5 إصابات رياضية شائعة في الشابات الرياضيات.

تعرف على كيفيه منع الإصابات الرياضية الشائعة لدى الفتيات والشابات وعلاجها

المزيد من الفتيات مقارنة بأي وقت مضى تذهب إلى الصالة الرياضية، والملعب، ومضمار الجري، وساحة التزحلق - والعديد منهم على مستوى النخبة. وليس من الغريب أن يرتفع عدد الفتيات والنساء الشابات المشاركين في الألعاب الرياضية، وكذلك ارتفاع عدد الإصابات. دون اتباع نظام غذائي صحيح والتكييف معه — وأحيانًا حتى عند اتباع نظم التدريب المثالية — يمكن أن يقع الرياضيون الصغار فريسة لنفس الإصابات التي تصيب الرياضيين البالغين. سيقوم المدربون البارعون والآباء بمراقبة الرياضيين تحت إشرافهم لتجنب الإصابة. ولكن عندما تحدث الإصابة، من المهم معرفة كيفية التدخل بسرعة للمساعدة في ضمان الشفاء الصحي.

الوقاية خير من العلاج

تشير الدراسات إلى أن برامج الوقاية من الإصابات (IPPs) فعّالة حقًا. فبرغم أن هذه البرامج تختلف اختلافًا كبيرًا، تبعًا للرياضة وعمر المشارك، فبرامج الوقاية من الإصابات (IPPs) عادةً ما تركز على تقوية العضلات الرئيسية وتطويرها؛ تحسين أنماط الحركة وأسلوب الرياضة والتوازن؛ وتجنب الأخطاء الشائعة. ينبغي على آباء الرياضيات الشابات التحدث مع المدربين والمعلمين عن برامج الوقاية من الإصابات المتوفرة.

تلعب أيضًا التغذية الجيدة دورًا هامًا. إلى جانب اتباع نظام غذائي صحي ومتوازن، قد تحتاج الفتيات والشابات أيضًا إلى فيتامينات ومعادن إضافية للبقاء في حالة الذروة. وقد أظهرت بعض المكملات الغذائية تحسينًا في الأداء.

وهناك اثنان من المكملات الغذائية لهما أهمية خاصة ينبغي أخذهما محل الاعتبار :

  • الكالسيوم. تتجنب بعض الفتيات والشابات، المهتمات بالحفاظ على وزن مثالي أو "مظهر نحيف"، تناول منتجات الألبان لما تحتويه من سعرات حرارية عالية. ولكن قد يؤدي هذا إلى نقص في مستويات الكالسيوم بالجسم. يجب أن يحصل الرياضيون الذين تقل أعمارهم عن 18 عامًا على 1300 ملليغرام من الكالسيوم يوميًا، في حين ينبغي لمن تجاوزت أعمارهم 18 عامًا أن يحصلوا على 1000 ملليغرام يوميًا. وتتضمن المصادر الغذائية الغنية بالكالسيوم منتجات الألبان واللوز والقرنبيط واللفت والسلمون المعلب بالعظام والسردين ومنتجات الصويا مثل التوفو.
  • الحديد. بسبب فقدان الدم أثناء الحيض، قد تكون الفتيات والشابات أكثر عرضة لنقص الحديد، مما يؤثر في قدرتهن على الأداء الرياضي وقوة التحمل لديهن. وكذلك قد يكون النباتيون أكثر عرضة لنقص الحديد، نظرًا لأن اللحوم الحمراء تعد مصدرًا رئيسيًا للحديد الغذائي. وتعد المكسرات والفاصوليا والمأكولات البحرية والخضراوات الورقية الخضراء الداكنة مثل السبانخ واللف أطعمةً أخرى غنيةً بالحديد. يجب فحص الرياضيين الصغار بانتظام، باختبار دم بسيط، للكشف عن نقص الحديد.

تزيد متلازمة ثالوث الأنثى الرياضية من خطر الإصابة

تتعرض الإناث الرياضيات لخطر اضطراب الطيف المعروف باسم ثالوث الأنثى. تشمل أعراض اضطراب الثالوث انخفاض الطاقة وانخفاض الكثافة المعدنية للعظام وخلل في فترات الحيض. الفتيات المصابات بواحد فقط من مكونات اضطراب الثالوث هم أكثر عُرضة لخطر إصابات العضلات والعظام ويزداد الخطر بشكل أكبر مع وجود اثنين أو ثلاثة من عناصر اضطراب الثالوث. يجب على الآباء والمدربين أن يكونوا قادرين على التعرف على العلامات والأعراض التالية التي يمكن أن تكون جزءًا من اضطراب الثالوث:

  • اضطراب الشهية مثل النهام أو فقدان الشهية
  • الكسور الإجهادية
  • اتباع حمية غذائية متكرر
  • اضطرابات الحيض
  • الإفراط في ممارسة الرياضة
  • تصرف وسواسي أو متوخي الكمال

الإصابات الشائعة

حتى عندما يفعل الرياضي كل شيء بشكل صحيح، يمكن أن تحدث له إصابة. في معظم الحالات، يساعد الحفاظ على الهدوء والحصول على العلاج الصحيح على سرعة الشفاء.

التواء الكاحل

يكون الرياضيون المراهقون أكثر عرضة لإصابات القدم والكاحل. في الواقع، تمثل هذه الإصابات حوالي 30 في المائة من جميع حالات الرياضيين الشباب الذي يزورون عيادات الطب الرياضي. ويزداد الارتفاع في قائمة الإصابات الشائعة بالتواء في الكاحل الجانبي، التي تحدث بين الفتيات بمعدلات أعلى من الفتيان. وفي إحدى الدراسات، وجد الباحثون أن لاعبي كرة السلة الإناث يُصاب 25 في المئة منهن بنسبة طفيفة أكبر من الذكور بالتواء في الكاحل، لماذا؟ فأقدام النساء أصغر نسبيًّا من الرجال، وتأخذ أشكالًا مختلفة يمكن أن تترك الفتيات والشابات، وخاصة من يلعبن منهن رياضة تنافسية، أكثر عرضة للإصابة بالكاحل.

ينطوي التواء الكاحل الجانبي على تمزق واحد أو أكثر من الأربطة في الكاحل. وعاده ما يحدث التواء عند لف الكاحل فجأة أو ثنيه أثناء الحركة النشطة. العلامة الأولي للالتواء هو الإحساس بالألم الفوري، وغالبًا ما يعقبه تورم، وخاصة على الجانب الخارجي من الكاحل. تحميل وزن على الكاحل عادة يكون مؤلمًا جدًّا. يتطلب تشخيص الالتواء زيارة الطبيب للتشخيص، الذي يمكن أن يتضمن إجراء أشعة سينية.

يستخدم اختصاصيو الرعاية الصحية مقياس مدرج لمعرفة الالتواء:

  • درجة 1 أقل حدة، ويصاحبها تورم خفيف وتمزق الأربطة الصغيرة.
  • درجة 2 يتضمن تورمًا معتدلًا وتمزقًا كاملًا في رباط واحد.
  • درجة 3 (حاد) يتضمن تورمًا كبيرًا وألمًا وتمزقًا على الأقل في اثنين من الأربطة.
العلاج

يعامل الأطباء عادة علاج الالتواء من خلال دعامة واقية أو حذاء للمشي. ومن ثم يُتبع نظام قياسي من الراحة والثلج والدعامات ورفع الساقين بشكل منتظم. ومن الموصى به البدء في العلاج الطبيعي بمجرد زوال الألم والتورم. وفي البداية يُهتم بالجزء العلوي من الجسم وبصحة نظام القلب والأوعية الدموية، ويكون الكاحل في وضع الراحة. بمجرد زوال الألم واستعادة مدى الحركة الكامل للمفصل، يُبدأ في تمرينات قوة وثبات مفصل الكاحل، بجانب بعض التمرينات الرياضية المخصصة.

نصائح العناية بالنفس
  • يجب إراحة القدم المصاب والكاحل من حمل وزن الجسم بقدر الإمكان.
  • ارتدِ رباطًا ضاغطًا لتقليل التورم.
  • ولتسكين الألم والتورم ارفع الكاحل والقدم في مستوى أعلى من القلب.
  • ضع ثلجًا على المنطقة المصابة لمدة 20 دقيقة، ثلاث أو أربع مرات في اليوم.
  • يجب الالتزام بتمرينات الطبيب أو اختصاصي العلاج الطبيعي لاستعادة مدى حركة المفاصل وقوتها وثباتها.

متلازمة الألم الرضفي الفخذي

تشير متلازمة الألم الفخذي الرضفي إلى وجود ألم في منطقة غطاء الركبة (الرضفة). قد ينتج ألم الركبة من الإفراط في استخدام المفصل، أو التمرينات غير المناسبة، أو مشاكل بالسيطرة على عضلات الآلية والساق، أو عدم انتظام الركبة. ولسوء الحظ، فإن هذه المتلازمة شائعة بين الإناث الشابات الرياضيات خاصة ممارسي لعبة التسلق والعداءات ولاعبي كرة الطائرة.

ودائما ما تشعر البنات التي لديهن متلازمة الألم الفخذي الرضفي بألم غير حاد في مقدمة مفصل الركبة، وعند القيام بالتمرينات أو القيام بأي نشاط يتطلب ثني الركبة قد يبدأ الألم. ويشعرن بالألم في حالة الجلوس لفترات طويلة ومفصل الركبة مثني مثلما يحدث في الفصول الدراسية أو الطائرة. وقد يسمعن صوت طقطقة أو فرقعة في مفصل الركبة أو يشعرن بألم أثناء صعود الدرج أو النهوض بعد فترات طويلة من الجلوس. وفي حالة وجود هذه الأعراض والعلامات يجب استشارة اختصاصي الطب الرياضي أو اختصاصي العلاج الطبيعي.

وقد يطلب اختصاصي الرعاية الصحية القيام بفحص الأشعة السينية أو أحد الاختبارات الجسدية لمفصلي الحوض أو الساقين أو القدمين، مع التركيز على الركبة المصابة.

العلاج

العلاج المعتاد لمتلازمة الألم الفخذي الرضفي هو مسكنات الألم والراحة من النشاطات التي تثير الألم. ويُحسِّن العلاج الطبيعي النمط الحركي للأطراف السفلية ويعيد عظمة الركبة إلى تجويفها. ولا تشمل التمرينات الركبة فقط، بل تشمل مفصلي الحوض والساقين والعضلات أيضًا. والهدف من العلاج هو حماية مفصل الركبة عن طريق تقوية الجزء السفلي من الجسم وتصحيح الأنماط الحركية التي تجعل الرضفة لا تتحرك بشكل سليم. ويمكن لاختصاصي الرعاية الصحية إدراج فرشة للحذاء (وسائل تقويم العظام)، بالإضافة إلى النقر حول الرضفة من أجل تخفيف الألم خلال إعادة التأهيل. كما يمكن استخدام دعامة من أجل تخفيف الألم وتحسين حركة الرضفة.

نصائح العناية بالنفس
  • توقف عن النشاط المتسبب في ألم الركبة وقم بالنشاطات ذات التأثير المنخفض مثل السباحة وقيادة الدراجات حتى يختفي الألم.
  • ضع الثلج على الركبة لمدة 20 دقيقة لعدة مرات في اليوم.
  • اسأل اختصاصي الرعاية الصحية عن الأدوية المسكنة المضادة للالتهاب التي تُستخدم بدون وصفات مثل عقار الإيبوبروفين ( أدفيل، موترين 1ب، وغيرهم) وعقار النابروكسين صوديوم (أليفي) الذي يساعد في تخفيف الألم.

إصابات الرباط التصالُبي الأمامي.

إن الرباط الصليبي الأمامي هو واحد من أربعة أربطة أساسيين في مفصل الركبة. غالبًا تكون إصابات الرباط الصليبي الأمامي تمزقًا ( ناتجًا عن التواء). عادة تنتج إصابة الرباط الصليبي من حركات القفز والدوران والتغير السريع في اتجاه الحركة. هذه الإصابات شائعة بين الرياضيين، الذين يمارسون رياضة كرة القدم وكرة السلة. ووُجد أن الرياضيات الإناث أكثر عرضة لإصابات الرباط الصليبي الأمامي من الرياضيين الذكور. بالرغم من أن سبب ذلك غير مفهوم بشكل تام، فإن بعض الدراسات ترجح أن هرمونات الإناث وتشريحهن الجسدي هو ما يجعلهن أكثر عرضة للإصابة. ويوضح أحد الأبحاث العلمية أن بعض الأنماط الحركية في الساق هي التي تسبب إصابة الرباط الصليبي الأمامي لدى الفتيات والسيدات. على سبيل المثال، الحركة الداخلية للركبة أثناء الوقوف على ساق واحدة أو حركة القفز لهما علاقة بزيادة خطر التعرض لإصابة الرباط الصليبي الأمامي.

ومن الممكن سماع صوت فرقعة عند إصابة الرباط الصليبي الأمامي، وبعد ذلك ينحل مفصل الركبة ويتبع ذلك ألم وتورم. وقد تفقد الركبة كل مدى الحركة وتبدأ في الألم وغير الثبات عندما يمشي الشخص المصاب.

كشفت الدراسات أن إصابات الرباط الصليبي الأمامي غير المباشرة يمكن منعها عن طريق البرنامج التدريبي الصحيح. يمكن تقليل خطر إصابة الرباط الصليبي الأمامي عن طريق تصحيح الأنماط الحركية باستخدام برنامج مكون من تمرينات مخصصة لعضلات الجذع والحوض والساق. ويجب على أولياء أمور الفتيات الرياضيات استشارة اختصاصي الطب الرياضي والتواصل مع المدربين من أجل التوصل لأفضل طريقة للوقاية من إصابة الرباط الصليبي الأمامي.

العلاج

تُشخص إصابة الرباط الصليبي الأمامي عادة عن طريق الفحص الجسدي للمنطقة المصابة. في بعض الحالات قد يطلب الطبيب إجراء فحص الأشعة السينية أو فحص الرنين المغناطيسي (MRI أو كليهما. بمجرد تأكيد التشخيص، يحتاج أغلب الرياضيين لإجراء عملية جراحية حتى يتمكنوا من ممارسة الأنشطة التي تتطلب القفز والحركات العكسية والدوران.

لأن أغلب تمزقات الرباط الصليبي الأمامي لا يمكن إصلاحها بواسطة الخياطة، يُعيد الجراحون بناء الرباط باستخدام الرقع النسيجية. يُعاد بناء الرباط الصليبي الأمامي باستخدام المنظار الجراحي، وهو ما يتميز بقلة الألم ويتعافى بشكل أسرع. يُوجد اعتبارات خاصة عند التعامل من الصغار الذين لا يزالون في مرحلة النمو ويمكنهم أن يستفيدوا من استشارة جراح العظام المتخصص في إعادة بناء الرباط الصليبي الأمامي بالأطفال.

ما الأخبار المبشرة بالخير؟ توضح الدراسات أنه بعد خضوع السيدات لجراحة الرباط الصليبي الأمامي ذكرن أن مفصل الركبة ثابت ويمكنهن العودة إلى ممارسة الرياضات والنشاطات عالية التأثير .

نصائح الرعاية بالنفس
  • ارتدِ دعامة أو استخدم عكازات من أجل تخفيف الوزن عن الركبة المصابة.
  • استخدم أكياس الثلج بالطريقة التي وصفها الطبيب من أجل تسكين الألم والتورم.
  • بعد العملية الجراحية، يمكن لمجموعة من التمرينات أن تقوي عضلات الساق وتستعيد وظيفة مفصل الركبة. يجب تخصيص هذه التمرينات وفقًا لنوع الرياضة التي تُمارسها. يستغرق الأمر عادة حوالي تسعة أشهر من أجل العودة لمستوى أداء النشاطات السابق.

الكسور الإجهادية

تؤدي الرياضة عالية التأثير مثل التنس والجمباز وكرة الطائرة وكرة السلة إلى كسور بالساقين والقدمين. عندما يتم الإفراط في استخدام العضلات وإرهاقها تنقل أحيانًا الضغط إلى العظام، مما يتسبب في شروخ صغيرة أو زيادة شديدة في الضغط داخل العظام. تُسمى هذه الإصابات بالكسور الإجهادية، وتحدث عادة في القدم أو الساق.

وتُعد الفتيات المراهقات، خاصة الرياضيات، أكثر عرضة للكسور الإجهادية لأن عظامهن تكون أكثر نحافة كما تكون أكثر هشاشة. يزيد عدم الحصول على كميات مناسبة من فيتامين د والكالسيوم من خطر التعرض إلى الكسور الإجهادية. العرض الرئيسي لهذه الكسور هو ألم في المنطقة المصابة ويتحسن بالراحة، ويزداد سوءًا بالجري أو القفز أو المشي.

العلاج

يوصي اختصاصي الرعاية الصحية بتجنب الأنشطة عالية التأثير لمدة ستة إلى ثمانية أسابيع حتى تتعافى الإصابة. تتسبب العودة سريعًا إلى ممارسة النشاط المتسبب في الكسر الإجهادي في كسور إجهادية أكثر خطورة وقد تتحول إلى مشكلة مزمنة. ومن الممكن أن يوصي اختصاصي الرعاية الصحية باستخدام العكازات لتخفيف الوزن عن الساق المصابة، متبوعة باستخدام دعامة أو حذاء طبي حتى يتعافى الكسر الإجهادي.

نصائح الرعاية بالنفس
  • يجب إراحة المنطقة المصابة من حمل وزن الجسم بقدر الإمكان. إذا كان هنالك تورم، فضع مستوى القدم أعلى من القلب.
  • ضع أكياس الثلج لمدة 20 دقيقة، عدة مرات باليوم، لتخفيف الورم والألم.
  • بمجرد موافقة اختصاصي الرعاية الصحية، ابدأ في التمرينات منخفضة التأثير مثل السباحة أو استخدام الدراجات الرياضية الثابتة.
  • اتبع نظامًا غذائيًّا صحيًّا، واحرص على الحصول على كميات كبيرة من الكالسيوم وفيتامين د.

عدم ثبات مفصل الكتف

تشير حالة "عدم استقرار مفصل الكتف" إلى العديد من المشاكل. وهي تتضمن:

  • خلع مفصل الكتف. تخرج رأس عظمة الذراع العليا من تجويفها في مفصل الكتف بشكل كامل.
  • الخلع الجزئي (تشوه جزئي) تخرج رأس عظمة الذراع جزئيًّا من تجويفها، أو خروج العظمة جزئيًّا من التجويف ثم عودتها مرة أخرى.
  • ارتخاء المفصل انحلال المفصل

عندما يحدث خلع المفصل بشكل تام أو جزئي، يحدد الطبيب اتجاه خلع عظمة الذراع – وغالبًا يكون اتجاه الخلع إلى مقدمة الكتف وللأسفل. عدم الثبات متعدد الاتجاهات (MDI) هو ارتخاء للمفصل في كل الاتجاهات، ومن الممكن أن يتسبب في خلع مفصل الكتف كليًّا أو بشكل جزئي بصورة متكررة. يحدث عدم استقرار المفصل متعدد الاتجاهات بشكل شائع أكثر من خلع المفصل في اتجاه واحد في الإناث الرياضيات. يحدث عدم ثبات مفصل الكتف بصورة كبيرة في الفتيات اللاتي يقمن بممارسة الرياضات التي تتطلب رفع اليد فوق أو الرأس أو رياضة الرمي، مثل كرة الطائرة والسباحة والتنس.

إن خلع المفصل مؤلم ويحتاج إلى علاج في الحال. يجب تثبيت المفصل في الحال ووضع الثلج، وذلك قبل رؤية الطبيب. كما يجب على الفتيات المصابات بألم بمفصل الكتف أو تقلصات عضلية أو ضعف عضلي السعي من أجل المساعدة الطبية. وتشمل الأعراض والعلامات الأخرى التورم والتنميل والكدمات.

العلاج

يعالج الأطباء خلع المفصل بواسطة إجراء الرد المغلق للمفصل، التي تُعاد بها عظمة الذراع برفق إلى تجويف مفصل الكتف. وعادة ما يؤدي ذلك إلى تسكين الألم الشديد. تتم هذه العملية في العيادات الخارجية. إذا تواجد اختصاصي طبي مؤهل عند حدوث الإصابة، يمكن أن تتم عملية رد المفصل في مكان الحادث، ولكن يجب المتابعة والرعاية الطبية لضمان تموضع المفصل بشكل سليم. من الممكن أن يوصي الطبيب باستخدام حمالة الكتف لفترة قصيرة من أجل راحة المفصل.

بالرغم من أن معظم الإصابات التي تؤدي إلى عدم ثبات مفصل الكتف تُعالج بدون جراحة، فالأطباء يفضلون إجراء عملية جراحية للحالات المزمنة. تشكل عودة خلع المفصل مرة أخرى نسبة عالية بشكل كبير بين الفتيات الأصغر من 19 عام. يمكن للأطباء تصليح وشد الأربطة التي تثبت المفصل في مكانه بواسطة الجراحة.

نصائح الرعاية بالنفس
  • يجب إراحة مفصل الكتف بإبقائه ثابتًا.
  • استخدم أكياس الثلج لمدة 15 إلى 20 دقيقة كل ساعتين في الأيام الأولى بعد الإصابة.
  • وبعد ثلاثة أيام، يمكن استخدام ضمادات دافئة لمدة لا تتجاوز 20 دقيقة، لأنها تساعد في إرخاء عضلات الكتف المشدودة.
  • اتبع إرشادات مقدم الرعاية الصحية من أجل تسكين الألم.
  • من الممكن أن يوصي اختصاصي العلاج الطبيعي بمجموعة من التمرينات الخفيفة لاسترجاع مدى حركة المفصل وقوته ويتم القيام بها في المنزل.
28/06/2019 انظر المزيد من التفاصيل الشاملة

5 common sports injuries in young female athletes

Know how to prevent and treat common sports injuries in girls and young women

More girls than ever are hitting the gym, the field, the track, the rink — many at elite levels. Not surprisingly, as the number of girls and young women participating in sports goes up, so does the number of injuries. Without the right diet and conditioning — and sometimes even when following ideal training regimens — young athletes can fall prey to the same injuries that affect adult athletes. Savvy coaches and parents will monitor athletes under their supervision to avoid injury. But when an injury does happen, it's important to know how to intervene quickly to help ensure a healthy recovery.

Prevention is the best medicine

Studies show that injury prevention programs (IPPs) really work. Although these programs vary widely, depending on the sport and the participant's age, IPPs typically focus on developing and strengthening key muscles; improving movement patterns, sport technique and balance; and avoiding common errors. Parents of young female athletes should talk with coaches and trainers about what IPPs are in place.

Good nutrition plays a critical role, too. Beyond a healthy, balanced diet, girls and young women might also need supplemental vitamins and minerals to stay in peak condition. Some nutritional supplements have been shown to improve performance.

Two supplemental nutrients in particular are important to consider:

  • Calcium. Some girls and young women, concerned with maintaining an ideal weight or "being thin," avoid eating higher calorie dairy products. But this can lead to a lack of adequate calcium intake. Athletes under age 18 should get 1,300 milligrams (mg) of calcium daily, while those over age 18 should aim for 1,000 mg a day. Food sources of calcium include dairy products, almonds, broccoli, kale, canned salmon with bones, sardines and soy products such as tofu.
  • Iron. Because of menstrual blood loss, girls and young women can be at higher risk of iron deficiency, which affects both sports endurance and performance. Vegetarians also can be at higher risk, since red meat is a top source of dietary iron. Nuts, beans, seafood and dark green leafy vegetables such as spinach and kale are other iron-rich foods. Young athletes should be screened regularly, with a simple blood test, to detect iron deficiency.

Female athlete triad increases injury risk

Young female athletes are at risk of a spectrum disorder known as the female athlete triad. The triad includes low energy availability, low bone mineral density and menstrual dysfunction. Girls with only one of the triad's components are at higher risk of muscle and bone injuries; having two or all three of the triad components increases the risk even further. Parents and coaches need to be able to recognize the following signs and symptoms that can be part of the triad:

  • Eating disorders such as bulimia or anorexia
  • Stress fractures
  • Frequent dieting
  • Menstrual irregularities
  • Excessive exercise
  • Obsessive or perfectionist behavior

Common injuries

Even when an athlete does everything right, an injury can happen. In most cases, staying calm and getting the right treatment will help speed recovery.

Ankle sprains

Adolescent athletes are prone to foot and ankle injuries. In fact, these injuries account for almost 30 percent of all young athletes' visits to sports medicine clinics. High on the list of common injuries are lateral ankle sprains, which girls get at higher rates than boys do. In one study, researchers found that female basketball players experience 25 percent more minor ankle sprains than males do. Why? Women's feet are smaller, proportionally, than men's, and shaped differently, which can leave girls and young women, especially competitive athletes, more vulnerable to ankle injury.

A lateral ankle sprain involves tears to one or more ligaments in the ankle. The sprain typically happens when the ankle is suddenly twisted or flexed during active movement. The first sign of a sprain is immediate pain, often followed by swelling, especially on the outside of the ankle. Putting weight on the ankle is usually quite painful. Diagnosing a sprain involves seeing a doctor for an exam, which can include X-rays.

Health care professionals use a grading scale for sprains:

  • Grade 1 is the least severe, with mild swelling and a minor ligament tear.
  • Grade 2 involves moderate swelling and a complete tear of one ligament.
  • Grade 3 (severe) includes significant swelling and pain and tears of at least two ligaments.
Treatment

Doctors typically treat a sprain with a protective brace or a walking boot. Then a standard regimen of rest, ice, compression and elevation follows. Once the swelling and pain go down, physical therapy is usually recommended. At first the emphasis is on upper body and cardiovascular fitness, while the ankle is rested. Once the pain is gone and full range of motion is regained, ankle strength and stability exercises are started, along with sport-specific exercises.

Self-care tips
  • Rest the injured foot and ankle from bearing weight as much as possible.
  • Wear a compression wrap to help reduce swelling.
  • To relieve pain and swelling, elevate the ankle and foot above the heart.
  • Apply ice to the area for 20 minutes, three to four times daily.
  • Follow the doctor's or physical therapist's exercises to regain range of motion, strength and stability.

Patellofemoral pain syndrome

Patellofemoral pain syndrome refers to pain in the region of the kneecap (patella). Pain in the kneecap area can result from overuse, improper training, problems with control of hip and leg muscles, or kneecap misalignment. Unfortunately, the syndrome is common in young female athletes, particularly climbers, runners and volleyball players.

Girls with patellofemoral pain syndrome typically feel a dull pain in the fronts of their knees when they exercise — any activity that bends the knees can trigger the pain. They can also feel pain after sitting with their knees bent for a long time, such as in a classroom or on a plane. They might hear cracking or popping sounds in their knees, or feel pain while climbing stairs or getting up after sitting for a while. If these signs and symptoms occur, consult a sports medicine physician or physical therapist.

The health care professional might request X-rays or simply do a physical exam of the hips, legs and feet, with special focus on the knee that hurts.

Treatment

The usual treatment for patellofemoral pain syndrome is pain management and resting from the activities that provoke the pain. Physical therapy can improve lower extremity movement patterns and tracking of the kneecap in its groove. The exercises involve not only the knee but also the hips, legs and core. The goal is to protect the knee by strengthening the lower body and correcting movement patterns that cause the kneecap to not track properly. The health care professional might also consider a shoe insert (orthotic), as well as taping around the kneecap to relieve pain during rehabilitation. A brace can be used to relieve pain and promote proper movement of the patella.

Self-care tips
  • Stop the activity that is causing the knee pain and switch to a low-impact activity such as swimming or biking until the pain goes away.
  • Apply ice to the knee for 20 minutes several times a day.
  • Ask a health care professional about using over-the-counter anti-inflammatory medications such as ibuprofen (Advil, Motrin IB, others) and naproxen sodium (Aleve), which help reduce pain.

ACL Injuries

The anterior cruciate ligament (ACL) is one of four major ligaments in the knee. ACL injuries generally involve a tearing of the ligament (sprain). Typically the injury occurs during pivoting or jumping movements or when quickly changing direction. These injuries are more common among athletes who play soccer, football and basketball. Female athletes have been found to be significantly more at risk of ACL injuries than are male athletes. Although the reasons for this aren't fully understood, some studies suggest that female hormones and anatomy make girls and young women more susceptible. Other research has found that suboptimal movement patterns in the legs can predispose girls and women to ACL injuries. For example, inward movement of the knee during a single-leg squat or when landing from a jump has been correlated with an increased risk of ACL injury.

At the time of an ACL injury, there may be a popping sound, after which the knee gives way, followed quickly by pain and swelling. The knee can lose its full range of motion and feel tender and unstable when the injured person is walking.

Studies have found that noncontact ACL injuries can be prevented with the right training program. Correcting suboptimal movement patterns with a program of specific exercises for the core, hip and leg muscles can reduce the risk of ACL injury. Parents of young female athletes should talk to sports medicine professionals, coaches and trainers to discuss the best approach to ACL injury prevention.

Treatment

A physical examination of the injured area is typically all that's needed to diagnose an ACL injury. In some cases, the doctor can also request X-rays, magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) scans or both. Once the diagnosis is confirmed, most athletes will need surgery to permit them to return to activities that require jumping, cutting or pivoting movements.

Because most ACL tears can't be repaired with stitching, surgeons have to reconstruct the ligament with tissue grafts. ACL reconstruction is generally performed using an arthroscopic procedure, which is minimally invasive and results in less pain and faster recovery time. Young people who are still actively growing have special considerations and can benefit from a consultation with an orthopedic surgeon who's experienced with pediatric ACL reconstruction.

The good news? Studies have found that after having ACL surgery, women say their knees feel stable and they can return to sports and high-impact activities.

Self-care tips
  • Wear a brace or use crutches to keep weight off the injured knee.
  • Use ice packs as directed by the doctor to relieve pain and swelling.
  • After the surgery, a set of exercises can help strengthen the leg muscles and restore function to the knee. These exercises should be tailored to the specific sport. It usually takes about nine months to return to the previous level of activity.

Stress fractures

High-impact sports such as running, tennis, gymnastics, volleyball and basketball can be hard on the legs and feet. When muscles get overused and fatigued they sometimes transfer the stress to the bones, causing small cracks or severe stress overload within a bone. These injuries, called stress fractures, typically occur in the lower leg or foot.

Adolescent girls, particularly those on the female athlete triad spectrum, are especially susceptible to stress fractures because they usually have thinner and more-fragile bones. Not getting enough vitamin D and calcium also can increase the risk of a stress fracture. The main symptom is a specific area of pain that improves with rest and worsens with running, jumping or walking.

Treatment

Health care professionals typically recommend avoiding any kind of impact activity for six to eight weeks while the injury heals. Rushing back into the activity that caused the stress fracture can cause more-serious stress fractures to develop or even lead to chronic problems. A health care professional might recommend the use of crutches to unload the injured leg, followed by a walking boot or brace as the stress fracture heals.

Self-care tips
  • Rest the injured area from bearing weight as much as possible. If there is swelling, then lie down with the foot raised higher than the heart.
  • Apply ice packs for 20 minutes, several times a day, to relieve swelling and pain.
  • Once a health care professional gives the OK, start exercising with low-impact activities such as swimming or stationary cycling.
  • Maintain a healthy diet, making sure to get plenty of calcium and vitamin D.

Shoulder instability

"Shoulder instability" actually refers to a spectrum of disorders. These include:

  • Dislocation. The head of the upper arm bone has slipped all the way out of its socket in the shoulder joint.
  • Partial dislocation (subluxation). The upper arm bone is partially out of the socket, or the bone partially goes out of the socket and then goes back in.
  • Laxity. The joint is loose.

When a shoulder dislocates, either fully or partially, a doctor will determine which direction the upper arm bone has slipped — most commonly toward the front of the shoulder and downward. Multidirectional instability (MDI) is a general looseness of the joint in all directions, which can cause the upper arm bone to dislocate or partially dislocate (sublux) more frequently. MDI tends to be more common than single-direction dislocations in female athletes. Shoulder instability is increasingly seen in girls and young women who play overhead and throwing sports, such as volleyball, swimming and tennis.

Shoulder dislocations are painful, noticeable events that need immediate treatment. The joint should be immobilized immediately and ice applied, even while waiting to see a doctor. Girls experiencing shoulder pain, muscle spasms or weakness should also seek help. Other signs and symptoms can include swelling, numbness and bruising.

Treatment

Doctors treat dislocations with a closed-reduction procedure, in which the upper arm bone is gently repositioned back into the shoulder socket. This typically stops the severe pain. The procedure is done as an outpatient procedure. If a qualified medical professional is on hand when the injury occurs, the procedure can often be performed on-site, although follow-up medical care is essential to ensure the joint is properly positioned. A doctor might also recommend a sling for a short period of time for comfort.

Although most shoulder instability injuries are treated nonsurgically, doctors recommend surgery when the instability becomes a chronic condition. Among girls younger than 19 who have had a dislocated shoulder, the re-dislocation rate is very high. With surgery, doctors can repair and tighten the ligaments that hold the joint in place.

Self-care tips
  • Rest the injured shoulder by keeping it immobile.
  • Use ice packs for 15 to 20 minutes every couple of hours for the first few days after the injury.
  • After three days, consider using a hot pad for no more than 20 minutes at a time, which can help relax the shoulder's stressed muscles.
  • Follow the health care professional's guidelines for pain management.
  • A physical therapist can recommend a series of gentle range-of-motion and strength exercises to be completed at home.
Nov. 04, 2016 See more In-depth

See also

  1. Slide show: 5 smart exercise choices for psoriatic arthritis
  2. 6 tips for an active getaway you'll remember
  3. Accentuate the positive to make lasting health changes
  4. An appointment to exercise? You bet!
  5. Are you ready for a workout?
  6. Balance training: Boost your long-term health with these exercises
  7. Barriers to fitness
  8. Blood Doping
  9. BMI calculator
  10. Body fat analyzers
  11. Boot camp workout
  12. The role of diet and exercise in preventing Alzheimer's disease
  13. Core exercises
  14. Create a home gym without breaking the bank
  15. Did you exercise today? Reward yourself!
  16. Toning shoes
  17. Does fitness trump thinness?
  18. Don't have an exercise budget? Go cheap!
  19. Dress smart for winter workouts
  20. Early bird or night owl? Plan exercise accordingly
  21. Exercise benefits
  22. Exercise and chronic disease
  23. Exercise and illness
  24. Stress relief
  25. Exercise: Every minute counts!
  26. Exercising with arthritis
  27. Exercise smarter, not longer
  28. Exercise: Check with your doctor
  29. Exercising regularly? Track your progress!
  30. Fitness program
  31. Fitness: Take it 1 step at a time
  32. Fitness motivation
  33. Fitness ball exercises videos
  34. Fitness barriers: Bust 'em
  35. Fitness for less
  36. Fitness ideas for the entire family
  37. Fitness program
  38. Fitness takes more than huffing and puffing
  39. Fitness tip: Get physical at home
  40. Fitness tip: Get physical at work
  41. Fitness tip: Include your friends
  42. Fitness training routine
  43. Fitting in fitness
  44. Going up? Take the stairs
  45. Golf injuries
  46. Golfers: Know when to call it quits
  47. Golfers: Tee up common sense
  48. Hanging out with friends? Activity counts!
  49. Hate to exercise? Try these tips
  50. Heart rate
  51. Heat and exercise
  52. Hockey Flywheel
  53. How fit are you?
  54. How much exercise do you really need?
  55. 3 easy ways to get started with yoga
  56. Is exercise a chore? No more!
  57. Keep your workout fun
  58. Know when to move your winter workout indoors
  59. Late-day exercise
  60. Marathon and the Heat
  61. Mayo Clinic Minute: How to hit your target heart rate
  62. Miss a workout? Don't give up!
  63. Natural movement: Going back to basics
  64. Need a gym to get fit?
  65. Need exercise motivation? Put it on paper
  66. Need motivation to exercise? Try a diary
  67. No pain, no gain? No way!
  68. No time for exercise? No way!
  69. Office exercise
  70. Overuse injury prevention
  71. Pregnancy and exercise
  72. Ready to get in on the aquatic fitness movement?
  73. Simple tips for staying active and mobile with osteoarthritis
  74. Core-strength exercises
  75. Guide to stretches
  76. Balance exercises
  77. Fitness ball
  78. Starting a fitness program? Take it slow
  79. Starting an exercise program: Take time to rest
  80. Stay fit and healthy — without breaking a sweat
  81. Stay fit at any age
  82. Travel and work
  83. Strength training: How-to video collection
  84. The best ways to bounce back after a tough workout
  85. To stay fit, embrace the power of play
  86. Too busy to exercise? Get up earlier
  87. Too sick to exercise?
  88. Fitness tips for business travelers
  89. Walking for fitness: Getting started
  90. Want to get fit? Try backyard aerobics!
  91. What it takes to be agile at any age
  92. Winter blahs? 4 pro tips to get you off the couch.
  93. Cold-weather exercise
  94. Winter weather tip: Watch for signs of frostbite
  95. Working out? Remember to drink up
  96. Workout blahs? Don't go it alone!