您可以做什么:每天结束时留出 10 到 15 分钟来收拾杂物。

太分心?杂乱使人难以集中注意力

桌上有很多东西吗?这可能会使您更难以做您的工作。那是因为混乱的环境会使您的大脑处理信息的效率降低,并且更容易产生挫败感。

换句话说,给自己一点喘息之机可以让您更有效地工作,实际上可以节省您的时间。

您可以做什么:在每天结束时清理计算机台式机和物理台式机。

更多并不等于更有趣

尽管广告商可能会努力说服您买买买,但拥有更多东西不一定会让您更快乐。例如:在一项实验中,只给幼儿 4 件玩具时,他们玩玩具的时间是拥有 16 件玩具时的 2 倍。

对于照料者来说,很快地放下一个玩具去玩另一个玩具也不仅仅意味着要花更多时间去收拾玩具。这意味着失去了在自由游戏中培养长时间注意力的机会,而这种注意力在今后的生活中可以转化为更好的专注力。

您能做什么:把多余的东西打包起来,让它们远离视线,不去想它们。准备好改变了吗?将每箱玩具换一种组合方式。您不想念它们吗?出售或捐赠多余的东西。(没有孩子?用同样的方法来处理您的衣服。)

囤积癖会让您夜不能寐

多达三分之一的成年人因为睡眠问题而夜不能寐。虽然专家们早就认识到失眠与抑郁症和焦虑症等心理健康疾病之间的联系,但另一种联系正在研究中出现:囤积。

囤积障碍仅影响 2% 到 6% 的人,这远远超出了组织混乱或者常见的囤积倾向。当混乱令人衰弱,空间变得无用甚至不安全时,则可以诊断为囤积障碍。囤积和睡眠之间存在联系的一个可能原因是:缺乏睡眠会抑制做决定,也就是关于获得(或扔掉)东西的决定。

另外 98% 的人未患有囤积障碍,只是在与“东西太多”综合征作斗争,考虑一下:拥有更少的东西意味着一天中做出的选择也更少。由此在尝试做出正确选择时花费的意志力更少。

您能做什么:回顾一下您的健康睡眠习惯。尝试喝一杯花草茶和读一本好书(报纸)来放松自己,而不是看电视或社交媒体。

在考虑照顾自己、考虑健康、和所爱之人计划有趣的活动时,也要有一个安宁、整洁的生活空间。

Sept. 10, 2022 了解更多深度信息

How decluttering your space could make you healthier and happier

Extra stuff isn't just messy. It could be holding you back from living your best life. Here's what you need to know.

By Matthew Clark

Envious of those neat, tidy spaces and empty shelves that fill home decor blogs and websites? Blank space can be beautiful, and popular books promise strategies to shed extra stuff. But is minimalism livable? Some research suggests that de-cluttering can have as much of an effect on your well-being as it does on your physical space.

It's not just in your head: Extra stuff is stressful

If the constant stream of things to pick up around your home leaves you feeling anxious, you're not alone. Objects have the power to do just that. In fact, when working couples gave tours of their homes, women who used more words describing clutter and disorganization also tended to show levels of the stress hormone cortisol, suggesting chronic stress. On the flip side, those who described their homes as being restful or talked about their beautiful outdoor spaces were less stressed and reported less sad feelings as the day went on.

What you can do: Set aside 10 to 15 minutes at the end of each day to put stray items away.

Distracted much? Clutter makes it hard to focus

Got a lot of stuff on your desk? It may make it harder to do your job. That's because a cluttered environment can make your brain less effective at processing information — and more prone to frustration.

In other words, taking a timeout to organize your space may actually save you time by allowing you to work more efficiently.

What you can do: Clear your computer desktop — and your physical one — at the end of each day.

More stuff doesn't equal more fun

As much as advertisers may work to convince you otherwise, having more things doesn't necessarily make you happier. Case in point: In one experiment, when toddlers were given just four toys to play with, they played twice as long as when they had 16 toys to choose from.

Flitting from toy to toy doesn't just mean more picking up for caregivers either. It means lost opportunities to develop longer attention spans during free play that can translate to better focus and attention later in life as well.

What you can do: Box up extra items and put them out of sight, out of mind. Ready for a change? Swap boxes for a fresh mix of toys. Don't miss them? Sell or donate the extras. (No kids? Try the same technique with your clothes.)

A tendency toward hoarding can keep you up at night

Sleep problems keep as many as a third of adults up at night. And while experts have long recognized a link between insomnia and mental health conditions like depression and anxiety, another link is emerging in research: hoarding.

Hoarding disorder, which affects just 2 to 6 percent of the population, goes far beyond disorganization or a garden-variety tendency to accumulate stuff. It is diagnosed when clutter becomes so debilitating that space becomes unusable and even unsafe. One possible reason for a connection between hoarding and sleep: Lack of sleep inhibits decision-making, namely decisions about acquiring (or getting rid of) stuff.

For the other 98 percent of people who don't have hoarding disorder, but simply struggle with "too much stuff" syndrome, consider this: Having fewer things means making fewer choices throughout the day. And that may add up to less willpower spent trying to make the right ones.

What you can do: Brush up on your healthy sleep routine. Try winding down with a cup of herbal tea and a good (paper) book, rather than TV or social media.

When you think of taking care of yourself, think of your health, plan fun events with your loved ones, but also have a peaceful and organized living space.

April 05, 2018 See more In-depth