هل يمكن لالتهاب العضلات أن يؤثر على الرئتين؟

إجابة من أبريل شانغ ميلر، (دكتور في الطب)

التهاب العضلات هو مرض التهابي نادر يسبب ضعف العضلات. وفي بعض الأحيان، قد تشتمل تأثيرات التهاب العضلات على الرئتين أيضاً.

وفي معظم الأحيان، يؤثر التهاب العضلات على العضلات الأقرب إلى الجذع على جانبي جسمك. بالإضافة إلى العضلات الكبيرة من الذراعين والساقين، يمكن أن يؤدي التهاب العضلات إلى إضعاف عضلات الحنجرة والصدر، مما يؤدي إلى احتمال حدوث المضاعفات التي تشتمل على رئتيك.

قد تتطور مشاكل التنفس إذا تأثرت عضلات الصدر من المرض، وفي الحالات الشديدة، يمكن أن يؤدي إلى فشل في الجهاز التنفسي. يمكن أن يحدث الالتهاب الرئوي التنفسي إذا كانت صعوبة البلع تتسبب في استنشاق الطعام أو السوائل، بما في ذلك اللعاب، إلى رئتيك (الرشف).

غالباً ما يرتبط التهاب العضلات مع الحالات الأخرى التي قد تسبب مضاعفات خاصة بها. يؤدي مرض الرئة الخلالي إلى ظهور ندبات (تليف) في أنسجة الرئة، مما يجعل الرئتين صلبتين وغير مرنين. تتضمن العلامات والأعراض السعال الجاف وضيق التنفس.

إذا كانت لديك هذه الأعراض، فقد يتضمن تقييم وظائف الرئة اختبارات وظائف الرئة، وقد يُوصى بدراسات التصوير مثل الأشعة السينية أو التصوير المقطعي المحوسب (CT) الخاص بالرئتين. وقد تكون دراسة البلع مفيدة في تشخيص الرشف.

لا يوجد علاج لالتهاب العضلات، ولكن العلاج الخاص بالتحكم في المرض يمكن أن يقلل من احتمالية تأثيره على الرئتين. تحدث مع طبيبك حول الأدوية التي قد تساعد على التحكم في الأعراض.

إذا كنت تعاني من أعراض الرئة بالفعل، يمكن لبعض الأدوية أن تساعد. قد يقترح طبيبك الآتي:

  • علاج النطق، والذي يمكنه مساعدتك على تعلم كيفية تعويض عضلات البلع التي ضعفت بسبب التهاب العضلات
  • تقييم الحمية بحيث يستطيع أخصائي التغذية المسجل تعليمك كيفية تحضير الأطعمة التي يسهل مضغها وبلعها
11/06/2019 See more Expert Answers

Can polymyositis affect my lungs?

Answers from April Chang-Miller, M.D.

Polymyositis (pol-e-my-o-SY-tis) is a rare inflammatory disease that causes muscle weakness. Sometimes, the effects of polymyositis can also involve the lungs.

Most often, polymyositis affects muscles closest to the trunk on both sides of your body. In addition to the larger muscles of your arms and legs, polymyositis can weaken muscles in your throat and chest, creating the potential for complications involving your lungs.

Breathing problems may develop if your chest muscles are affected by the disease, and in severe cases, can lead to respiratory failure. Aspiration pneumonia can develop if difficulty swallowing causes you to inhale food or liquids, including saliva, into your lungs (aspiration).

Polymyositis is often associated with other conditions that may cause complications of their own. Interstitial lung disease causes scarring (fibrosis) of the lung tissue, making lungs stiff and inelastic. Signs and symptoms include a dry cough and shortness of breath.

If you have these symptoms, evaluation of your lung function may include pulmonary function tests and imaging studies may be recommended, such an X-ray or a computerized tomography (CT) scan of your lungs. A swallowing study may be helpful in diagnosing aspiration.

There is no cure for polymyositis, but treatment to control the disease can lessen the likelihood it will affect your lungs. Talk to your doctor about medications that can help control your symptoms.

If you are already experiencing lung symptoms, certain therapies can help. Your doctor might suggest:

  • Speech therapy, which can help you learn how to compensate for swallowing muscles weakened by polymyositis
  • A dietetic assessment so that a registered dietitian can teach you how to prepare foods that are easy to chew and swallow
June 30, 2017 See more Expert Answers