تعد المباعدة بين فترات الحمل جزءًا أساسيًا من تنظيم الأسرة. حاولي فهم أهمية المباعدة بين فترات الحمل والعوامل التي ينبغي مراعاتها قبل التفكير في الحمل مرة أخرى.

By Mayo Clinic Staff

هل تفكِّرين في إنجاب طفل آخر؟ قد تؤثر المباعدة بين فترات الحمل على أكثر من مجرد تقارب المراحل العمرية لأطفالك. فيما يلي ما تحتاجين إلى معرفته.

إن معرفة ما إذا كنتِ ترغبين أو لا ترغبين في إنجاب أطفال في السنوات القليلة التالية يمكن أن يساعدكِ وزوجكِ على الاستعداد للحمل أو اختيار وسائل منع الحمل المناسبة لكِ.

إن كنتما أبوين بالفعل، فإن تنظيم الأسرة سيكون له أهمية خاصة. فإنجاب طفل آخر سيؤدي إلى تغيير حياة الأسرة كلها. فهل أنتِ وزوجكِ مستعدان لرعاية مولود جديد مرة أخرى؟ وما رد فعل الطفل الآخر أو الأطفال الآخرين حيال مشاركة اهتمامك من قِبل طفل آخر؟

توقيت حملكِ مهم كذلك. بينما قد يكون لديكِ وزوجكِ تفضيلات بخصوص رغبة كل منكما في مدى تقارب عمر أطفالكما، فإن بعض الأبحاث تشير إلى أن الطريقة التي تباعدان بها بين مرات الحمل يمكن أن تؤثر على الأم والطفل.

تفيد الأبحاث أن حدوث حمل في غضون فترة ستة أشهر بعد الإنجاب يكون مصحوبًا بمخاطر متزايدة تتمثل في:

  • الولادة المبكرة
  • انفصال المشيمة عن الجدار الداخلي للرحم قبل الولادة (انفكاك المشيمة) إما بشكل كامل أو جزئي
  • انخفاض الوزن عند الولادة
  • الاضطرابات الخلقية
  • فصام الشخصية
  • فقر دم الأم

إضافة إلى ذلك تشير إحدى الدراسات الحديثة إلى أن الحمل على فترات زمنية متقاربة يمكن أن يقترن بارتفاع مخاطر الإصابة بالتوحد في الطفل الثاني. وترتفع المخاطر إلى أقصى حد في الحمل الذي يفصل بينه وبين حمل آخر فترة زمنية أقل من 12 شهرًا.

ففترات الحمل المتقاربة قد لا تعطي الأم وقتًا كافيًا للتعافي من آثار الحمل قبل المضي قدمًا في حمل آخر. فعلى سبيل المثال: يمكن لكل من الحمل والرضاعة الطبيعية استنزاف مخزون العناصر المغذية التي لديك، وبالأخص الفولات. فإذا أصبحتِ حاملًا قبل تعويض هذا المخزون، فقد يؤثر الحمل على صحتك أو على صحة طفلك. وقد يكون لالتهاب الجهاز التناسلي، الذي يحدث خلال فترة الحمل ولا يلتئم التئامًا كاملًا قبل حدوث الحمل التالي، دور مؤثر كذلك.

تشير بعض الأبحاث أيضًا إلى أن الفترات الطويلة بين حالات الحمل تسبب مخاوف بالنسبة للأمهات والأطفال، مثل زيادة خطر الإصابة بمقدمات الارتعاج لدى النساء اللاتي ليس لديهن تاريخ للحالة.

وما زال السبب وراء المشكلات الصحية الناتجة عن طول المباعدة بين فترات الحمل غامضًا. من الممكن أن يكون الحمل مسؤولًا عن تحسين قدرة الرحم على تعزيز نمو الجنين ودعمه، ولكن بمرور الوقت تتلاشى هذه التغيرات الجسدية المفيدة.

لتقليل مخاطر مضاعفات الحمل والمشاكل الصحية الأخرى، تقترح الأبحاث الانتظار من 18 إلى 24 شهرًا، ولكن بعد أقل من خمس سنوات من الولادة المباشرة قبل محاولة الحمل التالي. لموازنة المخاوف بشأن العقم، قد تفكر السيدات اللاتي يتجاوز عمرهن 35 عامًا في الانتظار 12 شهرًا قبل الحمل مرة أخرى.

لا تنطبق المخاطر والتوصيات على الزوجات اللاتي تعرضن للإجهاض التلقائي. إذا كنتِ بصحة جيدة وشعرتي بأنكِ جاهزة، فلا داعي لتأجيل الحمل بعد الإجهاض التلقائي.

اختيار موعد إنجاب طفل آخر هو قرار شخصي. عند التخطيط للحمل القادم، قد تضعين في عين الاعتبار أنتِ وشريككِ عوامل مختلفة بالإضافة إلى المخاطر والفوائد الصحية. حتى تتخذي قرارًا بشأن موعد إنجاب طفل آخر، استخدمي طريقة موثوقة لتنظيم النسل.

إنجاب طفل جديد ليس له وقت مثالي محدد. ولا يمكنك دائمًا التحكم في موعد حدوث الحمل حتى مع التخطيط بعناية. ومع ذلك، فإن كلًّا من مناقشة خيارات تنظيم النسل حتى تكوني مستعدة له، وفهم المخاطر المصاحبة لتوقيت الحمل قد يساعدانك على اتخاذ قرار مستنير بشأن التفكير في إنجاب مزيد من الأطفال.

May 07, 2020

Pregnancy spacing is an essential part of family planning. Understand the importance of pregnancy spacing and what factors to consider before you conceive again.

By Mayo Clinic Staff

Considering having another child? Pregnancy spacing can affect more than how close your children are in age. Here's what you need to know.

Knowing whether you do or don't want to have children in the next few years can help you and your partner prepare for conception or choose appropriate contraception.

If you're already parents, family planning takes on new meaning. Having another child will change your family's lives. Are you and your partner ready to take care of a newborn again? How will your other child or children react to sharing your attention with a new baby?

The timing of your pregnancies is important, too. While you and your partner might have preferences about how close in age you'd like your children to be, some research shows that how you space your pregnancies can affect mother and baby.

Research suggests that beginning a pregnancy within six months of a live birth is associated with an increased risk of:

  • Premature birth
  • The placenta partially or completely peeling away from the inner wall of the uterus before delivery (placental abruption)
  • Low birth weight
  • Congenital disorders
  • Schizophrenia

In addition, recent research suggests that a pregnancy within less than two years of a live birth might be associated with an increased risk of autism in second-born children. The risk is highest for pregnancies spaced less than 12 months apart.

Closely spaced pregnancies might not give a mother enough time to recover from pregnancy before moving on to the next. For example, pregnancy and breast-feeding can deplete your stores of nutrients, particularly folate and iron. If you become pregnant before replacing those stores, it could affect your health or your baby's health. Inflammation of the genital tract that develops during pregnancy and doesn't completely heal before the next pregnancy could also play a role.

Some research also suggests that long intervals between pregnancies pose concerns for mothers and babies. A pregnancy five years or more after giving birth is associated with an increased risk of high blood pressure and signs of damage to another organ system, often the kidneys (preeclampsia).

It's not clear why long pregnancy intervals might cause health problems. It's possible that pregnancy improves uterine capacity to promote fetal growth and support, but that over time these beneficial physiological changes disappear. Unmeasured factors, such as maternal illnesses, might play a role too.

To reduce the risk of pregnancy complications and other health problems, research suggests waiting 18 to 24 months but less than five years after a live birth before attempting your next pregnancy. Balancing concerns about infertility, women older than 35 might consider waiting 12 months before becoming pregnant again.

The risks and recommendations don't apply to couples who have had a miscarriage. If you're healthy and feel ready, there might be no need to wait to conceive after miscarriage.

Choosing when to have another baby is a personal decision. When planning your next pregnancy, you and your partner might consider various factors in addition to the health risks and benefits. Until you make a decision about when to have another child, use a reliable method of birth control.

There's no perfect time to have another baby. Even with careful planning, you can't always control when conception happens. However, understanding the risks associated with timing your pregnancies too close together or too far apart can help you make an informed decision about when to grow your family.

Feb. 25, 2017