التشخيص

هناك العديد من الفحوصات التي قد تساعد في تشخيص مرض فرط الألدوستيرونية الأولي.

فحوصات إضافية

إذا تم تشخيص إصابتك بالألدوستيرونية الأوليّة، فسيُجري طبيبك اختبارات إضافية لتحديد ما إذا كان السبب الكامن هو الورم الغدي المنتج للألدوستيرون أم فرط نشاط الغدتين الكظريتين. قد تتضمن الفحوص:

  • التصوير المقطعي المحوسب (CT) للبطن. يمكن أن يساعد التصوير المقطعي المحوسب (CT) للبطن في اكتشاف ورم على الغدة الكظرية أو تضخم يشير إلى وجود فرط نشاط. قد تظل بحاجة إلى الخضوع للمزيد من الاختبارات بعد إجراء التصوير المقطعي المحوسب؛ حيث قد لا يكشف اختبار التصوير هذا الشذوذات الصغيرة المهمة أو يجد أورامًا لا تنتج الألدوستيرون.
  • أخذ عينة من الأوردة الكظرية. يقوم أخصائي الأشعة بسحب الدم من كل من الوريد الكظري الأيمن والأيسر ثم يقارن بين العينتين. تدل مستويات الألدوستيرون التي تكون أعلى بكثير في جانب واحد على وجود ورم ألدوستيرونِيّ في ذلك الجانب. تشير مستويات الألدوستيرون المتشابهة في كلا الجانبين إلى النشاط المفرط في كلتا الغدتين.

    يتضمن هذا الاختبار وضع أنبوب في أحد الأوردة في الأربية ودفعه لأعلى نحو الأوردة الكظرية. وعلى الرغم من أنه ضروري لتحديد العلاج الملائم، فإن هذا الاختبار يحمل خطر حدوث نزيف أو جلطة دموية في الوريد.

العلاج

يعتمد علاج الألدوستيرونية الأولية على السبب الكامن، ولكن هدفه الأساسي هو منع تأثير ارتفاع مستوى الألدوستيرون أو إعادته لطبيعته والوقاية من المضاعفات المحتملة لارتفاع ضغط الدم وانخفاض مستويات البوتاسيوم.

علاج ورم الغدد الكظرية

يمكن علاج ورم الغدة الكظرية عن طريق الجراحة أو الأدوية مع عمل تغييرات في نمط الحياة.

  • جراحة إزالة الغدة. يُستحسن في العادة الاستئصال الجراحي للغدة الكظرية (استئصال الكظر) المحتوية على الورم حيث أن هذا قد يؤدي إلى تحقيق حل دائم لارتفاع ضغط الدم ونقص البوتاسيوم، ويعيد مستويات الألدوستيرون إلى المستويات الطبيعية. ينخفض ضغط الدم بالتدريج بعد الاستئصال الأحادي للكظر. سيتابع الطبيب المريض عن قرب بعد الجراحة وسوف يعدل بالتدريج أدوية ارتفاع ضغط الدم أو يمنعها تمامًا.

    تحمل جراحة استئصال الكظر المخاطر العادية لجراحات البطن، ويشمل ذلك النزيف والعدوى. وعلى الرغم من ذلك، فلا توجد حاجة لبديل هرمون الغدة الكظرية في حالة الاستئصال الأحادي للكظر حيث أن الغدة الكظرية الأخرى قادرة على انتاج الكمية المناسبة من جميع الهرمونات بنفسها.

  • أدوية حاصرات الألدوستيرون. إذا كنت غير قادر على الخضوع للجراحة أو تفضل ذلك، يمكن علاج الألدوستيرون الأوليّ الناتج عن الورم الحميد من خلال أدوية حاصرات الألدوستيرون (مضادات مستقبلات القشرانيات المعدنية) وكذلك عمل تغييرات في نمط الحياة. لكن سيعود ارتفاع ضغط الدم ونقص البوتاسيوم عند توقف تناول الأدوية.

علاج فرط نشاط كل من الغدتين الكظريتين كلتيهما

الجمع بين الأدوية وتعديلات نمط الحياة يمكن أن يعالج بفعالية الألدوستيرونية الأولية الناجمة عن فرط نشاط الغددتين الكظريتين كلتيهما (تضخم الغدة الكظرية ثنائي الجانب).

  • الأدوية. مناهضات مستقبلة للقشرانيات المعدنية تحجب تأثير ألدوستيرون في جسدك. قد يصف طبيبك أولاً سبيرونولاكتون. يساعد هذا الدواء في علاج ارتفاع ضغط الدم وانخفاض البوتاسيوم، ولكنه قد يسبب مشاكل.

    بالإضافة إلى حجب مستقبلات الألدوستيرون، يقوم سبيرونولاكتون بحجب مستقبلات الأندروجين والبروجستيرون وقد يثبط عمل هذه الهرمونات. يمكن أن تشمل الآثار الجانبية تضخم الثدي لدى الذكور (التثدي) وانخفاض الرغبة الجنسية والعجز الجنسي وعدم انتظام الدورة الشهرية والضائقة المعدية المعوية.

    مناهض لمستقبل القشرانيات المعدنية أحدث وأغلى يُطلق عليه سبيرونولاكتون يعمل فقط على مستقبلات الألدوستيرون ولكنه يقضي على الآثار الجانبية للهرمون الجنسي المرتبطة سبيرونولاكتون. قد يوصي طبيبك بألداكتون إذا كنت تعاني آثارًا جانبية خطيرة جراء سبيرونولاكتون. كما قد تحتاج إلى أدوية أخرى لعلاج ارتفاع ضغط الدم.

  • تغييرات في نمط الحياة. أدوية ارتفاع ضغط الدم تكون أكثر فعالية عند دمجها مع نظام غذائي صحي ونمط الحياة. تعاون مع طبيبك لوضع خطة لخفض الصوديوم في نظامك الغذائي والحفاظ على وزن صحي للجسم. إن ممارسة التمارين الرياضية بانتظام والحد من كمية الكحول التي تشربها والتوقف عن التدخين قد يؤدي أيضًا إلى تحسين استجابتك للأدوية.

نمط الحياة والعلاجات المنزلية

نمط الحياة الصحي أساسي للحفاظ على انخفاض ضغط الدم وللحفاظ على صحة القلب على المدى الطويل. إليك بعض المقترحات لنمط حياة صحي:

  • اتبع نظامًا غذائيًا صحيًا. قلل الصوديوم في نظامك الغذائي بالتركيز على الأطعمة الطازجة والمنتجات قليلة الصوديوم، وتفادي البهارات، وإزالة الملح من الوصفات. الأنظمة الغذائية التي ترتكز على أطعمة صحية متعددة — بما في ذلك الحبوب، والفاكهة، والخضروات ومنتجات الألبان قليلة الدسم — يمكن أن تعزز خفض الوزن وتساعد في خفض ضغط الدم. جرب المقاربات الغذائية لإيقاف ضغط الدم (DASH) — بما له من فوائد مثبتة لقلبك.
  • حقق وزنًا صحيًا. إن كان مؤشر كتلة جسمك (BMI) يبلغ 25 أو أكثر، فإن فقد كمية ضئيلة من الوزن تصل إلى 10 أرطال (4.5 كيلوجرام) قد يخفض ضغط دمك.
  • مارس التمارين الرياضية. قد تساعدك التمارين الهوائية المنتظمة في خفض ضغط دمك. ليس عليك التوجه للصالة الرياضية — يمكن للقيام بتمشيات شاقة في أغلب أيام الأسبوع أن يحسن صحتك كثيرًا. جرب المشي مع صديق عند الغداء بدلاً من تناول العشاء خارج المنزل.
  • امتنع عن التدخين. سيحسن الإقلاع عن التدخين الصحة العامة لقلبك وأوعيتك الدموية. يجعل النيكوتين الموجود في التبغ قلبك يعمل بقوة أكبر عن طريق تضييق أوعيتك الدموية وزيادة معدل نبض قلبك وضغط دمك. تحدث مع طبيبك عن الأدوية التي يمكنها مساعدتك في الإقلاع عن التدخين.
  • قلّل من تناول الكحوليات والكافيين. يمكن للمادتين رفع ضغط دمك، ويمكن للكحوليات أن تعوق فاعلية بعض أدوية ضغط الدم. يُرجى سؤال الطبيب عما إذا كان الاستهلاك المعتدل للكحوليات آمنًا بالنسبة لك أم لا.

الاستعداد لموعدك

بما أن أعراض الألدوستيرونية الأولية لا تكون واضحة غالبًا، فإن طبيبك هو الذي سيقترح تحديد موعد لإجراء أشعة لتشخيص الحالة. ربما يشك طبيبك في حالة الألدوستيرونية الأولية إذا كنت تعاني من ضغط دم مرتفع و:

  • يضل ضغطك مرتفعًا، خاصة إذا كنت تتناول على الأقل ثلاثة أدوية لتخفيضه بالفعل (ضغط دم مقاوم)
  • مستوى البوتاسيوم لديك منخفضًا — على الرغم من أن مستوى البوتاسيوم لدى الكثيرين من مرضى الألدوستيرونية الأولية يقع في المستويات العادية، خاصة في المراحل الأولى من المرض
  • وجود نمو على إحدى غددك الكظرية، ظهر بالصدفة عند إجراء اختبارات التصوير الطبي لسبب آخر
  • لديك تاريخ شخصي أو عائلي مع ضغط الدم العالي أو السكتة في سن صغير

ربما تتطلب الأشعة التشخيصية للألدوستيرونية الأولية بعض التحضيرات. يمكن إجراء الاختبار أثناء تناولك لمعظم أدوية الضغط، لكنك ربما تحتاج للتوقف عن تناول أدوية معينة، مثل سبيرونولاكتون (ألداكتون) وإبليرينون (إنسبرا)، قبل الاختبار بنحو ستة أسابيع. قد ينصحك طبيبك أيضًا بتجنب منتجات العرقسوس قبل إجراء الاختبار بحوالي أسبوعين، لأن هذه المنتجات قد تتسبب في تغيرات تماثل فرط الألدوستيرونية.

03/03/2018
  1. Ferri FF. Aldosteronism. In: Ferri's Clinical Advisor 2017. Philadelphia, Pa.: Elsevier; 2017. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Aug. 17, 2016.
  2. AskMayoExpert. Primary aldosteronism. Rochester, Minn.: Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research; 2016.
  3. Young WF. Pathophysiology and clinical features of primary aldosteronism. http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed Aug. 17, 2016.
  4. Young WF. Diagnosis of primary aldosteronism. http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed Aug. 17, 2016.
  5. Young WF. Treatment of primary aldosteronism. http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed Aug. 17, 2016.
  6. Primary aldosteronism. Merck Manual Professional Version. http://www.merckmanuals.com/professional/endocrine-and-metabolic-disorders/adrenal-disorders/primary-aldosteronism. Accessed Aug. 17, 2016.
  7. Description of high blood pressure. National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute. http://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health/health-topics/topics/hbp/. Accessed Aug. 17, 2016.
  8. Mount DB. Clinical manifestations and treatment of hypokalemia. http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed Aug. 17, 2016.
  9. Nwariaku F. Adrenalectomy: Minimally invasive surgery and traditional open procedures. http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed Aug. 17, 2016.
  10. Longo DL, et al., eds. Hypertensive vascular disease. In: Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine. 19th ed. New York, N.Y.: McGraw-Hill Education; 2015. http://accessmedicine.com. Accessed Aug. 17, 2016.
  11. Nippoldt TB (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn. Aug. 25, 2016.

Diagnosis

A variety of tests are available to help diagnose primary aldosteronism.

Screening test

Initially, your doctor is likely to measure the levels of aldosterone and renin in your blood. Renin is an enzyme released by your kidneys that helps regulate blood pressure. The combination of a very low renin level with a high aldosterone level suggests that primary aldosteronism may be the cause of your high blood pressure.

Confirmation tests

If the aldosterone-renin test suggests that you might have primary aldosteronism, you'll need another test to confirm the diagnosis, such as one of the following:

  • Oral salt loading. You'll follow a high-sodium diet for three days before your doctor measures aldosterone and sodium levels in your urine.
  • Saline infusion test. Your aldosterone levels are tested after sodium mixed with water (saline) is infused into your bloodstream for several hours.
  • Fludrocortisone suppression test. After you've followed a high-sodium diet and taken fludrocortisone — which mimics the action of aldosterone — for several days, aldosterone levels in your blood are measured.

Additional tests

If you receive a diagnosis of primary aldosteronism, your doctor will run additional tests to determine whether the underlying cause is an aldosterone-producing adenoma or overactivity of both adrenal glands. Tests may include:

  • Abdominal computerized tomography (CT) scan. A CT scan can help identify a tumor on your adrenal gland or an enlargement that suggests overactivity. You may still need additional testing after a CT scan because this imaging test may miss small but important abnormalities or find tumors that don't produce aldosterone.
  • Adrenal vein sampling. A radiologist draws blood from both your right and left adrenal veins and compares the two samples. Aldosterone levels that are significantly higher on one side indicate the presence of an aldosteronoma on that side. Similar aldosterone levels on both sides point to overactivity in both glands.

    This test involves placing a tube in a vein in your groin and threading it up to the adrenal veins. Though essential for determining the appropriate treatment, this test carries the risk of bleeding or a blood clot in the vein.

Treatment

Treatment for primary aldosteronism depends on the underlying cause, but its basic goal is to normalize or block the effect of high aldosterone levels and prevent the potential complications of high blood pressure and low potassium levels.

Treatment for an adrenal gland tumor

An adrenal gland tumor may be treated with surgery or medications and lifestyle changes.

  • Surgical removal of the gland. Surgical removal of the adrenal gland containing the tumor (adrenalectomy) is usually recommended because it may permanently resolve high blood pressure and potassium deficiency, and it can bring aldosterone levels back to normal. Blood pressure usually drops gradually after a unilateral adrenalectomy. Your doctor will follow you closely after surgery and progressively adjust or eliminate your high blood pressure medications.

    An adrenalectomy carries the usual risks of abdominal surgery, including bleeding and infection. However, adrenal hormone replacement is not necessary after a unilateral adrenalectomy because the other adrenal gland is able to produce adequate amounts of all the hormones on its own.

  • Aldosterone-blocking drugs. If you're unable to have surgery or prefer not to, primary aldosteronism caused by a benign tumor can also be treated with aldosterone-blocking drugs (mineralocorticoid receptor antagonists) and lifestyle changes. But high blood pressure and low potassium will return if you stop taking your medications.

Treatment for overactivity of both adrenal glands

A combination of medications and lifestyle modifications can effectively treat primary aldosteronism caused by overactivity of both adrenal glands (bilateral adrenal hyperplasia).

  • Medications. Mineralocorticoid receptor antagonists block the action of aldosterone in your body. Your doctor may first prescribe spironolactone. This medication helps correct high blood pressure and low potassium, but it may cause problems.

    In addition to blocking aldosterone receptors, spironolactone blocks androgen and progesterone receptors and may inhibit the action of these hormones. Side effects can include male breast enlargement (gynecomastia), decreased sexual desire, impotence, menstrual irregularities and gastrointestinal distress.

    A newer, more expensive mineralocorticoid receptor antagonist called eplerenone acts just on aldosterone receptors, but eliminates the sex hormone side effects associated with spironolactone. Your doctor may recommend eplerenone if you have serious side effects with spironolactone. You may also need other medications for high blood pressure.

  • Lifestyle changes. High blood pressure medications are more effective when combined with a healthy diet and lifestyle. Work with your doctor to create a plan to reduce the sodium in your diet and maintain a healthy body weight. Getting regular exercise, limiting the amount of alcohol you drink and stopping smoking also may improve your response to medications.

Lifestyle and home remedies

A healthy lifestyle is essential for keeping blood pressure low and maintaining long-term heart health. Here are some healthy lifestyle suggestions:

  • Follow a healthy diet. Limit the sodium in your diet by focusing on fresh foods and reduced-sodium products, avoiding condiments, and removing salt from recipes. (3p6) Diets that also emphasize a healthy variety of foods — including grains, fruits, vegetables and low-fat dairy products — can promote weight loss and help lower blood pressure. Try the Dietary Approaches to Stop Hypertension (DASH) diet — it has proven benefits for your heart.
  • Achieve a healthy weight. If your body mass index (BMI) is 25 or more, losing as few as 10 pounds (4.5 kilograms) may reduce your blood pressure.
  • Exercise. Regular aerobic exercise can help lower blood pressure. You don't have to hit the gym — taking vigorous walks most days of the week can significantly improve your health. Try walking with a friend at lunch instead of dining out.
  • Don't smoke. Quitting smoking will improve your overall cardiovascular health. Nicotine in tobacco makes your heart work harder by constricting your blood vessels and increasing your heart rate and blood pressure. Talk to your doctor about medications that can help you stop smoking.
  • Limit alcohol and caffeine. Both substances can raise your blood pressure, and alcohol can interfere with the effectiveness of some blood pressure medications. Ask your doctor whether moderate alcohol consumption is safe for you.

Preparing for your appointment

Since the symptoms of primary aldosteronism aren't always obvious, your doctor may be the one to suggest you set up an appointment to get screened for the condition. Your doctor may suspect primary aldosteronism if you have high blood pressure and:

  • Your blood pressure remains persistently high, especially if you're already taking at least three medications for it (resistant hypertension)
  • You have low blood potassium — although many people with primary aldosteronism have normal potassium levels, especially in the early stages of the disease
  • You have a growth on one of your adrenal glands, incidentally found on an imaging test taken for another reason
  • You have a personal or family history of high blood pressure or stroke at a young age

The screening test for primary aldosteronism may require some planning. The test can be performed while you're taking most blood pressure medications, but you may need to discontinue taking certain drugs, such as spironolactone (Aldactone) and eplerenone (Inspra), up to six weeks before testing. Your doctor may also ask you to avoid real licorice products for a couple of weeks before the test, as these can cause changes that mimic excess aldosterone.

Nov. 02, 2016
References
  1. Ferri FF. Aldosteronism. In: Ferri's Clinical Advisor 2017. Philadelphia, Pa.: Elsevier; 2017. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Aug. 17, 2016.
  2. AskMayoExpert. Primary aldosteronism. Rochester, Minn.: Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research; 2016.
  3. Young WF. Pathophysiology and clinical features of primary aldosteronism. http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed Aug. 17, 2016.
  4. Young WF. Diagnosis of primary aldosteronism. http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed Aug. 17, 2016.
  5. Young WF. Treatment of primary aldosteronism. http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed Aug. 17, 2016.
  6. Primary aldosteronism. Merck Manual Professional Version. http://www.merckmanuals.com/professional/endocrine-and-metabolic-disorders/adrenal-disorders/primary-aldosteronism. Accessed Aug. 17, 2016.
  7. Description of high blood pressure. National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute. http://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health/health-topics/topics/hbp/. Accessed Aug. 17, 2016.
  8. Mount DB. Clinical manifestations and treatment of hypokalemia. http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed Aug. 17, 2016.
  9. Nwariaku F. Adrenalectomy: Minimally invasive surgery and traditional open procedures. http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed Aug. 17, 2016.
  10. Longo DL, et al., eds. Hypertensive vascular disease. In: Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine. 19th ed. New York, N.Y.: McGraw-Hill Education; 2015. http://accessmedicine.com. Accessed Aug. 17, 2016.
  11. Nippoldt TB (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn. Aug. 25, 2016.