يُساعد الثيامين (فيتامين ب-1) الجسم على إنتاج الطاقة من العناصر الغذائية. الثيامين، ويُعرف أيضًا بالثيامين، ضروري لنمو وتطور الخلايا وأدائها.

يحصل غالبية الأشخاص على كمية كافية من الثيامين من خلال الطعام. الأطعمة الغنية بالثيامين تشمل الخميرة والبقوليات ولحم الخنزير والأرز البني، إلى جانب الأطعمة المدعمة بالعناصر الغذائية، مثل حبوب الإفطار. ولكن، تسخين الأطعمة التي تحتوي على ثيامين يُقلل من نسبة الثيامين بها. يُمكن تناول الثيامين في صورة مكمل غذائي، يؤخذ عن طريق الفم عادة.

يعتبر الأشخاص الذين قاموا بجراحات علاج السمنة، أو أولئك الذين يُعانون من فيروس نقص المناعة البشرية/الإيدز، أو مدمني الكحول، أو متناولي فيوروسيميد المدر للبول (Lasix) عُرضة لنقص الثيامين. يُمكن أن يؤدي نقص الثيامين إلى متلازمة فيرنيك-كورساكوف العصبية أو داء البري بري، وهو حالة من الاعتلال العصبي المحيطي.

بعض الناس يتناولون الثيامين لعلاج اضطرابات التمثيل الغذائي الوراثية.

جرعة الثيامين التي يوصى بتناولها يوميًا هي 1.2 مليغرام للذكر البالغ و1.1 للأنثى البالغة.

تظهر الأبحاث المتعلقة باستخدام الثيامين في حالات معينة ما يلي:

  • اضطرابات أيضية موروثة. يساعد الثيامين الفموي مؤقتًا في تصحيح أنواع مختلفة من الحالات الطبية الناجمة عن العيوب الجينية — التي تورث من كلا الأبوين في كثير من الأحيان — وتتداخل مع عملية الأيض في الجسم. ومثال ذلك مرض بول شراب القيقب.

آمن بصفة عامة

يوفر النظام الغذائي الصحي والمتنوع لمعظم الأشخاص ما يكفي من الثيامين. إلا أنه بالنسبة لمن تعرضوا لجراحة للسمنة أو لحالات طبية مثل فيروس نقص المناعة البشرية/الإيدز أو المدمنين المزمنين للكحوليات أو الذين يستخدمون عقاقير معينة، قد يكون المكمل الغذائي من الثيامين ضروريًا. ويُعد ثيامين آمنًا بصفة عامة.

من المرجح أن يكون تناول الثيامين آمنًا عند استخدامه كمكمل غذائي عن طريق الفم بجرعات مناسبة. ونادرًا ما يسبب تفاعلاً جلديًا.

لا توجد أي أدلة حاليًا تثبت أن الثيامين يتفاعل مع الأدوية الأخرى.

ومع ذلك، قد يسهم المضغ المنتظم للتنبول أو الأكل المتكرر للسمك النيء أو المحار في نقص الثيامين.

Nov. 14, 2020

Thiamin (vitamin B-1) helps the body generate energy from nutrients. Also known as thiamine, thiamin is necessary for the growth, development and function of cells.

Most people get enough thiamin from the food they eat. Foods rich in thiamin include yeast, legumes, pork, brown rice, as well as fortified foods, such as breakfast cereals. However, heating foods containing thiamin can reduce thiamin content. Thiamin can also be taken as a supplement, typically orally.

People who have had bariatric surgery, have conditions such as HIV/AIDS, are chronic alcoholics, or use drugs such as the diuretic furosemide (Lasix), are at risk of a thiamin deficiency. Thiamin deficiency can lead to the neurological condition Wernicke-Korsakoff's syndrome or beriberi, a condition that involves peripheral nerve damage.

People also take thiamin to treat inherited metabolic disorders.

The recommended daily amount of thiamin for adult men is 1.2 milligrams and for adult women is 1.1 milligrams.

Research on thiamin use for specific conditions shows:

  • Inherited metabolic disorders. Oral thiamin helps temporarily correct different types of medical conditions caused by genetic defects — most commonly inherited from both parents — that interfere with the body's metabolism. One example is maple syrup urine disease.

Generally safe

A healthy and varied diet will provide most people with enough thiamin. However, for people who have had bariatric surgery, have conditions such as HIV/AIDS, are chronic alcoholics or use certain drugs, a thiamin supplement might be necessary. Thiamin is generally safe.

When used as an oral supplement in appropriate doses, thiamin is likely safe. Rarely, it can cause a skin reaction.

There's currently no evidence to show that thiamin interacts with other drugs.

However, regular chewing of areca (betel) nuts or frequently eating raw fish or shellfish might contribute to thiamin deficiency.

Oct. 25, 2017