هل يمكن اعتبارك سمينًا إذا كان وزنك طبيعيًا؟

نعم. يمكن أن يكون وزنك طبيعيًا، ولكن إذا كانت نسبة الدهون في جسمك مرتفعة للغاية، فربما تعاني من السمنة — وهي حالة تعرف باسم سمنة الوزن الطبيعي. سمنة الوزن الطبيعي تعني أنك ربما تعاني من مخاطر صحية بالغة مثل الشخص البدين. تُعرف السمنة بأنها زيادة مفرطة في كمية الدهون بالجسم — وليست الزيادة الشديدة في الوزن.

وتستخدم معادلة تسمى مؤشر كتلة الجسم (BMI) لتحديد ما إذا كان الوزن صحيًا بالنسبة للطول. ولكن مؤشر كتلة الجسم لا يقدم قياسًا دقيقًا لأنه لا يقيس دهون الجسم. لذلك قد يكون مؤشر كتلة الجسم طبيعيًا بينما نسبة الدهون في الجسم مرتفعة للغاية بما يزيد المخاطر الصحية.

لا يزال الباحثون يحاولون تحديد مقدار النسبة المئوية لدهون الجسم التي يتم عندها اعتبار الجسم سمينًا بينما يكون الوزن طبيعيًا، وما إذا كان ينبغي وجود اختلاف في التوجيهات اعتمادًا على العمر والجنس.

ومثلها في ذلك مثل السمنة المفرطة، قد تزيد سمنة الوزن الطبيعي من خطر المشكلات الصحية الخطيرة، بما في ذلك:

  • أمراض القلب
  • داء السكري
  • مستوى الكوليسترول غير الطبيعي — ارتفاع مستوى الدهون الثلاثية مع انخفاض مستوى كوليسترول البروتين الدهني عالي الكثافة (الكوليسترول النافع)
  • ارتفاع ضغط الدم
  • متلازمة التمثيل الغذائي

إذا كنت قلقًا بشأن نسبة الدهون بالجسم، فتحدث مع الطبيب. فقد يرغب الطبيب في قياس نسبة الدهون الموجودة في الجسم والتوصية بإجراء اختبارات إضافية لمعرفة ما إذا كنت عرضة لخطر الحالات المرضية المرتبطة بالسمنة. قد يشجعك الطبيب أيضًا على بدء تناول طعام صحي وزيادة معدل النشاط.

27/09/2018 See more Expert Answers

Can you be considered obese if you have a normal body weight?

Answers from Katherine Zeratsky, R.D., L.D.

Yes. You can have a normal weight, but if your body fat percentage is high enough, you may be considered obese — a situation known as normal weight obesity. Normal weight obesity means you may have the same serious health risks as does someone who's obese. Obesity is defined as having an excessive amount of body fat — not as weighing too much.

A formula called body mass index (BMI) is used to determine whether you're at a healthy weight for your height. But BMI doesn't tell the whole story because it doesn't measure body fat. So you may have a normal BMI while your body fat percentage is high enough to increase health risks.

Researchers are still trying to determine what percentage of body fat counts as obesity when your weight is normal, and whether guidelines should be different depending on your age and sex.

Like obesity, normal weight obesity may increase your risk of serious health problems, including:

  • Heart disease
  • Diabetes
  • Abnormal cholesterol level, in which your triglyceride level is high, but your HDL ("good") cholesterol level is low
  • High blood pressure
  • Metabolic syndrome

If you're concerned about your body fat percentage, talk to your doctor. Your doctor may want to measure your body fat and recommend additional tests to see if you're at risk of obesity-related conditions. Your doctor may also encourage you to start eating healthier and increase your activity level.

Aug. 05, 2011 See more Expert Answers