ما أهمية وقت البطن للطفل الرضيع؟

إجابة من جاي إل هويكر، (دكتور في الطب)

وقت البطن — وضع الطفل الرضيع على معدته فقط أثناء استيقاظه والإشراف عليه — من شأنه أن يساعد في نمو عضلات رقبة وكتف قوية لدى الطفل وأن يعزز من مهارات الحركة لديه. كما أن وقت البطن من شأنه أن يحول دون أن نمو الأماكن المستوية (الرأس الوارب الموضعي) في الجزء الخلفي لرأس طفلك.

إذا تُركت رأس الطفل الرضيع في الموضع نفسه لفترات زمنية طويلة، فقد تتحرك صفيحة عظم الجمجمة بطريقة تخلق مكانًا مستويًا. بينما يوصى بوضع طفلك الرضيع على ظهره للنوم لتقليل خطر الإصابة بمتلازمة موت الرضيع الفجائي (SIDS)، فإن وقت البطن يتيح للرضيع الفرصة لتجربة موضع مختلف. يمكن أن يقلل ذلك من خطر الإصابة بالأماكن المستوية.

كما يمكن للوقت أن يساعد طفلك الرضيع في بناء القوة اللازمة للجلوس والتقلب والزحف والمشي.

ابدئي وقت البطن عن طريق فرد بطانية في منطقة نظيفة. بعد تغيير الحفاضة أو القيلولة، اجعلي طفلِك ينام على معدته فوق البطانية لمدة من ثلاث إلى خمس دقائق. حاولي إجراء ذلك من مرتين إلى ثلاث مرات يوميًا. وبينما يعتاد طفلِك على وقت البطن، اجعليه ينام على معدته لفترات أكثر تكرارًا أو لفترات زمنية أطول. يمكنكِ ترتيب وضع ألعاب مناسبة لعمره في متناول يده.

تذكري أنه يجب أن تكوني أنتِ وطفلك مستيقظان خلال هذا الوقت. لا تدعي مطلقًا طفلِك دون إشراف خلال وقت البطن.

11/06/2019 See more Expert Answers

What's the importance of tummy time for a baby?

Answers from Jay L. Hoecker, M.D.

Tummy time — placing a baby on his or her stomach only while awake and supervised — can help your baby develop strong neck and shoulder muscles and promote motor skills. Tummy time can also prevent the back of your baby's head from developing flat spots (positional plagiocephaly).

If a baby's head is left in the same position for long periods of time, the skull bone plates might move in a way that creates a flat spot. While it's recommended that you place your baby on his or her back to sleep to reduce the risk of sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS), tummy time gives a baby the chance to experience a different position. This can help reduce the risk of flat spots.

Tummy time can also help your baby build strength needed for sitting up, rolling over, crawling and walking.

Start tummy time by spreading out a blanket in a clear area. After a diaper change or nap, place your baby on his or her stomach on the blanket for three to five minutes. Try doing this two to three times a day. As your baby gets used to tummy time, place your baby on his or her stomach more frequently or for longer periods of time. You might arrange age-appropriate toys within his or her reach.

Remember, however, that both you and your baby should be awake during this time. Never leave your baby unattended during tummy time.

Aug. 29, 2017 See more Expert Answers