يحدث فرط التعرّق عندما تتعرق أكثر من المتوقع بالنسبة لدرجة الحرارة المحيطة أو مستوى نشاطك أو إجهادك. ويمكن أن يؤدي فرط التعرّق إلى إعاقة أنشطة الحياة اليومية والشعور بالقلق أو الإحراج في المحيط الاجتماعي للمريض.

ويمكن أن يؤثر التعرّق المفرط أو فرط التعرّق على جسمك بالكامل أو على مناطق معينة منه فحسب، كراحة اليد أو باطن القدم أو الإبط أو الوجه. ويُذكر أن النوع الذي يؤثر عادةً على اليدين والقدمين يحدث مرة واحدة كل أسبوع على الأقل، خلال ساعات اليقظة.

إذا لم يكن لفرط التعرق سبب طبي كامن، يُسمى حينئذٍ فرط التعرق الأولي. ويحدث ذلك عندما لا يكون سبب التعرق الزائد ارتفاع درجة الحرارة أو النشاط البدني. وقد يكون فرط التعرق الأولي وراثيًا بشكل جزئي على الأقل.

أما إذا كان التعرق الزائد ناتجًا عن حالة مرضية أخرى، فيُطلَق عليه عندئذٍ فرط التعرق الثانوي.

اطلب الرعاية الطبية الفورية إذا كنت تتعرّق بشدة، مع الشعور بدوار أو ألم في الصدر أو غثيان.

ينبغي الاتصال بالطبيب في حال:

  • التعرّق المفاجئ بشكل أكبر من المعتاد.
  • كان التعرّق يُعيق نظام حياتك اليومي.
  • التعرّق الليلي بدون سبب واضح.
  • تسبب التعرّق في مشكلة نفسية، أو التهرب من اللقاءات الاجتماعية.
June 21, 2018

Excessive sweating is when you sweat more than you might expect based on the surrounding temperature or your activity level or stress. Excessive sweating can disrupt daily activities and cause social anxiety or embarrassment.

Excessive sweating, or hyperhidrosis (hi-pur-hi-DROE-sis), can affect your entire body or just certain areas, particularly your palms, soles, underarms or face. The type that typically affects the hands and feet causes at least one episode a week, during waking hours.

If heavy sweating has no underlying medical cause, it's called primary hyperhidrosis. This type occurs when the nerves responsible for triggering your sweat glands become overactive and call for more perspiration even when it's not needed. Primary hyperhidrosis may be at least partially hereditary.

If the sweating can be attributed to an underlying medical condition, it's called secondary hyperhidrosis.

Call 911 or get emergency medical help

Seek immediate medical attention if your heavy sweating is accompanied by:

  • Chills
  • Lightheadedness
  • Chest pain
  • Nausea
  • A body temperature of 104 F (40 C) or higher

Schedule a doctor's visit

Contact your doctor if you experience any of the following:

  • You suddenly begin to sweat more than usual.
  • Sweating disrupts your daily routine.
  • You experience night sweats for no apparent reason.
Oct. 14, 2015