应对压力:职场小贴士

工作压力可能劳神费力,但不一定要如此。解决诱因、保持客观判断力并知道何时寻求帮助。

来自妙佑医疗国际员工

工作可能是压力来源,但是面对工作带来的压力,您并不是无计可施。有效应对工作压力对工作和生活都有好处。以下是为您应对压力提供的帮助。

找出您的压力诱因

您的性格、经历和其他独特的特征都会影响您应对和处理压力的方式。让您的同事感到苦恼的情况和事件可能一点也不会困扰您。或者您可能对某些似乎不会困扰别人的压力特别敏感。

开始应对工作中的压力,找出您的压力诱因。

记下一两周内导致您的身体、精神或情绪产生负面反应的人或事或物。对每种情况作简要描述,回答如下问题:

  • 您在哪儿?
  • 都有谁?
  • 您的反应是什么?
  • 您有何感受?

然后评估您的压力量表。您可能会发现明显地造成压力的原因,例如失业威胁、未来充满不确定性或在某个项目中遇到障碍。您可能觉得自己无法掌控工作中的决策,或者他人可能对您有不明确的期望。您可能还会注意到一些微妙而持久的压力来源,例如长时间的通勤或不舒适的工作环境。或者,您居家办公,但在尝试平衡工作与生活(如个人和家庭需求)时可能感到压力重重。学习新的通讯技术或在不熟悉的地点工作或许会增加您的压力。

解决压力诱发因素

一旦您确定了压力诱发因素,请考虑每种情况或事件,并寻找解决方法。

例如,假设您因为必须去学校接儿子而耽误工作,您可以和其他家长或邻居商量放学后拼车。或者您可以提早开始工作,缩短午餐时间,或晚上把工作带回家补上。

通常,应对压力的最好方法是想办法改变造成这种情况的环境。

提高时间安排能力

除了解决具体的压力触发因素外,提高时间安排能力也很有帮助,尤其是当您在工作中感到不堪重负或压力很大的时候。例如:

  • 设定现实的目标。与同事和领导一起制定现实的目标和期限。定期进行进度回顾,并根据需要调整目标。
  • 列出优先事项列表。编制一份任务列表,并按优先顺序排列。在一天中,浏览您的主列表,按优先顺序完成任务。如果您没有时间执行任务,请拒绝。
  • 节省您的时间。对于特别重要或困难的项目,留出能够专注持续完成该项目的时间。此外,可将大项目分解为小步骤。

坚持您的观点

当您的工作压力很大时,感觉就像工作控制了您的生活。坚持您的观点:

  • 获得其他观点。与可信赖的同事、家人或朋友讨论您在工作中面临的问题和感受。他们或许能够提供见解或提出应对建议。有时候,只是谈论压力源就可以减轻压力。
  • 休息一下。充分利用工作日的休息时间。在繁忙的工作日中,即使只有几分钟的私人时间也会让您焕然一新。同样,尽可能的休假,无论是两个星期的假期还是偶尔的长周末。花时间放松可以帮助您在重返工作岗位时精力充沛。
  • 找到解压的方法。为了防止职业倦怠,请留出时间做自己喜欢的事情,例如读书、会友或追求兴趣爱好。试试写日记。
  • 照顾好自己。注意照顾自己的健康。在日常生活中需要定期进行体育锻炼、保证充足的睡眠和健康饮食。尝试放松技巧,例如瑜伽、冥想、正念和深呼吸。出去散步。
  • 划定界限。尝试逐渐在工作与生活之间划清界限,例如晚上或周末不看电子邮件、晚上不回到电脑前,或保持标准的工作时间表。留出不使用手机或电脑的时间,例如不看电子邮件、短信或社交媒体。

知道何时寻求帮助

如果以上这些方法都不能缓解您的工作压力或职业倦怠的感觉,您可以自己或通过雇主提供的员工援助项目咨询心理健康服务提供者。通过咨询,您可以学到处理工作压力的有效方法。

Sept. 10, 2022 了解更多深度信息

Coping with stress: Workplace tips

Job stress can be all-consuming — but it doesn't have to be. Address your triggers, keep perspective and know when to seek help.

By Mayo Clinic Staff

Your job is a likely source of stress, but you're not powerless to the effects of stress at work. Effectively coping with job stress can benefit both your professional and personal life. Here's help taking charge.

Identify your stress triggers

Your personality, experiences and other unique characteristics all influence the way you respond to and cope with stress. Situations and events that are distressing for your colleagues might not bother you in the least. Or you might be particularly sensitive to certain stressors that don't seem to bother other people.

To begin coping with stress at work, identify your stress triggers.

For a week or two, record the situations, events and people who cause you to have a negative physical, mental or emotional response. Include a brief description of each situation, answering questions such as:

  • Where were you?
  • Who was involved?
  • What was your reaction?
  • How did you feel?

Then evaluate your stress inventory. You might find obvious causes of stress, such as the threat of losing your job, uncertainty about the future or obstacles with a particular project. You might not feel like you're in control of decisions in your job or you may have been given unclear expectations. You might also notice subtle but persistent causes of stress, such as a long commute or an uncomfortable workspace. Or maybe you work from home and are feeling stressed trying to integrate work and life, such as personal and family needs, while working. Perhaps learning new technology for communication or working in unfamiliar locations is adding to your stress.

Tackle your stress triggers

Once you've identified your stress triggers, consider each situation or event and look for ways to resolve it.

Suppose, for instance, that you're behind at work because you have to pick up your son from school. You might check with other parents or neighbors about an after-school carpool. Or you might begin work earlier, shorten your lunch hour or take work home to catch up in the evening.

Often, the best way to cope with stress is to find a way to change the circumstances that are causing it.

Sharpen your time management skills

In addition to addressing specific stress triggers, it's often helpful to improve time management skills — especially if you tend to feel overwhelmed or under pressure at work. For example:

  • Set realistic goals. Work with colleagues and leaders to set realistic expectations and deadlines. Set regular progress reviews and adjust your goals as needed.
  • Make a priority list. Prepare a list of tasks and rank them in order of priority. Throughout the day, scan your master list and work on tasks in priority order. Say no if you don't have time to do a task.
  • Protect your time. For an especially important or difficult project, block time to work on it without interruption. Also, break large projects into smaller steps.

Keep perspective

When your job is stressful, it can feel as if it's taking over your life. To maintain perspective:

  • Get other points of view. Talk with trusted colleagues, family or friends about the issues you're facing at work and your feelings. They might be able to provide insights or offer coping suggestions. Sometimes simply talking about a stressor can be a relief.
  • Take a break. Make the most of workday breaks. Even a few minutes of personal time during a busy workday can be refreshing. Similarly, take time off when you can, whether it's a two-week vacation or an occasional long weekend. Taking time to relax can help you have more energy when you return to work.
  • Have an outlet. To prevent burnout, set aside time for activities you enjoy — such as reading, meeting with friends or pursuing a hobby. Try keeping a journal.
  • Take care of yourself. Be vigilant about taking care of your health. Include physical activity in your daily routine, get plenty of sleep and eat a healthy diet. Try relaxation techniques, such as yoga, meditation, mindfulness techniques and deep breathing. Go outside for a walk.
  • Make boundaries. Try to make small steps toward setting boundaries between work and your life, such as not checking email in the evenings or weekends, not going back to your computer in the evening, or keeping a standard work schedule. And set aside time when you don't use your phone or computer, such as not checking email, texts or social media.

Know when to seek help

If none of these steps relieves your feelings of job stress or burnout, consult a mental health provider — either on your own or through an employee assistance program offered by your employer. Through counseling, you can learn effective ways to handle job stress.

From Mayo Clinic to your inbox

Sign up for free, and stay up to date on research advancements, health tips and current health topics, like COVID-19, plus expertise on managing health.

To provide you with the most relevant and helpful information, and understand which information is beneficial, we may combine your email and website usage information with other information we have about you. If you are a Mayo Clinic patient, this could include protected health information. If we combine this information with your protected health information, we will treat all of that information as protected health information and will only use or disclose that information as set forth in our notice of privacy practices. You may opt-out of email communications at any time by clicking on the unsubscribe link in the e-mail.

June 16, 2021 See more In-depth

See also

  1. 5 ways to bring play back into your life
  2. A Very Happy Brain
  3. Adapt to put stress in its place
  4. Anger management: Your questions answered
  5. Are your holidays a dietary free-for-all?
  6. Balancing work and life responsibilities
  7. Being assertive
  8. Bridge pose
  9. Can yoga help me keep caregiver stress in check?
  10. Caregiver stress
  11. Cat/cow pose
  12. Chase away the winter blues
  13. Child's pose
  14. Cobra
  15. COVID-19 and your mental health
  16. Denial
  17. Does stress make rheumatoid arthritis worse?
  18. Downward-facing dog
  19. Dreading a family holiday gathering?
  20. Ease stress to reduce eczema symptoms
  21. Ease stress to reduce your psoriasis flares
  22. Feeling overwhelmed? Take a break
  23. Forgiveness
  24. Great expectations: How to keep them from creating unhappiness
  25. Have you had a good laugh today?
  26. Holidays don't have to break the bank
  27. How decluttering your space could make you healthier and happier
  28. How to focus on the present for long-term progress
  29. Job burnout
  30. Job satisfaction
  31. Laugh more, stress less
  32. Learn to reduce stress through mindful living
  33. Learn to say no and enjoy the holidays
  34. Manage stress through problem-solving
  35. Manage stress to improve psoriatic arthritis symptoms
  36. Mountain pose
  37. Need better work-life balance?
  38. New School Anxiety
  39. Perfect holiday? Forget about it!
  40. Pet therapy
  41. Positive thinking
  42. Resilience
  43. Say no, to say yes to less stress
  44. Seated spinal twist
  45. Slide show: Yoga poses
  46. Social support: Tap this tool to beat stress
  47. Standing forward bend
  48. Stress and high blood pressure
  49. Holiday stress
  50. Prevent stress setbacks
  51. Stress relief from laughter
  52. Stress relievers
  53. Stressed out? Skip the late show
  54. Stressed? Set yourself up for success
  55. Support groups
  56. The power of positive thinking
  57. Warrior 1
  58. What is hot yoga?
  59. What is reflexology?
  60. Work-life balance