تعزيز القوى من أجل للشفاء

تؤسس مايو كلينك في ولاية فلوريدا جناحين مخصصين لتقديم أحدث تقنيات الطب التجديدي

من إعداد فريق مايو كلينك

توماس إيه غونوا، الحاصل على درجة دكتور في الطب ونائب مدير الترجمة بمركز العلاجات الحيوية التجديدية في مايو كلينك، وشين إيه شابيرو الحاصل على درجة دكتور في الطب وأستاذ مساعد في جراحة العظام، سيقودان جهود الطب التجديدي في جناحين مخصصين للمرضى في فلوريدا.

حتى وقت قريب، كان الاختصاصيون يضعون الطب التجديدي في مرتبة التجارب المختبرية والسريرية. لكن الأمور صارت مختلفة الآن. تبني مايو كلينك في ولاية فلوريدا جناحين مخصصين لتقديم تقنيات لم يكن العالم قبل عشر سنوات يتخيل أن تكون موجودة.

وهذان الجناحان الشاملان من أول الأجنحة في العالم المصممة حصريًا للطب التجديدي، ومن المقرر أن تضم تخصصات متعددة معًا في مكان واحد. على سبيل المثال، كانت العلاجات بالطب التجديدي قبل إنشاء الجناحين الجديدين تقدم في عدد من المواقع في المستشفى، فإذا كان المريض يحتاج إلى علاج بالخلايا الجذعية لعلاج الالتهاب المفصلي العظمي في الركبة، كان يحصل على الرعاية في مكان مخصص لأمراض العظام. وإذا كان المريض يحتاج إلى إجراء عملية لتجديد الجلد، كانت العملية تُجرى في قسم الأمراض الجلدية.

"والآن دُمجت كل فروع العلاج بالطب التجديدي في مكان واحد؛ حيث يوفر المستشفى لفريق الخبراء متعدد التخصصات المساحة القيّمة التي يحتاجون إليها، لتنفيذ الإجراءات الطبية التي يحتاج إليها المرضى" وفق تصريح توماس إيه غونوا، الدكتور في الطب والمدير المساعد بمركز جورج وليزلي باكاردي، ومركز العلاجات الحيوية التجديدية في فلوريدا، ونائب مدير الترجمة بمركز العلاجات الحيوية التجديدية في مايو كلينك. ويضيف أنه أثناء انتقالنا إلى هذه الجبهة الجديدة سيكون تركيز أجنحة الطب التجديدي في البداية على جراحة العظام والطب الرياضي والتجميل والأمراض الجلدية.

وسيكون شاين إيه شابيرو، دكتور الطب والأستاذ المساعد في جراحة العظام، من أوائل المستخدمين للأجنحة. حيث سيطبق نشاطه الرائد تقنيات الطب التجديدي، مثل البلازما الغنية بالصفائح الدموية والخلايا الجذعية لشفاء العظام وإصابات الأوتار والتواءات الأربطة والتهاب المفاصل. وقد كان مما أثار إعجابه بوجه خاص اتباع الأجنحة أسلوبًا شموليًا في الرعاية يهتم بالجسد كله، حتى الإضاءة صُممت تصميمًا خاصًا لتوفير الراحة.

يقول الدكتور شابيرو: "تعمل هذه العلاجات على حشد قدرات الجسم على شفاء الأنسجة وترميمها، وهو الأمر الذي كانت تفشل فيه سابقًا. "تشكّل إستراتيجياتنا الأساس الذي ستستند إليه علاجات مرض العظام المستقبلية القائمة على الخلايا".

عقّب الدكتور شابيرو بأن هذه العلاجات التجديدية ليست جراحة للعظام. ولكن الأجنحة الجديدة المختلطة ستكوّن مجموعة من الوسائل التي ستوفر أحدث العلاجات للمرضى الذين يختارون عدم الخضوع للعمليات الجراحية المتوغلة والأكثر تقليدية أو المرضى غير المرشحين لها.

ويضيف قائلاً: "هذه تدخلات علاجية لا تتطلب الموارد المعقدة المطلوبة لغرفة العمليات". تمثل هذه الأجنحة مجرد خطوة أخرى في توجه مايو كلينك نحو دمج التقنيات التجديدية في الرعاية اليومية للمرضى.

يقول جيانريكو فاروجيا، دكتور الطب والمدير التنفيذي لمايو كلينك في ولاية فلوريدا: "هناك أشياء مدهشة تحدث هنا تصل تأثيراتها الكبيرة إلى الأمراض التنكسية العصبية والحالات العضلية الهيكلية وأمراض القلب والأوعية الدموية والكلى. فالطب التجديدي يمكنه أن يصبح أيضًا مكونًا بارزًا في علاج أو شفاء الأفراد الذين لديهم إصابات في الحبل النخاعي والمصابين بالسكري من النوع الأول وداء باركنسون وداء الزهايمر".

الطب التجديدي جزء من الأبحاث الرائدة التي تساعدنا على تقديمها كل يوم بفضل دعمك لنا.

Harnessing the Power to Heal

Mayo Clinic in Florida is building two suites dedicated to delivering the latest regenerative medicine technologies

By Mayo Clinic Staff

Thomas A. Gonwa, M.D., deputy director of translation for Mayo Clinic's Center for Regenerative Medicine, and Shane A. Shapiro, M.D., assistant professor of orthopedics, will lead regenerative medicine efforts in two dedicated patient suites in Florida.

Until recently, regenerative medicine has been relegated to the laboratory and clinical trials. Not anymore. Mayo Clinic in Florida is building two suites dedicated to delivering technologies that just a decade ago were unimaginable.

The comprehensive suites are among the first in the world designed exclusively for regenerative medicine, and they'll accommodate multiple specialties at once. For instance, prior to the new suites, regenerative medicine therapies would take place at any number of locations within the hospital — if a patient had a need for stem cell therapy for osteoarthritis in the knee, their care would be delivered within an orthopedic setting. If someone needed a regenerative skin procedure, it happened in dermatology.

"Now, all regenerative medicine therapy is consolidated, providing our multidisciplinary team of experts the valuable space they want, for the procedures that their patients need," says Thomas A. Gonwa, M.D., the Jorge and Leslie Bacardi associate director, Center for Regenerative Medicine in Florida and deputy director of translation for Mayo Clinic's Center for Regenerative Medicine. He adds that as we cross into this new frontier, the initial emphasis of the regenerative medicine suites will be on orthopedics and sports medicine, plastics and dermatology.

Shane A. Shapiro, M.D., assistant professor of orthopedics, will be one of the early users of the suites. His pioneering work applies regenerative medicine technologies, such as platelet-rich plasma and stem cells, to heal bone and tendon injuries, ligament sprains and arthritis. He especially likes that the suites take a holistic, whole-body approach to care — even the lighting has been specially designed for comfort.

"These therapies mobilize the body's ability to heal and repair tissue where previously it had failed to do so," says Dr. Shapiro. "Our strategies form the foundation upon which the future of cell-based therapies for orthopedic disease will be built."

Dr. Shapiro is quick to point out that these regenerative therapies are not orthopedic surgery. Rather, the new hybrid suites will form a boutique of sorts that will provide the latest therapies to patients who elect not to have, or are not candidates for, more traditional invasive procedures.

"These are therapeutic interventions that do not require the complex resources of an operating room," he says. The suites are just another step in Mayo Clinic's drive to integrate regenerative technologies into everyday patient care.

"Amazing things are happening here, with vast implications in neurodegenerative diseases, musculoskeletal conditions, heart, vascular and kidney disease," says Gianrico Farrugia, M.D., CEO of Mayo Clinic in Florida. "Regenerative medicine might also be a signature component to treating or curing individuals with spinal cord injuries, type 1 diabetes, Parkinson's disease and Alzheimer's disease."

Regenerative medicine is part of leading-edge research you help provide every day with your support.