ريتشارد جاكوبسون

يربط المريض الذي يعالَج لفترة طويلة في مايو كلينك تفاؤله بمستقبل رعاية المرضى مع هدية سخية

By Mayo Clinic Staff

يقول Richard Jacobson "ستكون رائعةً،" متوقعًا الأساليب التي ستستخدمها Mayo Clinic (مايو كلينك) لتحويل الطب لمساعدة المرضى.

يكون مساء يوم الأحد بشكل عام وقتًا هادئًا في Mayo Clinic في روتشستر، مينيسوتا. وبالنسبة لريتشارد جاكبسون، يمنح فرصة للاسترخاء والتخطيط وتخيل المستقبل.

يأتي غالبًا السيد جاكبسون إلى ورتشستر من منزله في دي موين، آيوا، قبل مواعيده الطبية بيوم حيث يبدأ يوم الاثنين صباحًا. وهذا الجدول منحه راحة من طلبات العمل والوقت لتأمل كيفية الاستثمار في مساعدة الآخرين. في هذا الشأن يقول: "إن الصيام ليلة الأحد يمنح الشخص الوقت الوفير للتفكير.

ربما أتجول حول الحرم وأرى هذه المباني الجميلة، وأفكر في كل أعمال الخير التي تشهدها."

إن الإلهام الذي شعر به السيد جاكبسون في أثناء جولات الأحد تحول Mayo Clinic وتحدد اتجاهًا قويًا جديدًا في مجال الطب.

في عام 2010، تبرع السيد جاكبسون بمبلغ 100 مليون دولار لصالح Mayo Clinic في الوقت الذي كانت توضع فيه خطط إنشاء برنامج Mayo Clinic للعلاج بالإشعاع البروتوني وبناء مرافق جديدة في روتشستر وفينيكس. وتكريمًا لأعمال السيد جاكبسون نظير هبته التحويلية، ستقوم Mayo Clinic بتسمية مرفق روتشستر باسمه عرفانًا بجهوده.

يقول د. جاكبسون: "لقد ظل حُلمي تأسيس مرفق كبير جديد في Mayo Clinic." وقال: "من خلال دعم Mayo، تساعد الأفراد في الدولة وحول العالم."

مهمة مع مايو

يتمتع الرجل الذي تشكل إسهاماته الخيرة مستقبل الطب بتاريخ عائلي طويل مع مايو كلينك.

يتذكر السيد جاكوبسون قائلاً: "لقد كنت دائمًا بصحة جيدة، لكنني أصبت بأمراض الأطفال المعتادة. فعندما كان عمري 6 سنوات، اتصلت والدتي بالدكتور تشاك مايو لطلب نصيحته الشخصية حول ما يجب فعله، وبعد أن استمعت إلى ما قاله أجابت: حسنًا سنزورك غدًا في العاشرة غدًا. هكذا كان شعورها بالإصرار والعزم. وفي اليوم التالي، جهز أبي سيارتنا بالإطارات الاحتياطية - كانت الإطارات عادةً ما تنفجر في تلك الأيام - ثم سافرنا لمسافة 120 ميلًا إلى مدينة روتشستر. وفي الساعة العاشرة، فحصني الدكتور مايو، ليس لأنني كنت مهمًا أو حتى لأني مريض بشدة، ولكن لأنه لم يكن يريد الشجار مع والدتي."

تُوفيت روبي جاكوبسون عندما كان ابنها صبيًا، لكن ألمعيتها وحيويتها بقيا معه. بعد تخرجه في جامعة آيوا، خدم في الجيش، وبعد عدة سنوات من بدئه أعماله التجارية، أسس شركة Jacobson Warehouse بمبلغ 3500 دولار واثنين من الموظفين. كان هذا عام 1968. في السنوات التي تلت ذلك، أصبحت هذه المؤسسة واتحاد شركات جاكوبسون من الشركات الوطنية المعروفة بتميزها في خدمة العملاء ورضا الموظفين.

وما زال السيد جاكوبسون بعد تقاعده يقطع الكوبونات ويضخ غازه بنفسه، ويمكنه أن يخبرك بكل دقة بالأميال التي تقطها سيارته. ويذهب إلى الكنيسة بانتظام يوم الأحد كذلك.

وعندما سئل السيد جاكوبسون عن مصدر إلهامه، تأنى في الإجابة. يقول: "في طريق حياتي الكثيرون. لا أستطيع أن أعطيك أسماء؛ لأنني لا أريد المخاطرة بإغفال أحدهم. ولكن يمكنني أن أقول لك أن كل واحد منهم كان له تأثير دائم علي."

على مدار أكثر من خمسين عامًا والسيد جاكوبسون يُجري فحوصه الدورية ويتلقي الرعاية في مايو. ويتسق هذا الولاء - المبني على أساس قوي من القيم - مع وجهة نظر السيد جاكوبسون تجاه مايو كلينك.

يقول: "إن مايو آلة عملاقة لا تكف عن العمل بسلاسة". وهذا ثناء كبير من أحد الرجال العصاميين في مجاله. يضيف: "لقد قابلت مئات الأشخاص في مايو، وهم جميعًا من المهنيين المحترفين ذوي الجودة العالية."

العنصر البشري

في سِنِّ الأربعين، أي بعد أقلِّ من عقدٍ من بَدء عمله من الصفر، أسَّس مُؤسَّسة ريتشارد أو. جاكوبسون، التي تُقدِّم دَعماً واسِع النطاق للبرامج الطبية والإنسانية والتعليمية. "الأمر كله يتعلَّق بتغيير مسار الحياة،" ويوضِّح قائلاً: "العمل مع المُنظَّمات التي تُساعد أكثر الأشخاص بأكثر الطرق فعالية."

أسَّس منحة أستاذية في الطب الجُزيئي في Mayo Clinic، وهو مُتحمِّس للتكنولوجيا التي تجعل العلاج الإشعاعي البروتوني فعَّالاً للغاية في مُكافحة السرطان.

ومع ذلك فهو دائمًا يضَع نُصب عينيه العنصر البشري. فعلى سبيل المثال، خلال المؤتمر الصحفي الذي أعلن فيه عن منحته البالغة 100 مليون دولار، لاحظ السيد جاكوبسون شابًّا من إحدى الصُّحف المحلية. "كاد أن يغرَق في كل ما يحدُث حوله. وكان هناك، وحيدًا. فذهبتُ إليه وبدأتُ أتحدَّث. لقد كانت زيارة جيدة. كان يُمكن أن يكون هذا الشخص في مكاني. التحدُّث إليه كان أبرزَ ما في يومي."

سيكون هناك المزيد من المَعالم البارِزة في المُستقبل، خاصَّة بالنسبة للمرضى الذين يجِدون أملاً جديداً من التقدُّم في مجال الطب الذي يجعله السيد جاكوبسون مُمكناً في Mayo Clinic. يتطلَّع السيد جاكوبسون إلى المُستقبل بتفاؤل مُميز، حيث يقول، "سيكون الأمر رائعًا."

Richard Jacobson

A longtime Mayo Clinic patient matches his optimism for the future of patient care with a generous gift

By Mayo Clinic Staff

"It's going to be fantastic," Richard Jacobson says, anticipating the ways Mayo Clinic will transform medicine to help patients.

Sunday evening is generally a quiet time at Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minn. And for Richard Jacobson it provided an opportunity to pause and plan, and to imagine the future.

Mr. Jacobson often came to Rochester from his home in Des Moines, Iowa, on the day before his medical appointments were to begin on Monday morning. This schedule provided respite from the demands of his business and time to reflect on how he might invest in helping other people. "Having to fast on Sunday night gives a person plenty of time to think," he says.

"I'd walk around the campus, seeing these beautiful buildings, and think of all the good work that goes on here."

The inspiration that Mr. Jacobson felt during those Sunday walks is transforming Mayo Clinic and setting a powerful new direction in medicine.

In 2010, Mr. Jacobson gave $100 million to Mayo Clinic just as plans were underway to establish the Mayo Clinic Proton Beam Therapy Program and build new facilities in Rochester and Phoenix. To honor Mr. Jacobson's transformative gift, Mayo Clinic will name the Rochester facility in his honor.

"My dream has always been to establish a major new facility at Mayo Clinic," says Mr. Jacobson. "By supporting Mayo, you help people throughout the country and around the world."

A mission with Mayo

The man whose philanthropy is shaping the future of medicine has a long family history with Mayo Clinic.

"I was always healthy, but got the typical kid's illnesses," Mr. Jacobson recalls. "When I was 6, my mother called Dr. Chuck Mayo for his personal recommendation about what to do. She listened to what he had to say and then replied, 'Fine. We'll see you at 10 tomorrow.' That was her sense of determination. The next day, Dad loaded up the spare tires in our car — tires were always blowing out back then — and we made the 120-mile drive to Rochester. And Dr. Mayo saw me at 10, not because I was so important or even that sick, but because he didn't want to tangle with my mother."

Ruby Jacobson passed away when her son was a boy, but her spark and drive stayed with him. After the University of Iowa, service in the Army and several years getting started in business, he founded Jacobson Warehouse Company with $3,500 and two employees. That was in 1968. In the years that followed, this organization and a consortium of the Jacobson Companies became national leaders, recognized for excellence in customer service and employee satisfaction.

Now retired, Mr. Jacobson still clips coupons, pumps his own gas and can tell you the exact mileage that his car gets. He's a regular at church on Sunday.

When asked who inspired him, Mr. Jacobson answers carefully. "There've been so many people along the way. I can't give you names because I don't want to risk leaving someone out. But I can tell you that each one had a lasting impact on me."

He has received checkups and care at Mayo for more than half a century. This loyalty, built on a strong foundation of values, resonates with Mr. Jacobson's view of Mayo Clinic.

"Mayo is an incredibly well-oiled piece of machinery," he says. This is high praise from a man who built his career in industry. "I've met hundreds of people at Mayo, and they're all top-quality professionals."

The human element

At age 40, less than a decade after starting his business from scratch, he established the Richard O. Jacobson Foundation, which provides wide-ranging support for medical, humanitarian and educational programs. "It's all about changing lives," he explains, "working with organizations that help the most people in the most effective way."

He established an endowed professorship in molecular medicine at Mayo Clinic and is excited by the technology that makes proton beam therapy so effective in fighting cancer.

Yet he always keeps sight of the human element. For instance, during the press conference announcing his $100 million gift, Mr. Jacobson noticed a young man from a local newspaper. "He almost got run over with everything going on. There he was, all by himself. So I went up to him and started talking. We had a good visit. That guy could have been me. Talking to him was the highlight of my day."

There will be more highlights to come, especially for the patients who find new hope from the advancements in medicine Mr. Jacobson makes possible at Mayo Clinic. Looking ahead with characteristic optimism, he says, "It's going to be fantastic."