أطلب الدعم لبلوغ أهدافك

أثناء قيامك بتغييرات صحية في نمط حياتك ستواجهك تحديات. بغض النظر عما تواجهه فإن طلب الدعم يمكنه صنع الفارق بين بلوغ أهدافك — من عدمه.

By إيمي إم شارلاند

من المحتم عند إجرائك تغييرات في نمط حياتك الصحي أن تطرأ بعض التحديات كالمرض أو المرور بضائقة مالية أو التغيرات المهنية أو مشكلات في العلاقات. أو ربما تجد صعوبات في الالتزام بخطتك للأكل الصحي أو الحفاظ على حماسك لممارسة الرياضة. وأيًا كان ما تواجه، فلست مضطرًا لمواجهة اللحظات الصعبة وحدك. فقد يكون الفارق بين تحقيق أهدافك وعدمه طلب المساعدة خلال أوقات محاولتك. فلم لا تطلب المساعدة؟ تلك علامة على القوة، لا الضعف.

يمكن لطلب الدعم أن يفيدك فيما يلي:

  • الحفاظ على طاقتك. يستهلك التغيير الكثير من الطاقة. وقد ينضب مخزونك منها بسهولة إن تحملت كل ما تمر به وحدك. عندما تنخفض طاقتك، فاشحنها مرة أخرى بطلب الدعم. لا تخف من طلب معروف من أحدهم، وخاصةً إن كان ذلك سيساعدك في الاستمرار في طريقك.
  • الحفاظ على اتّقاد حماسك. عندما تواجه عقبة ما في سبيل التغييرات الصحية، فيقد يساورك الشك فيما إذا كان ما تأمل فيه يستحق هذا المجهود بالفعل أم لا. ومن شأن وجود شبكة دعم إيجابية وقوية أن يدفعك إلى المضي قدمًا في تلك الأوقات وأن يذكرك بسبب عملك جاهدًا من أجل التغيير.
  • مشاركة السعادة. تؤدي مشاركة المواهب ومواطن القوة مع الآخرين إلى زيادة شعورك بالسعادة. لذلك أتح الفرصة للآخرين في حياتك لاستخدام مواهبهم لدعمك فسيُشعرهم ذلك بالسعادة كذلك.
  • بناء علاقات مع الآخرين. يرى الباحثون أننا عندما نمنح أنفسنا فرصة للتعبير عن ضعفنا يجعلنا هذا أقرب لبناء العلاقات مع الآخرين. وعندما تطلب الدعم، فإنك بذلك تمنح الآخرين فرصة للوجود في حياتك ومن ثم تبني علاقات معهم. ففطرة الإنسان تدفعه إلى بناء جسور علاقات مع غيره.
  • بلوغ أهدافك. يساعدك طلب الدعم في زيادة مواردك، خاصةً خلال الأوقات الصعبة التي تسهل فيها عرقلتك عن أهدافك. امنح شبكة دعمك الفرصة لإبقائك على المسار الصحيح المؤدي إلى النجاح. وقد يساعدك الاطلاع على الأمر من وجهة نظر خارجية في اكتشاف فكرة لم تفكر فيها من قبل أو منحك الحماس في أكثر أوقات حاجتك له.

والحقيقة أنه لا يوجد من يستطيع فعل ذلك وحده. فجميعنا يحتاج للدعم بين الحين والآخر. ومفتاح ذلك هو معرفة نوع ما تحتاجه من دعم، ومتى ينبغي أن تطلبه، وممن ينبغي أن تطلبه. تذكّر هذا دائمًا وتذكر معه شعورك بالامتنان، وتذكّر أنك ستحصل على الدعم الذي تحتاج له في وقت حاجتك.

التجارب

  1. خذي فترة استراحة لاحتساء القهوة قهوة مع صديقة أو الحديث مع جارة لك أو شخص آخر ترينه باستمرار. فالتواصل مع الآخرين خطوة أولى رائعة للعثور على أشخاص يمكنك الاعتماد عليهم.
  2. اتصلي بأحد أفراد الأسرة أو صديقة تثقين بها وتحترمينها. ثقي بهم ودعيهم يعرفوا كيف يمكنهم دعمك في التحدي الذي تواجهينه. قد تفاجئك ردودهم الصريحة والودودة.
  3. حددي موعدًا مع طبيب أو مستشار أو معالج معتمد للتحدث عن مخاوفك وأوجه قلقك وأهدافك. فطلب الحصول على مساعدة متخصصة شيءٌ لا يُخجل منه.
19/08/2020 انظر المزيد من التفاصيل الشاملة

Ask for support to achieve your health goals

As you make healthy lifestyle changes, challenges will come up. No matter what you're dealing with, seeking support can make the difference between reaching your goals — or not.

By Amy M. Charland

As you make healthy lifestyle changes, it's inevitable that challenges, such as an illness, financial dip, career change or relationship conflict, will come up. Or perhaps you're struggling to stick with your healthy-eating plan or stay motivated to exercise. No matter what you're dealing with, you don't have to face difficult moments alone. Seeking support during trying times can make the difference between reaching your goals — or not. So why not ask for help? It's a sign of strength, not weakness.

Asking for support can help you:

  • Stay energized. Change takes a lot of energy. Your reserves can be depleted easily if you take everything on by yourself. When your energy is low, fill up your tank by reaching out for support. Don't be scared to ask for favors, especially if this will help you stay on track.
  • Keep your motivation alive. When you hit a roadblock on your journey to making healthy changes, it can be easy to start wondering if it's really worth the effort. A positive and strong support network can lift you up during these times and remind you of why you're working so hard to change.
  • Share the gift of happiness. When you share your talents and strengths with others, you tend to be happier. So allow others in your life to use their talents to support you — it will make them feel good, too.
  • Create connections. Research suggests that when we allow ourselves to be vulnerable, we become "relatable." When you ask for support, you let others in and create connections. Humans are wired to want to connect with others.
  • Reach your goals. By seeking support, you increase your resources, especially during challenging times when you could easily become derailed. Let your support network keep you on the track to success. Getting an outsider's perspective may help you recognize an idea you haven't considered before or give you motivation at a time you need it most.

The truth is that no one can do it alone. We all need backup from time to time. The key is to know what type of support you need, when to ask for support and who to ask. Keep this in mind, along with a sense of gratitude, and you'll get the support you need when you need it.

Experiments

  1. Take a coffee break with a colleague, or strike up a conversation with a neighbor or someone else you see on a regular basis. Connecting with others is a great first step to finding people you can lean on.
  2. Call a family member or friend you trust and respect. Confide in them and let them know how they can support you through the challenge you're facing. You might be surprised at their open and warm response.
  3. Make an appointment with a doctor, counselor or licensed therapist to talk out your concerns, anxieties and goals. Seeking professional help is nothing to be ashamed of.
Dec. 07, 2016 See more In-depth