هل اختياري للعلاج الأولي لسرطان البروستاتا الذي أصابني يستبعد علاجات أخرى لاحقًا؟

بالنسبة لمعظم علاجات سرطان البروستاتا الأولية، تكون الإجابة بالنفي. فعلى سبيل المثال، إذا كان العلاج الأولي هو جراحة استئصال البروستاتا، فقد تكون المعالجة الإشعاعية والعلاج الهرموني خيارين متاحين لك لاحقًا عند الضرورة.

ولكن إذا اخترت المعالجة الإشعاعية أو العلاج بالبرودة (العلاج بالتبريد) كعلاج أولي، فقد لا تكون الجراحة متاحة لاحقًا بسبب خطر المضاعفات.

تتسبب المعالجة الإشعاعية والعلاج بالتبريد في إحداث تغيرات في البروستاتا والأنسجة المحيطة بها مما يجعل اللجوء إلى الجراحة لاحقًا لاستئصال البروستاتا (استئصال البروستاتا الإنقاذي) صعبًا جدًا. وينطوي استئصال البروستاتا الإنقاذي على مخاطرة متزايد إلى حد كبير بالإصابة بسلس البول وضعف الانتصاب ومخاطرة كذلك بإصابة الأجزاء المجاورة مثل المستقيم.

ويمكن إجراء استئصال البروستاتا الإنقاذي مع التخطيط لذلك بعناية بأحد المراكز الطبية المتخصصة غير أن هذا الخيار لا يصلح للجميع. قد يوصي الطبيب بعلاجات أخرى مثل العلاج الهرموني قبل النظر في استئصال البروستاتا الإنقاذي.

11/06/2019 See more Expert Answers

Does my choice of initial prostate cancer treatment preclude other treatments later on?

Answers from Erik P. Castle, M.D.

Generally speaking, no. But first, some background information.

Selecting the right treatment for prostate cancer depends on many factors. They include your overall health, your age, the size and spread of the cancer, the aggressiveness of your cancer, and how you feel about the potential side effects of treatment. Treatment options include:

  • Surgery (prostatectomy)
  • Radiation therapy (either external beam radiation or radioactive seed implants, called brachytherapy)
  • Chemotherapy
  • Hormone therapy
  • Freezing therapy (cryosurgery)
  • Heating therapy (high-intensity focused ultrasound)
  • Active surveillance (watchful waiting)

Talk to your doctor about the pros and cons of each option before making a decision.

Which initial treatment you choose may not affect a later treatment choice, should it be needed because of recurring cancer. However, prostatectomy after radiation therapy or cryosurgery (salvage prostatectomy) is performed in only very select cases because of the significantly increased risk of fecal and urinary incontinence. How widespread the recurring cancer is also plays a role in considering salvage prostatectomy.

Although salvage prostatectomy can be performed at specialized medical centers, it is often an option of last resort and determined on a case-by-case basis. In general, prostatectomy is not an option for men who have previously received radiation therapy or cryosurgery, and other treatments, including androgen deprivation therapy (ADT), may be tried before a salvage prostatectomy.

Jul. 07, 2012 See more Expert Answers