أنا رجل أبلغ من العمر 46 عامًا ومصاب بمرض السكري من النوع 1. ولقد قبلت مؤخرًا منصبًا جديدًا في شركة محاسبة كبرى، وبالوظيفة مخاطر كبيرة ومواعيد نهائية مهمة. هل توجد أي اقتراحات؟

تهانينا على وظيفتك الجديدة! عندما تقبل تقدمًا مهنيًا ينطوي على مخاطر ومكافآت كبيرة، يمكن أن يكون من الصعب الموازنة بين صحتك ووقتك، ومتطلبات عملك. ومن المهم تذكر هذا التوازن خصيصًا في موقفك، لأنك مصاب بالسكري. لذا إليك بعض التصورات التي قد تساعدك.

  • المستقبل مِلك الكفؤ، والمُركِّز، والمتحفز. إذا كان السكري يخرج عن نطاق السيطرة، فإنه قد يؤدي إلى تبعات محتملة كتضرر العين أو الإصابة بأمراض القلب الوعائي، وتضرر الأعصاب والكلى. ولكن إذا ما راقبت حميتك الغذائية ولياقتك البدنية بعناية، واتبعت النصائح المتعلقة بالطعام والدواء، فستقل أرجحية كون السكري مشكلة كبيرة.

    ورغم أن التالي لا يفرضه القانون، ولكن من الراجح أنها فكرة جيدة أن تخبر المشرف عليك في العمل بأن لديك حالة طبية، وأن تشرح له أنك تتولى إدارتها وتعتني بنفسك.

  • قانون باركنسون. بما أن مسؤولياتك تتكاثر، فهذا القانون مهم. إن العمل يتمدد ليملأ الوقت المخصص له. فإذا كانت لديك 90 دقيقة للإعداد لعرض تقديمي، فالأرجح أنك ستمضي 90 دقيقة في الإعداد للعرض التقديمي. ضع المواعيد النهائية لنفسك، وإلا ستستنفد جميع ساعات استيقاظك في الإعداد.
  • مبدأ باريتو. هذه هي قاعدة 80-20. على سبيل المثال، 80% من الوقت المستغرق في الإعداد لعرض ما هو في الحقيقة هباء أو عبارة عن عملية تحسين، لأن أول 20% من الوقت المستغرق يمكن إنجاز الأمر فيها.

    أو إذا استغرق الأمر 10 ساعات لإعداد عرض تقديمي، فالأرجح أن أول ساعتين قد أثمرتا عن القدر الأكبر من المعلومات، وربما أضافت الساعات الثماني الزائدة القليل من المعلومات.

  • ابق في حارتك. هذه نصيحة موثوقة من مجتمع السباحة والجري. إذا لم تنظر أمامك، وظللت تنظر حولك وتتشتت بمنافسيك أو الجمهور، فإنك ستفقد تركيزك، والأرجح أنك لن تبلي بلاءً حسنًا.

    مثال موجز: دعي راكل أهداف خارجية من جامعة صغيرة في الإقليم الأوسط في الولايات المتحدة لتنفيذ ركلة الفوز بالمباراة في بطولة سوبر بول. ولقد نجح، وتوجه فريقه بعد ذلك لرفع كأس فينس لومباردي. وعندما سُئل عن التركيز والسيطرة والتألق تحت الضغط، علق راكل الكرات بأنه كان محاطًا بإطار من الصفاء والهدوء. فهو لم يسمع تعليقًا واحدًا من الجمهور أو من لاعبي فريقه إلى أن ضج المكان بالتصفيق.

  • التزم بالحياكة. قد لا تقدر السوق الشخص ذو الخبرة العامة. إن تمتع الشخص بالعديد من المواهب هو أمر جيد، ولكن العالم لا يكافئ إلا الخبرة المحدودة والفريدة. اجعل من نفسك شخصًا أساسيًا ولا غنى عنه. اصنع هذه المكانة — ذلك التوجه — الذي لا يولد الشعور بالراحة لأي شخص أن يتعامل معه.

وتذكر دائمًا هذه الكلمات من استشاري الشركات، بيتر دراكر، القائلة: "أفضل الطرق للتنبؤ بالمستقبل هي أن تصنع المستقبل." بوجود هذه الوسائل في صندوق أدواتك، يمكنك بالفعل صنع مستقبل من الصحة والسلام والرخاء.

27/09/2018 See more Expert Answers

I'm a 46-year-old man with type 1 diabetes. I recently accepted a position at a major accounting firm with considerable high-risk and high-profile deadlines. Any suggestions?

Answers from Edward T. Creagan, M.D.

Congratulations on your new appointment! When you accept a professional advancement with high risks and rewards, it can be challenging to balance your health and time with work demands. This balance is especially important to keep in mind in your situation because you have diabetes. So here are a couple of concepts that may help you.

  • The future belongs to the fit, the focused and the motivated. If diabetes gets out of control, it can lead to potential consequences such as eye damage, cardiovascular disease, nerve damage and kidney damage. But, if you carefully monitor your diet and physical fitness, and follow food and medical advice, it's less likely that diabetes will be a major issue.

    Although not required by law, it's probably a good idea to let your supervisor know that you have a medical condition, and explain that you manage it and take care of yourself.

  • Parkinson's law. As your responsibilities mount, this law is crucial. Work expands to fill the allotted time. If you have 90 minutes to prepare a presentation, you'll likely spend 90 minutes preparing the presentation. Set deadlines for yourself, or all of your waking hours will be consumed in preparation.
  • The Pareto principle. This is the 80-20 rule. For example, 80 percent of the time spent preparing for a proposal is essentially fluff or window dressing, because the first 20 percent of time in preparation can really seal the deal.

    Or, if it took 10 hours to prepare a presentation, the first two hours likely provided the bulk of the information and the additional eight hours may have added little information.

  • Stay in your lane. This is sound advice from the swimming and running community. If you don't look straight ahead, and if you look around or become distracted by your competitors or the crowd, you'll lose your focus, and you likely won't do well.

    A case in point: A field goal kicker from a small Midwestern college was called upon for the game winning kick in the Super Bowl. He nailed it, and his team went on to hoist the Vince Lombardi Trophy. When asked about focus, clutch and grace under pressure, the kicker made the comment that he was surrounded in an envelope of absolute serenity and silence. He heard not one comment from the crowd or from his players until the place screamed with applause.

  • Stick to the knitting. The marketplace may not value the generalist. The Renaissance man is a nice topic, but the world may only pay for a narrow, unique expertise. Make yourself indispensible and indisposable. Create that niche — that go-to attitude — that no one feels comfortable tackling.

And always remember the words from the business adviser Peter Drucker: "The best way to predict the future is to create the future." With these tactics in your toolbox, you can indeed create the future of health, peace and prosperity.

With

Edward T. Creagan, M.D.

Follow on Twitter: @EdwardCreagan

Aug. 24, 2017 See more Expert Answers