أعتقد أن طفلي يحتاج إلى تركيب تقويم الأسنان لتسوية أسنانه. ما السن المناسب للبدء في العلاج باستخدام تقويم الأسنان؟

إجابة من توماس جيه ساليناس، طبيب جراحة الأسنان

من الجيد أن تبادري بتقويم أسنان طفلك عند بلوغه 7 سنوات. اختصاصي تقويم الأسنان هو طبيب أسنان يتمتع بتدريب إضافي وهو متخصص في تقويم الأسنان وتسويتها. أفضل وقت لتركيب تقويم الأسنان لطفلك يعتمد على شدة سوء اصطفاف أسنان طفلك وسببه.

وبشكل تقليدي، يبدأ العلاج باستخدام تركيب تقويم الأسنان عندما يفقد الطفل معظم الأسنان اللبنية (الأولية) وتبدأ معظم الأسنان البالغة (الدائمة) في النمو — وذلك في الأعمار التي تتراوح من 8 إلى 14 عامًا غالبًا. وإذا كان العلاج ضروريًا خلال هذه الفترة، فقد تستفيد الرعاية الوقائية أو التدخلية من نمو طفلك للحصول على النتيجة المطلوبة أثناء حدوث تطور.

يوصي بعض اختصاصيي تقويم الأسنان بأسلوب التقويم التدخلي الذي يتضمن استخدام أجهزة الأسنان (وهي ليست تقويم الأسنان دائمًا) في سن مبكرة، بينما لا يزال الطفل محتفظًا بمعظم أسنانه اللبنية. وعند بزوغ الأسنان الدائمة بشكل رئيسي لدى الطفل، تبدأ المرحلة الثانية من العلاج، عادةً باستخدام تقويم الأسنان. ويعتقد بعض اختصاصيي تقويم الأسنان أن المرحلة الثانية قد تستغرق مدة أقصر من المدة التقليدية لتركيب تقويم الأسنان إذا تم العلاج في وقتٍ مبكر.

يقول اختصاصيو تقويم الأسنان الذين يفضلون الأسلوب التقليدي إن أسلوب العلاج المكون من مرحلتين يزيد بالفعل من الوقت الكلي — ويزيد في بعض الأحيان من تكاليف — علاج تقويم الأسنان ويتم الحصول على النتائج ذاتها في النهاية. وبالرغم من ذلك، يعتقد اختصاصيو تقويم الأسنان الآخرون أن الإرشاد اللازم لعملية النمو باستخدام أدوات تقويم الأسنان قبل المرحلة الثانية من العلاج، يجعل التقويم أكثر سهولة.

يعتمد أفضل اختيار لكِ ولطفلكِ بشكل كبير على مدى تفاقم المشاكل الخاصة بأسنان طفلك. تحدثي مع طبيب أسنان الطفل أو اختصاصي تقويم الأسنان بشأن أفضل طريقة للمضي في العلاج.

With

توماس جيه ساليناس، طبيب جراحة الأسنان

11/06/2019 See more Expert Answers

اطلع كذلك على

I think my child might need dental braces to straighten her teeth. What's the right age to begin treatment with dental braces?

Answers from Thomas J. Salinas, D.D.S.

It's a good idea to get an orthodontic evaluation by the time a child is 7 years old. An orthodontist is a dentist with additional training, who specializes in aligning and straightening teeth. The best time for your child to get dental braces depends on the severity and the cause of the misalignment of your child's teeth.

Traditionally, treatment with dental braces begins when a child has lost most of his or her baby (primary) teeth, and a majority of his or her adult (permanent) teeth have grown in — usually between the ages of 8 and 14.

Some orthodontists recommend what's called an interceptive approach, which involves the use of dental appliances — not always dental braces — at an earlier age, while a child still has most of his or her baby teeth. Then, when a child has most of his or her adult teeth, a second phase of treatment is started — usually with dental braces. This second phase is thought by some to be shorter than a traditional course of braces if an early treatment has been performed.

Orthodontists who favor the traditional approach say that a two-phase approach to treatment actually increases the total time — and sometimes the expense — of orthodontic treatment with generally similar results. However, other orthodontists believe guidance of growth using dental appliances before the second phase of treatment makes correction easier.

The best choice for you and your child will largely depend on the severity of your child's dental problems. Talk with your child's dentist or orthodontist about the best course of action.

With

Thomas J. Salinas, D.D.S.

May. 21, 2014 See more Expert Answers