التشخيص

عندما يعضك حيوان مصاب بداء الكلب، فلا توجد طريقة لمعرفة ما إذا كان الحيوان قد ينقل فيروس داء الكلب لك. لهذا السبب، ينصح بالعلاج لمنع فيروس داء الكلب من إصابة جسمك إذا كان الطبيب يعتقد أن هناك فرصة لأن تكون قد تعرضت للفيروس.

العلاج

لا يوجد علاج فعَّال في حال التشخيص بعدوى داء الكلب، وعلى الرغم من نجاة عدد قليل ممن أصيب به، فإن داء الكلب يظل من الأمراض المميتة عادةً، ولهذا السبب إذا كنتَ تعتقد أنك تعرضَّت للإصابة به، يجب عليك الحصول على مجموعة متلاحقةٍ من اللقاحات لمنع ترسُّخ العدوى.

علاج الأشخاص الذين تعرضوا للعض من حيوانات مصابة بداء الكلب

إن عضَّك حيوان ما معروف أنه مصاب بداء الكلب، فستتلقَّى مجموعة من الحقن لمنع انتقال العدوى الفيروسية إليك. إن لم يُعثَر على الحيوان، فرُبما من الأسلم افتراض أنَّ لديه داء الكلب. لكن هذا يعتمد على عدة عوامل، مثل نوع الحيوان، والموقف الذي حدثت فيه العضة.

تتضمَّن مجموعة الحقن المُعالِجة لداء الكلب ما يلي:

  • حقنة سريعة المفعول (الجلوبيولين المناعي لداء الكلب) لمنع إصابتك بالعدوى الفيروسية. يُعطَى جزء من هذه الحقن بالقرب من موضع عضة الحيوان إن أمكن، وفي أقرب وقت ممكن بعد العضة.
  • سلسلة من لقاحات داء الكلب لمساعدة جسمك على التعرُّف على فيروس داء الكلب ومكافحته. تُحقَن لقاحات داء الكلب في الذراع. تتلقَّى أربع حقن على مدار 14 يومًا.

تحديد ما إذا كان الحيوان الذي عضك مصابًا بداء السعار أم لا

في بعض الحالات، من الممكن تحديد ما إذا كان الحيوان الذي عضَّكَ مُصابًا بالسُّعار أم لا قبل بَدْء تَلَقِّي سلسلة الطعوم بطريق الحَقْن لداء السعار. وبهذه الطريقة، إذا اكتَشَفْتَ أن الحيوان سليم، فلن تحتاج إلى تَلَقِّي هذه الحقن.

تختلف إجراءات تحديد ما إذا كان الحيوان مُصابًا بداء السعار أم لا حسب الحالة. على سبيل المثال:

  • الحيوانات الأليفة وحيوانات المزرعة. يُمكن ملاحظة القِطَط والكلاب والقوارض التي عَضَّتْ شخصًا لمدة 10 أيام لمعرفة ما إذا كانت تظهر عليها مؤشرات وأعراض داء السُّعار أم لا. إذا ظلَّ الحيوان الذي عضَّكَ سليمًا في أثناء فترة الملاحظة، فإنه ليس مُصابًا بداء السُّعار، فلن تحتاج إلى تَلَقِّي الحُقَن المضادة لداء السُّعار.

    يُنظر في فحص الحيوانات الأليفة وحيوانات المزارع الأخرى على أساس كل حالة على حدة. تحدَّثْ مع طبيبكَ ومُوظَّفِي الصحة العامة المحلِّيِّين لتحديد ما إذا كان يَجِب أن تتلقّىَ الحقن المضادَّة لداء السُّعار أم لا.

  • الحيوانات البرية التي يُمكن اصطيادها. الحيوانات البرية التي يُمكن البحث عنها وأَسْرُها، مثل الوطواط الذي يدخل في منزلك، يُمكِن قَتْلُها وفَحْصُها للكَشْف عن داء السُّعار. قد تكشف الاختبارات التي تُجرَى على دماغ الحيوان الإصابة بفيروس السُّعار. إذا كان الحيوان غير مصاب بداء السعار، فلن تحتاج إلى الحقن.
  • الحيوانات التي لا يُمكن العثور عليها. إذا كان لا يُمكِن العُثور على الحيوان الذي عضَّكَ، فناقِشِ الحالة مع طبيبكَ وقِسْم الصحة المَحَلِّي. في بعض الحالات، افتراض أن الحيوان مُصاب بداء السُّعار واستئناف تَلَقِّي الحقن المضادة لداء السُّعار قد تكون أَسْلَمَ طريقة. في الحالات الأخرى، قد لا يُرجَّح أن الحيوان الذي عضَّكَ مُصاب بداء السُّعار، وقد يتمُّ تقرير أن الحقن المضادة لداء السُّعار غير ضرورية.

الاستعداد لموعدك

إذا لدغك حيوان، فاطلب الرعاية الطبية للجُرح. أخبر طبيبك أيضًا عن ظروف إصابتك. سيسألك الطبيب الأسئلة التالية:

  • ما الحيوان الذي لدغك؟
  • هل كان حيوانًا بريًّا أم حيوانًا أليفًا؟
  • إذا كان حيوانًا أليفًا، هل تعرف صاحبه؟ هل تَلقَّى تطعيماته؟
  • هل يُمكنك وصف سلوك الحيوان قبل أن يلدغك؟ هل كان الحيوان هائجًا؟
  • هل كنت قادرًا على اصطياد الحيوان أو قتله بعد أن لدغك؟

ما الذي يمكنك القيام به في هذه الأثناء

اغسل جرحك بلُطف وبعناية بالصابون وبكميات وفيرة من الماء. وقد يساعد ذلك في طرد الفيروس.

إن أمكن لجم الحيوان أو القبض عليه دون التسبب في المزيد من الإصابات، فقم بذلك. لا تقتل الحين بخبطة أو طلقة في الرأس، حيث إن الإصابات الناتجة عن ذلك قد تصعّب إجراء الاختبارات المعملية لتحديد ما إذا كان الحيوان مصابًا بالسعار.

أبلغ طبيبك أنك قبضت على الحيوان الذي عضك. ويمكن لطبيبك حينذاك أن يتصل بالإدارة الصحية المحلية لتحديد ما ينبغي القيام به مع الحيوان.

02/11/2021
  1. Rabies. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/rabies/. Accessed Aug. 10, 2021.
  2. AskMayoExpert. Rabies. Mayo Clinic; 2021.
  3. Rabies. Elsevier Point of Care. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Aug. 10, 2021.
  4. Rabies vaccine information statements. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. http://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/hcp/vis/vis-statements/rabies.html. Accessed Aug. 10, 2021.
  5. Bennett JE, et al. Rabies (Rhabdoviruses). In: Mandell, Douglas, and Bennett's Principles and Practice of Infectious Diseases. 9th ed. Elsevier; 2020. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Aug. 10, 2021.
  6. Jameson JL, et al., eds. Rabies and other rhabdovirus infections. In: Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine. 20th ed. McGraw Hill; 2018. https://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com. Accessed Aug. 10, 2021.

Diagnosis

At the time a rabid animal bites you, there's no way to know whether the animal has transmitted the rabies virus to you. For this reason, treatment to prevent the rabies virus from infecting your body is recommended if the doctor thinks there's a chance you have been exposed to the virus.

Treatment

Once a rabies infection is established, there's no effective treatment. Though a small number of people have survived rabies, the disease is usually fatal. For that reason, if you think you've been exposed to rabies, you must get a series of shots to prevent the infection from taking hold.

Treatment for people bitten by animals with rabies

If you've been bitten by an animal that is known to have rabies, you'll receive a series of shots to prevent the rabies virus from infecting you. If the animal that bit you can't be found, it may be safest to assume that the animal has rabies. But this will depend on several factors, such as the type of animal and the situation in which the bite occurred.

Rabies shots include:

  • A fast-acting shot (rabies immune globulin) to prevent the virus from infecting you. Part of this injection is given near the area where the animal bit you if possible, as soon as possible after the bite.
  • A series of rabies vaccines to help your body learn to identify and fight the rabies virus. Rabies vaccines are given as injections in your arm. You receive four injections over 14 days.

Determining whether the animal that bit you has rabies

In some cases, it's possible to determine whether the animal that bit you has rabies before beginning the series of rabies shots. That way, if it's determined the animal is healthy, you won't need the shots.

Procedures for determining whether an animal has rabies vary by situation. For instance:

  • Pets and farm animals. Cats, dogs and ferrets that bite can be observed for 10 days to see if they show signs and symptoms of rabies. If the animal that bit you remains healthy during the observation period, then it doesn't have rabies and you won't need rabies shots. Other pets and farm animals are considered on a case-by-case basis. Talk to your doctor and local public health officials to determine whether you should receive rabies shots.
  • Wild animals that can be caught. Wild animals that can be found and captured, such as a bat that came into your home, can be killed and tested for rabies. Tests on the animal's brain may reveal the rabies virus. If the animal doesn't have rabies, you won't need the shots.
  • Animals that can't be found. If the animal that bit you can't be found, discuss the situation with your doctor and the local health department. In certain cases, it may be safest to assume that the animal had rabies and proceed with the rabies shots. In other cases, it may be unlikely that the animal that bit you had rabies and it may be determined that rabies shots aren't necessary.

Preparing for your appointment

If an animal bites you, seek medical attention for the wound. Also tell the doctor about the circumstances of your injury. The doctor will ask:

  • What animal bit you?
  • Was it a wild animal or a pet?
  • If it was a pet, do you know to whom the animal belongs? Was it vaccinated?
  • Can you describe the animal's behavior before it bit you? Was the animal provoked?
  • Were you able to capture or kill the animal after it bit you?

What you can do in the meantime

Wash your wound gently and thoroughly with soap and generous amounts of water. This may help wash away the virus.

If the animal that bit you can be contained or captured without causing more injury, do so. Do not kill the animal with a blow or a shot to the head, as the resulting injuries may make it difficult to perform laboratory tests to determine whether the animal has rabies.

Tell your doctor that you have captured the animal that bit you. Your doctor may then contact the local health department to determine what to do with the animal.

Nov. 04, 2016
References
  1. Ferri FF. Rabies. In: Ferri's Clinical Advisor 2017. Philadelphia, Pa.: Elsevier; 2017. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Aug. 24, 2016.
  2. Longo DL, et al., eds. Rabies and other rhabdovirus infections. In: Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine. 19th ed. New York, N.Y.: McGraw-Hill Education; 2015. http://accessmedicine.com. Accessed Aug. 24, 2016.
  3. AskMayoExpert. Rabies. Rochester, Minn.: Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research; 2015.
  4. Rabies. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. http://www.cdc.gov/rabies/. Accessed Aug. 24, 2016.
  5. Papadakis MA, et al., eds. Viral and rickettsial infections. In: Current Medical Diagnosis & Treatment 2017. 56th ed. New York, N.Y.: The McGraw-Hill Companies; 2017. http://www.accessmedicine.com. Accessed Aug. 24, 2016.
  6. Rabies vaccine information statements. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. http://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/hcp/vis/vis-statements/rabies.html. Accessed Aug. 24, 2016.