المكمِّلات الغذائية وما يجب معرفته قبل الشراء

المكملات الغذائية: المعلومات المهمة

يُعد استخدام المنتجات الطبيعية لتحسين الحالة الصحية ممارسة تقليدية عتيقة. فد استخدمت الثقافات الكبيرة من ممالك الآزتك وحتى السلت والهان الأعشاب الطبية والمكملات الغذائية لعلاج الأمراض وزيادة الصحة الجيدة.

واليوم أيضًا، تُعد المكملات الغذائية شكلاً شائعًا من تعزيز الصحة، بما في ذلك الولايات المتحدة. وتشير البيانات الحديثة إلى أن أمريكيًا من بين كل اثنين أمريكيين تقريبًا يستخدم المكملات الغذائية في مرحلة ما، وهو الرقم الذي يزيد بشكل ثابت خلال العقود الثلاثة أو الأربعة الماضية. ومن بين الذين يتناولون المكملات الغذائية، 80 بالمائة غالبًا يتناولونها يوميًا. كما أن الفيتامينات المتعددة أو المكملات الغذائية من المعادن الأشيع استخدامًا. وتتضمن المنتجات الطبيعية الأخرى التي يشيع استخدامها، زيت السمك والجلوكوزامين، والبروبيوتك، ومجموعة متنوعة من الأعشاب والمستخلصات النباتية.

ويتناول الأفراد المكملات الغذائية لأنهم يعتقدون أن هذا يساعد على الحصول على صحة أفضل. ويثقون في أن كمية المكملات الغذائية من الفيتامين أو المعادن أو الأعشان تساعد على الوقاية من الأمراض وتحسين العلاج، بما في ذلك التهاب المفاصل وهشاشة العظام والعدوى ومشكلات الجهاز المناعي ونزلات البرد أيضًا.

وإلى جانب الفوائد التي توجد في المكملات الغذائية، توجد بعض المخاطر أيضًا والتي يكون بعضها خطيرًا للغاية. فقد تحدث المشكلات عندما يجد الأشخاص وصفة تقول "إذا كان طبيعيًا، يجب أن يكون آمنًا: أو "إذا فاد القليل، فقد يفيد الكثير بدرجة أكبر". كما أن الاستخدام دون تمييز للمكملات الغذائية يمكن أن يشكِّل مخاطر صحية. على سبيل المثال، يمكن لاستخدام مستخلصات الأعشاب دون معلومات ملائمة حولها ومراقبة موفر الرعاية الصحية أن يكون خطرًا على الصحة.

ولو كانت بعض المكملات الغذائية ثبت أنها مفيدة بالفعل، لا سيما عند استخدامها مع الطب الحديث. وبالرغم من أن المكملات الغذائية لا يمكن أن تحل محل النظام الغذائي المتوازن أو السلوكيات الصحية، يمكن أن تكون جزءًا من خطة الصحة العامة، ولكن عند استخدامها بحكمة.

وعندما يتعلق الأمر بتناول المكملات الغذائية، من الأهمية البالغة أن يكون الشخص مستهلكًا مثقفًا واعيًا. ينبغي أن يعرف الشخص لماذا يستخدم المكمل الغذائي تحديدًا وما الفوائد التي يمكن أن يحققها. يمكن سؤال موفر الرعاية الصحية أو الصيدلي حول المساعدة على اختيار مكمل غذائي يتلاءم بشكل مثالي مع الاحتياجات الخاصة. وكذلك، يمكن تعلم كيفية تمييز الملصقات التعريفية وتحديد المنتجات التي يترجح أن تكون عالية الجودة.

21/12/2019 انظر المزيد من التفاصيل الشاملة

اطلع كذلك على

  1. Add flax to your baking
  2. Are you getting enough calcium?
  3. Calcium: Building better bones
  4. Calcium
  5. Calcium supplements for men
  6. Timing calcium supplements
  7. Can low vitamin D cause high blood pressure?
  8. COVID-19 and vitamin D
  9. Can vitamins help prevent a heart attack?
  10. Can zinc supplements help treat hidradenitis suppurativa?
  11. Dietary supplements: Skip megadoses
  12. Vitamin C and mood
  13. Eye vitamins: Can they prevent or treat glaucoma?
  14. Fiber supplements
  15. Flaxseed best when ground
  16. Flaxseed for breakfast?
  17. Ground flaxseed
  18. Heartburn medicines and B-12 deficiency
  19. Herbal supplements
  20. Integrative medicine: Different techniques, one goal
  21. Kratom and pregnancy: Not a safe mix
  22. Multivitamins for kids
  23. Nutrition: Does it come in a pill?
  24. Nutrition know-how: Why whole food counts
  25. Percent Daily Value
  26. Prebiotics, probiotics and your health
  27. Prenatal vitamins
  28. Magnesium supplements
  29. Nutritional supplements
  30. Are dietary supplements right for you?
  31. Bromelain
  32. Calories and nutrients to fuel sports performance
  33. Curcumin
  34. Is your dietary supplement safe?
  35. Melatonin
  36. Smart practices for healthy living
  37. Tips for staying supplement savvy
  38. What are omega-3 fatty acids from fish oil?
  39. What are probiotics?
  40. What are multivitamin/mineral dietary supplements?
  41. What is Boswellia?
  42. What is ginger?
  43. What is whey protein?
  44. Vitamin C megadoses
  45. Vitamin C: An essential nutrient
  46. Vitamin D and MS: Any connection?
  47. Vitamin D: Can it prevent Alzheimer's & dementia?
  48. Vitamin D deficiency
  49. Vitamin D: Essential with calcium
  50. Vitamin D for babies
  51. Vitamin D toxicity
  52. Vitamins for MS: Do supplements make a difference?
  53. What does a 'seal of approval' mean?
  54. Wheatgrass

Dietary supplements: What to know before you buy

Dietary supplements: What to know

Using natural products to promote health is an age-old practice. Major cultures from Aztec to Celt to Han dynasty have used medicinal herbs and supplements to cure ills and increase well-being.

Even today, supplements are a popular form of health enhancement, including within the United States. Recent data show that roughly one of every two Americans has used a dietary supplement at some point, a figure that has grown steadily over the past three to four decades. Of those who take supplements, almost 80 percent do so daily. Multivitamin or mineral supplements are the most popular. Other natural products that are commonly used include fish oil, glucosamine, probiotics, and a variety of herb and plant extracts.

People take supplements because they believe doing so will help them be healthier. They trust that a supplemental amount of a vitamin, mineral or herb will help prevent or improve illnesses, including arthritis, osteoporosis, infections, immune system problems and even the common cold.

Along with potential benefits, supplements also can carry risks, and some can be dangerous. Problems may arise when people have perceptions such as "If it's natural, it must be safe" or "If a little is good for you, a lot must be great." Indiscriminate use of supplements can pose health risks. For instance, use of an herbal extract without proper information and monitoring by a health care provider can be unsafe.

That said, some supplements have indeed proved helpful, especially when used in conjunction with modern medicine. While supplements can't replace a balanced diet or other healthy behaviors, they can be part of an overall wellness plan, if used wisely.

When it comes to taking dietary supplements, it's crucial to be an educated consumer. Know specifically why you're taking a supplement and how it should help you. Ask your health care provider or pharmacist for help choosing a supplement that best suits your needs. And learn how to discern labels and determine which products are most likely to be of high quality.

Aug. 04, 2016 See more In-depth