خلل الحركة الشيخوخي: كيفية علاجه

يعتمد علاج خلل الحركة الشيخوخي - وهو اضطراب في الجهاز العصبي يسبب حركات متكرِّرة لا يُمكن التحكُّم فيها - أولًا على فكرة الوقاية من هذه الحالة.

يَحدُث خلل الحركة الشيخوخي بسبب الاستخدام المستمر للأدوية المضادة للذهان (مضادات الذهان) أو الأدوية المضادة للغثيان، ميتوكلوبراميد. ويجب على الأطباء أن يصفوا هذه الأدوية بحذر، وأن يراقبوكَ دائمًا بحثًا عن علامات خلل الحركة الشيخوخي.

إذا بدأتَ في إظهار علامات الحالة، فيجب على طبيبكَ تقييم الأعراض وخيارات العلاج بعناية. تُوفِّر هذه الخطوات أفضل فرصة لعكس الأعراض، التي يُمكن أن تُصبح دائمة.

الوقاية من خلل الحركة الشيخوخيّ

أفضل علاج لخلل الحركة الشيخوخيّ هو الوقاية منه في المقام الأول. للمساعدة في الوقاية من هذه الحالة المرضية، يمكن لطبيبك المعالج تحديد استخدامك للأدوية التي تسببها، عندما يكون ذلك ممكنًا. يمكن لطبيبك المعالج أيضًا وصف أقل جرعة ممكنة ما تزال فعَّالة في علاج حالتك. حيث إن طبيبك المعالج يمكن أن يبعدك عن دواء معين، عندما يكون ذلك ممكنًا، لضمان استخدامك له للفترة الزمنية اللازمة فقط للتحكم في حالتك.

من الضروري أيضًا أن يراقبك طبيبك باستمرار للتحقق من علامات خلل الحركة الشيخوخي عندما تتناول عقار يمكن أن يُسببه. قد يساعد هذا الأمر الطبيب على ملاحظة الحالة في وقت مُبكر، بحيث يمكنه اتخاذ الخطوات لعكس الأعراض لمنعها من أن تصبح دائمة.

عند تناول أدوية مضادات الذهان أو الميتوكلوبراميد، يُفضل أيضًا عادةً تجنب تعاطي أدوية مضادة للفعل الكوليني — التي تتضمن بعض مضادات الاكتئاب، ومضادات الهيستامين وأدوية أخرى. يرجع ذلك إلى أن هذه العقاقير قد تؤدي إلى مضاعفة أعراض خلل الحركة الشيخوخي.

علاج خلل الحركة الشيخوخي

عندما تكون مصابًا بالفعل بخلل الحركة الشيخوخي، قد يبدأ العلاج بالتوقُّف عن الأدوية التي تُسبِّب لكَ هذه الأعراض. إذا كانت الأعراض لديكَ خفيفة ولا تُسبِّب مشاكل، فقد يكون هذا هو العلاج الوحيد المطلوب. لا ينبغي أن تتوقَّف أبدًا عن تناوُل مضادات الذهان أبدًا دون التحدُّث مع الطبيب أولًا. إذا كان من غير الممكن التوقُّف، لاحتياجكَ لإكمال العلاج المضاد للذهان، قد تتضمَّن خيارات العلاج:

  • مضادات ذهان جديدة (الجيل الثاني). إذا كنتَ حاليًّا تتناول مضادًّا قديمًا للذهان (من الجيل الأول)، وبدأت أعراض خلل الحركة الشيخوخي لديكَ توًا، قد يقترح طبيبكَ التحوُّل إلى نوع أحدث من مضادات الذهان، مثل الكلوزابين أو الكويتيابين. قد تكون الأنواع الأحدث أقل تسبُّبًا في حدوث خلل الحركة الشيخوخي. ولكن، قد تكون لها أعراض جانبية محتمَلة تحتاج للمراقبة عن كَثَب، أمَّا إذا كان خلل الحركة الشيخوخي لديكَ أكثر تقدُّمًا، فالتحوُّل إلى هذه الأدوية قد لا يُؤدِّي إلى تحسُّن كبير.
  • الأدوية التي تُقلِّل الأعراض. بعض الأدوية التي تُسمَّى مثبِّطات ناقلات أحادي الأمين الحويصلية 2، والتي قد تُساعد في تخفيف أعراض خلل الحركة الشيخوخي. بعض الأمثلة التي تحتوي على الفالبنازين (إنجرزا) والتيترابينازين (وكزينازين) ديتيترابينازين (أوستيدو). قد تُساعد هذه الأدوية في استنزاف مخزون الدوبامين في المخ، الناقلات الكيميائية.

    بالنسبة للأشخاص الذين لديهم خلل الحركة الشيخوخي الخفيف، الذين لديهم أيضًا القلق، قد تُساعِد جرعات منخفضة من أدوية بنزوديازيبين مثل كلونازيبام (كولونبين) في تخفيف هذه الأعراض.

    وبالنسبة للأشخاص الذين تُؤثِّر حركتهم غير الطبيعية على منطقة محدَّدة فقط، مثل الرقبة أو عضلات جفون العين، قد تُساعد حقن ذيفان البوتولين (البوتوكس) في هذه المنطقة في راحة العضلات.

    كما يُمكن أن تُساعد أدوية أخرى في تقليل أعراض خلل الحركة الشيخوخي الخفيف، ولكن هناك حاجة للمزيد من الأبحاث. تشمل الأمثلة أمانتادين (كوجوفري) وفيتامين B-6 وجنكو بيلوبا.

  • الاستثارة العميقة للدماغ. قد يُساعد هذا الدواء على التخفيف من أعراض خلل الحركة الشيخوخي الشديد التي لا تستجيب للعلاجات الأخرى. تشمل الاستثارة العميقة للدماغ عملية زرع الأقطاب في مناطق محدَّدة من مخك. تَخلُق الأقطاب نبضات كهربائية يُمكنها التأثير على خلايا محدَّدة ومواد كيميائية في المخ.

    يتمُّ التحكُّم في كمية الاستثارة في عملية الاستثارة العميقة للدماغ عن طريق جهاز يُشبه منظِّم ضربات القلب يُوضَع تحت الجلد في الجزء العلوي من الصدر. يقوم سلك يمرُّ تحت الجلد بتوصيل هذا الجهاز بالأقطاب الموجودة في المخ.

كما أنه من المعروف أنه بمجرَّد أن يُصبح خلل الحركة الشيخوخي حالة مستمرة (مزمنة)، فإن الاستمرار في استخدام الأدوية المضادة للذهان قد لا يُؤَدِّي إلى تدهوُر الحالة.

فهم الخيارات

إذا كنت تعاني من خلل الحركة الشيخوخي، فتحدث إلى طبيبك حول ما يمكنك القيام به لمنع حدوث ذلك. وإذا لاحظت ظهور علامات أو أعراض، فقم بمشاركة هذه الأعراض مع طبيبك على الفور. تُعَد الوقاية العلاج المبكر أفضل الفرص المتاحة أثناء مرحلة عكس خلل الحركة الشيخوخي.

وإذا كان خلل الحركة الشيخوخي أكثر تطورًا، مع عدم شعورك بالضيق بسبب الأعراض لديك، فقد لا تحتاج إلى علاج. ولكن إذا كانت أعراضك تسبب لك ضيقًا، فإن العلاج يمكنه المساعدة على تقليل تلك الأعراض، حتى إذا تعذَّر عكس الحالة.

07/09/2019

Tardive dyskinesia: How it's treated

Treatment for tardive dyskinesia — a nervous system disorder that causes repeated, uncontrolled movements — is first based on the idea of preventing the condition.

Tardive dyskinesia is caused by ongoing use of antipsychotic (neuroleptic) drugs or the anti-nausea drug, metoclopramide. Doctors should prescribe these drugs with caution and monitor you for signs of tardive dyskinesia often.

If you begin to show signs of the condition, your doctor should carefully assess your symptoms and treatment options. These steps provide the best chance of reversing your symptoms, which can become permanent.

Preventing tardive dyskinesia

The best treatment for tardive dyskinesia is to prevent it in the first place. To help prevent the condition, your doctor can limit your use of the drugs that cause it, when possible. Your doctor can also prescribe the lowest dose possible that's still effective at treating your condition. And your doctor can take you off a drug, when possible, to ensure you use it only for the amount of time truly necessary to manage your condition.

It's also important that your doctor frequently monitor you for signs of tardive dyskinesia while you're taking a drug that can cause it. This can help your doctor catch the condition early, so that he or she can take steps to reverse symptoms to keep them from becoming permanent.

While taking antipsychotics or metoclopramine, it's also usually best to avoid taking anticholinergic drugs — which include some antidepressants, antihistamines and other medications. That's because these drugs may worsen tardive dyskinesia symptoms.

Treating tardive dyskinesia

When you already have tardive dyskinesia, treatment may start with stopping the drugs that are causing your symptoms. If your symptoms are mild and not very troublesome, this may be the only treatment needed. But you should never stop taking an antipsychotic drug without talking to your doctor first. When it's not possible to stop, because you need to continue taking an antipsychotic, treatment options may include:

  • Newer (second-generation) antipsychotics. If you're currently taking an older (first-generation) antipsychotic and your tardive dyskinesia symptoms have just started, your doctor may suggest switching to a newer type of antipsychotic, such as clozapine or quetiapine. Newer types may be less likely to cause tardive dyskinesia. However, these also have possible side effects that need to be closely monitored, and if your tardive dyskinesia is more advanced, switching to these drugs isn't likely to lead to major improvement.
  • Drugs that reduce symptoms. Certain drugs called vesicular monoamine transporter 2 inhibitors may help ease tardive dyskinesia symptoms. Examples include valbenazine (Ingrezza), tetrabenazine (Xenazine) and deutetrabenazine (Austedo). These drugs help by depleting the brain's storage of dopamine — a chemical messenger.

    For those with mild tardive dyskinesia who also have anxiety, low doses of benzodiazepine drugs, such as clonazepam (Klonopin), may help ease symptoms.

    And for those whose abnormal movements only affect a specific area — such as the neck or eyelid muscles — botulinum toxin (Botox) injections in that area may help relax the muscles.

    Other drugs also may help reduce symptoms of mild tardive dyskinesia, but more research is needed. Examples include amantadine (Gocovri), vitamin B-6 and Ginkgo biloba.

  • Deep brain stimulation. This treatment may help ease the symptoms of severe tardive dyskinesia that doesn't respond to other treatments. Deep brain stimulation involves implanting electrodes within certain areas of your brain. The electrodes create electrical impulses that can affect certain cells and chemicals in the brain.

    The amount of stimulation in deep brain stimulation is controlled by a pacemaker-like device placed under the skin in your upper chest. A wire that travels under the skin connects this device to the electrodes in the brain.

Also know that once tardive dyskinesia has become an ongoing (chronic) condition, continuing to use antipsychotic drugs may not worsen the condition.

Understanding your options

If you're at risk of tardive dyskinesia, talk to your doctor about what you can do to prevent it. And if you notice signs or symptoms, share these with your doctor promptly. Prevention and early treatment are your best chances at reversing tardive dyskinesia.

If your tardive dyskinesia is more advanced, but your symptoms don't bother you, you may not need treatment. But if your symptoms are bothersome, treatment can help reduce them, even if the condition can't be reversed.

June 04, 2019