إِن لحاسة المذاق أكثر من منفعة واحدة، فهي لا تتيح لك التمتع بشم العطور العديدة وحسب بل تعمل على تحذيرك أيضاً من المخاطر المحتملة كالدخان وتسرب الغاز.

يُمكن أن يكون فقدان القدرة على الشم جزئياً(ضعف القدرة على الشم) أو كلياً (الخُشام)، كما قد يكون مؤقت أو دائم اعتماداً على السبب. ورغم أن فقدان القدرة على الشم نادراً ما يكون عرضاً يشير إِلى مشكلة صحية خطيرة إلا أن ضعف القدرة على الشم لوحده قد يُسبب فقدان الشهية للطعام الذي من المحتمل أن يؤدي إِلى نقص الوزن وسوء التغذية، بل وحتى الاكتئاب.

يُعد الزكام (نزلة البرد) الشائع الذي يترافق مع الاحتقان الأنفي السبب الأكثر شيوعاً وراء الفقدان الجزئي المؤقت لحاسة الشم. ومن الشائع أيضاً انسداد الممرات الأنفية الذي ينجم بشكل خاص عن الزوائد اللحمية أو الكسور الأنفية. ويمكن أن يؤدي التقدم الطبيعي في السن إِلى فقدان حاسة الشم الذي قد يكون تدريجياً أو تاماً أو دائماً.

عادةً ما يُشفى فقدان حاسة الشم الذي ينجم عن الزكام أو الحساسية بانواعها أو التهاب الجيوب الأنفية من تلقاء ذاته بعد مرور بضعة أيام. في حال استمرار فقدان حاسة الشم راجع الطبيب كي يتمكن من استبعاد الحالات المرضية الأكثر خطورة.

ويمكن في بعض الأحيان علاج فقدان حاسة الشم اعتماداً على السبب. وقد يُعطيك الطبيب مضاداً حيوياً لعلاج الالتهاب الجرثومي أو يقوم بإزالة أسباب الانسدادت في الممرات الأنفية.

ويُمكن أن يكون فقدان حاسة الشم في الحالات الأُخرى دائماً. تتعرض بعد بلوغ سن الستين عام على وجه الخصوص لفقدان حاسة الشم أكثر مما سبق.

Jan. 11, 2018

Your sense of smell serves more than one purpose. It not only allows you to enjoy a variety of aromas, but also warns you of potential dangers such as smoke or leaking gas.

Loss of smell can be partial (hyposmia) or complete (anosmia), and may be temporary or permanent, depending on the cause. Although loss of smell is rarely a symptom of a serious condition, even a partial loss of smell could cause you to lose interest in eating, which could possibly lead to weight loss, malnutrition or even depression.

The common cold with nasal congestion is the most common cause for a partial, temporary loss of smell. Obstruction in the nasal passages, particularly from polyps or nasal fractures, also is common. Normal aging also may cause a loss of smell, which may be progressive, becoming complete and permanent.

Loss of smell caused by colds, allergies or sinus infections usually clears up on its own after a few days. If this doesn't happen, consult your doctor so that he or she can rule out more-serious conditions.

Loss of smell can sometimes be treated, depending on the cause. Your doctor can give you an antibiotic to treat a bacterial infection, or remove obstructions that are blocking your nasal passage.

In other cases, loss of smell can be permanent. After age 60, in particular, you're at greater risk of losing your sense of smell.

Nov. 16, 2016