نظرة عامة

إن سرطان الكبد هو السرطان الذي يبدأ في خلايا الكبد. والكبد هي عضو في حجم كرة القدم يقع في القسم العلوي الأيمن من البطن، أسفل الحجاب الحاجز وأعلى المعدة.

يمكن أن يتكون العديد من أنواع السرطانات في الكبد. ويعد سرطان الخلايا الكبدية هو أكثر أنواع سرطان الكبد شيوعًا، ويبدأ في خلية الكبد الرئيسية (الخلايا الكبدية). تعد أنواع سرطان الكبد الأخرى، مثل سرطان القنوات الصفراوية داخل الكبد والورم الأرومي الكبدي، أقل شيوعًا.

لا يمكن اعتبار كل أنواع السرطان التي تؤثر في الكبد سرطانات كبدية. يُعرف السرطان الذي يبدأ في منطقة أخرى بالجسم، مثل سرطان القولون أو الرئة أو الثدي، ثم ينتشر في الكبد باسم السرطان النقيلي وليس سرطان الكبد. ويُعرف هذا النوع من السرطان باسم العضو الذي بدأ فيه، مثل سرطان القولون النقيلي لوصف السرطان الذي يبدأ في القولون وينتشر إلى الكبد. ويعد السرطان الذي ينتقل إلى الكبد أكثر شيوعًا من السرطان الذي يبدأ في خلايا الكبد.

رعاية سرطان الكبد في Mayo Clinic (مايو كلينك)

الأنواع

الأعراض

معظم الأشخاص لا تكون لديهم علامات وأعراض في المراحل المبكرة من سرطان الكبد الرئيسي. وعندما تظهر العلامات والأعراض، فقد تتضمن:

  • فقدان الوزن دون محاولة ذلك
  • فقدان الشهية
  • ألم في الجزء العلوي من البطن
  • الغثيان والقيء
  • الضعف العام والشعور بالإرهاق والتعب
  • انتفاخ البطن
  • اصفرار لون الجلد وبياض العين (الصفراء)
  • براز لونه أبيض مثل الطباشير

متى تزور الطبيب

حدد موعدًا مع طبيبك إذا كنت تعاني أي علامات أو أعراض تستدعي قلقك.

الأسباب

إن الأسباب وراء أكثر حالات سرطان الكبد غير واضحة. ولكن في بعض الحالات، يكون السبب معروفًا. على سبيل المثال، يمكن أن تسبب العدوى المزمنة ب بعض فيروسات التهاب الكبد الإصابة بسرطان الكبد.

يحدث سرطان الكبد عندما تطور خلايا الكبد تغييرات (طفرات) في الحمض النووي — المادة التي توفر تعليمات لكل عملية كيميائية في الجسم. تسبب الطفرات في الحمض النووي تغييرات في هذه التعليمات. وتتمثل إحدى النتائج في أن تبدأ الخلايا في النمو خارج نطاق السيطرة وتشكل في نهاية المطاف ورمًا — كتلة من الخلايا السرطانية.

عوامل الخطر

تتضمن العوامل التي تزيد من مخاطر الإصابة بسرطان الكبد الأساسي ما يلي:

  • الإصابة المزمنة بفيروس الالتهاب الكبدي بي (HBV) أو فيروس الالتهاب الكبدي سي (HCV). تزيد الإصابة المزمنة بفيروس الالتهاب الكبدي بي (HBV) أو فيروس الالتهاب الكبدي سي (HCV) من مخاطر إصابتك بسرطان الكبد.
  • تليف الكبد. تتسبب الحالة المرضية المذكورة التي تتسم بالتدرج وعدم القابلية للعلاج في تكون نسيج متندب في الكبد وزيادة فرص الإصابة بسرطان الكبد.
  • بعض أمراض الكبد الوراثية. تتضمن أمراض الكبد التي قد تؤدي إلى زيادة مخاطر الإصابة بسرطان الكبد داء ترسب الأصبغة الدموية وداء ويلسون.
  • داء السكري. تزداد مخاطر إصابة الأفراد الذين يعانون من اضطراب سكر الدم المذكور بسرطان الكبد مقارنة بالأفراد غير المصابين بداء السكري.
  • مرض الكبد الدهني غير الناجم عن شرب الكحول. يؤدي تراكم الدهون في الكبد إلى زيادة مخاطر الإصابة بسرطان الكبد.
  • التعرض للأفلاتوكسينات. الأفلاتوكسينات عبارة عن سموم يتم إنتاجها من قبل العفن الذي ينمو على المحاصيل التي يتم تخزينها بصورة غير جيدة. قد تتلوث محاصيل مثل الذرة والفول السوداني بالأفلاتوكسينات، مما قد يتسبب في وصولها في نهاية الأمر إلى الأطعمة التي يتم إعدادها من تلك المنتجات. في الولايات المتحدة، تؤدي لوائح السلامة إلى الحد من التلوث بالأفلاتوكسين. ينتشر التلوث بالأفلاتوكسين بصورة أكثر شيوعًا في أجزاء معينة من أفريقيا وآسيا.
  • الإفراط في تناول الكحوليات. قد يؤدي تناول كمية كبيرة من الكحول بصورة يومية على مدار سنوات إلى الإصابة بتلف الكبد غير القابل للعلاج وزيادة مخاطر إصابتك بسرطان الكبد.

الوقاية

الحد من مخاطر التليف الكبدي لديك

التليف الكبدي هو تندب الكبد وهو يزيد من خطورة الإصابة بسرطان الكبد. يمكنك تقليل خطر الإصابة بالتليف الكبدي إذا:

  • اشرب الكحول بصورة معتدلة، إذا كانت هناك حاجة لذلك. إذا اخترت شرب الكحوليات، فحِد من الكمية التي تتناولها. بالنسبة للنساء، يعني ذلك عدم تناول أكثر من مشروب كحولي واحد يوميًا. وبالنسبة للرجال، يعني ذلك عدم تناول أكثر من مشروبين كحوليين يوميًا.
  • حافظ على وزن صحي. إذا كان وزنك الحالي هو الوزن الصحي، فحاول الحفاظ عليه عن طريق اختيار حمية غذائية صحية وممارسة التمارين معظم أيام الأسبوع. إذا كنتِ بحاجة لفقدان الوزن، فقلل من عدد السعرات الحرارية التي تتناولها يوميًا وزِد كمية التمارين الرياضية التي تمارسها. استهدف فقدان الوزن ببطء — 1 أو 2 رطل (0.5 إلى 1 كجم) أسبوعيًا.
  • كن حذرًا مع المواد الكيميائية. اتبع التعليمات الموجودة على المواد الكيميائية التي تستخدمها في المنزل أو في العمل.

احصل على لقاح ضد التهاب الكبد بي

يمكنك تقليل خطر إصابتك بالتهاب الكبد بي من خلال تلقي تلقيح التهاب الكبد بي، والذي يوفر حماية بنسبة 90% لكل من البالغين والأطفال. يمكن إعطاء اللقاح لكافة الأشخاص تقريبًا، بما في ذلك الأطفال الرضّع وكبار السن والأشخاص من ذوي الأجهزة المناعية المتضررة.

اتبع معايير للوقاية من التهاب الكبد بي

لا يوجد لقاح لالتهاب الكبد بي، ولكن يمكنك تقليل خطر إصابتك به.

  • تعرّف على الحالة الصحية لأي شريك جنسي. لا تمارس الجنس بدون وقاية إذا لم تكن متأكدًا من أن شريكك ليس مصابًا بالتهاب الكبد بي أو سي، أو يعاني أي مرض منقول جنسيًا. إذا لم تعرف حالة شريكك الصحية، فاستخدم واقيًا ذكريًا في كل جماع.
  • لا تستخدم أدوية وريدية (IV)، ولكن إن قمت بذلك، فاستخدم إبرة نظيفة. قلّل من خطر الإصابة بالتهاب الكبد سي من خلال عدم حقن العقاقير غير المشروعة. ولكن إذا لم يكن ذلك خيارًا مطروحًا لك، فتأكد من تعقيم كافة الإبر التي تستخدمها ولا تشاركها. تعد أدوات تناول الأدوية الملوثة سببًا شائعًا للإصابة بالتهاب الكبد سي. استفد من برامج تبادل الإبر في مجتمعك، وفكّر في طلب المساعدة للعلاج من إدمان المخدرات.
  • ابحث عن متاجر آمنة ونظيفة عند ثقب أي جزء من جسمك أو عند الوشم. قد تنشر الإبر التي قد تكون غير معقمة بشكل جيد فيروس التهاب الكبد سي. قبل ثقب أي جزء من جسمك أو عند الوشم، تحقق من المتاجر المتوفرة في منطقتك واسأل العاملين بشأن ممارسات السلامة لديهم. إذا رفض العاملون في أحد المتاجر إجابة أسئلتك أو لم يأخذوها بمحمل الجدية، فاعتبر ذلك علامة على أن المنشأة ليست مناسبة لك.

اسأل طبيبك عن فحص سرطان الكبد.

بالنسبة لعامة السكان، لم يُثبت أن فحص سرطان الكبد يقلل من حالات الوفاة الناتجة عن سرطان الكبد، لذا فإنه لا يوصى به عامة. توصي الجمعية الأمريكية لدراسة أمراض الكبد بفحص سرطان الكبد بالنسبة لهؤلاء الذين يُعتقد تعرضهم لخطر مرتفع، بما في ذلك الأشخاص الذين يعانون:

  • التهاب الكبد بي وينطبق عليهم واحد أو أكثر مما يلي: أن يكونوا أفارقة أو آسيويين، أو يعانون تليفًا في الكبد، أو لديهم تاريخ عائلي من الإصابة بسرطان الكبد
  • الإصابة بالتهاب الكبد سي وتليف الكبد
  • تليف الكبد من ضمن أسباب أخرى، مثل مرض المناعة الذاتي واستخدام الكحول بإفراط ومرض الكبد الدهني غير الكحولي وداء ترسب الأصبغة الدموية الموروث
  • التشمع الصفراوي الأولي.

ناقش إيجابيات وسلبيات الفحص مع طبيبك. ويمكنكما اتخاذ قرار معًا بشأن إذا ما كان الفحص مناسبًا لك أم لا، وذلك بناءً على ما أنت معرض له من خطر. يتضمن الفحص عادة فحصًا بالموجات فوق الصوتية كل ستة أشهر.

سرطان الكبد - الرعاية في Mayo Clinic (مايو كلينك)

16/05/2018
References
  1. AskMayoExpert. Hepatocellular carcinoma. Rochester, Minn.: Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research; 2015.
  2. Feldman M, et al. Hepatic tumors and cysts. In: Sleisenger and Fordtran's Gastrointestinal and Liver Disease: Pathophysiology, Diagnosis, Management. 10th ed. Philadelphia, Pa.: Saunders Elsevier; 2016. http://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Feb. 11, 2016.
  3. Bruix J, et al. Liver cancer: Approaching a personalized care. Journal of Hepatology. 2015;62:S144.
  4. Adult primary liver cancer treatment (PDQ). National Cancer Institute. http://www.cancer.gov/types/liver/patient/adult-liver-treatment-pdq. Accessed Feb. 11, 2016.
  5. Hepatobiliary cancers. Fort Washington, Pa.: National Comprehensive Cancer Network. http://www.nccn.org/professionals/physician_gls/f_guidelines.asp. Accessed Feb. 11, 2016.
  6. Management of hepatocellular carcinoma: An update. Alexandria, Va.: American Association for the Study of Liver Diseases. http://www.aasld.org/publications/practice-guidelines-0. Accessed Feb. 17, 2016.
  7. Hepatitis B FAQs for the public. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. http://www.cdc.gov/hepatitis/hbv/bfaq.htm. Accessed Feb. 17, 2016.
  8. Hepatitis C FAQs for the public. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. http://www.cdc.gov/hepatitis/hcv/cfaq.htm. Accessed Feb. 17, 2016.
  9. Cirrhosis. National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases. http://www.niddk.nih.gov/health-information/health-topics/liver-disease/cirrhosis/Pages/facts.aspx. Accessed Feb. 17, 2016.
  10. Palliative care. Fort Washington, Pa.: National Comprehensive Cancer Network. http://www.nccn.org/professionals/physician_gls/f_guidelines.asp. Accessed Feb. 17, 2016.
  11. Adult cancer pain. Fort Washington, Pa.: National Comprehensive Cancer Network. http://www.nccn.org/professionals/physician_gls/f_guidelines.asp. Accessed Feb. 17, 2016.
  12. Cook AJ. Allscripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn. Feb. 15, 2016.

Overview

Liver cancer is cancer that begins in the cells of your liver. Your liver is a football-sized organ that sits in the upper right portion of your abdomen, beneath your diaphragm and above your stomach.

Several types of cancer can form in the liver. The most common type of liver cancer is hepatocellular carcinoma, which begins in the main type of liver cell (hepatocyte). Other types of liver cancer, such as intrahepatic cholangiocarcinoma and hepatoblastoma, are much less common.

Not all cancers that affect the liver are considered liver cancer. Cancer that begins in another area of the body — such as the colon, lung or breast — and then spreads to the liver is called metastatic cancer rather than liver cancer. And this type of cancer is named after the organ in which it began — such as metastatic colon cancer to describe cancer that begins in the colon and spreads to the liver. Cancer that spreads to the liver is more common than cancer that begins in the liver cells.

Liver cancer care at Mayo Clinic

Types

Symptoms

Most people don't have signs and symptoms in the early stages of primary liver cancer. When signs and symptoms do appear, they may include:

  • Losing weight without trying
  • Loss of appetite
  • Upper abdominal pain
  • Nausea and vomiting
  • General weakness and fatigue
  • Abdominal swelling
  • Yellow discoloration of your skin and the whites of your eyes (jaundice)
  • White, chalky stools

When to see a doctor

Make an appointment with your doctor if you experience any signs or symptoms that worry you.

Causes

It's not clear what causes most cases of liver cancer. But in some cases, the cause is known. For instance, chronic infection with certain hepatitis viruses can cause liver cancer.

Liver cancer occurs when liver cells develop changes (mutations) in their DNA — the material that provides instructions for every chemical process in your body. DNA mutations cause changes in these instructions. One result is that cells may begin to grow out of control and eventually form a tumor — a mass of cancerous cells.

Risk factors

Factors that increase the risk of primary liver cancer include:

  • Chronic infection with HBV or HCV. Chronic infection with the hepatitis B virus (HBV) or hepatitis C virus (HCV) increases your risk of liver cancer.
  • Cirrhosis. This progressive and irreversible condition causes scar tissue to form in your liver and increases your chances of developing liver cancer.
  • Certain inherited liver diseases. Liver diseases that can increase the risk of liver cancer include hemochromatosis and Wilson's disease.
  • Diabetes. People with this blood sugar disorder have a greater risk of liver cancer than those who don't have diabetes.
  • Nonalcoholic fatty liver disease. An accumulation of fat in the liver increases the risk of liver cancer.
  • Exposure to aflatoxins. Aflatoxins are poisons produced by molds that grow on crops that are stored poorly. Crops such as corn and peanuts can become contaminated with aflatoxins, which can end up in foods made of these products. In the United States, safety regulations limit aflatoxin contamination. Aflatoxin contamination is more common in certain parts of Africa and Asia.
  • Excessive alcohol consumption. Consuming more than a moderate amount of alcohol daily over many years can lead to irreversible liver damage and increase your risk of liver cancer.

Prevention

Reduce your risk of cirrhosis

Cirrhosis is scarring of the liver, and it increases the risk of liver cancer. You can reduce your risk of cirrhosis if you:

  • Drink alcohol in moderation, if at all. If you choose to drink alcohol, limit the amount you drink. For women, this means no more than one drink a day. For men, this means no more than two drinks a day.
  • Maintain a healthy weight. If your current weight is healthy, work to maintain it by choosing a healthy diet and exercising most days of the week. If you need to lose weight, reduce the number of calories you eat each day and increase the amount of exercise you do. Aim to lose weight slowly — 1 or 2 pounds (0.5 to 1 kilograms) each week.
  • Use caution with chemicals. Follow instructions on chemicals you use at home or at work.

Get vaccinated against hepatitis B

You can reduce your risk of hepatitis B by receiving the hepatitis B vaccine, which provides more than 90 percent protection for both adults and children. The vaccine can be given to almost anyone, including infants, older adults and those with compromised immune systems.

Take measures to prevent hepatitis C

No vaccine for hepatitis C exists, but you can reduce your risk of infection.

  • Know the health status of any sexual partner. Don't engage in unprotected sex unless you're certain your partner isn't infected with HBV, HCV or any other sexually transmitted infection. If you don't know the health status of your partner, use a condom every time you have sexual intercourse.
  • Don't use intravenous (IV) drugs, but if you do, use a clean needle. Reduce your risk of HCV by not injecting illegal drugs. But if that isn't an option for you, make sure any needle you use is sterile, and don't share it. Contaminated drug paraphernalia is a common cause of hepatitis C infection. Take advantage of needle-exchange programs in your community and consider seeking help for your drug use.
  • Seek safe, clean shops when getting a piercing or tattoo. Needles that may not be properly sterilized can spread the hepatitis C virus. Before getting a piercing or tattoo, check out the shops in your area and ask staff members about their safety practices. If employees at a shop refuse to answer your questions or don't take your questions seriously, take that as a sign that the facility isn't right for you.

Ask your doctor about liver cancer screening

For the general population, screening for liver cancer hasn't been proved to reduce the risk of dying of liver cancer, so it isn't generally recommended. The American Association for the Study of Liver Diseases recommends liver cancer screening for those thought to have a high risk, including people who have:

  • Hepatitis B and one or more of the following apply: are Asian or African, have liver cirrhosis, or have a family history of liver cancer
  • Hepatitis C infection and liver cirrhosis
  • Liver cirrhosis from other causes, such as an autoimmune disease, excessive alcohol use, nonalcoholic fatty liver disease and inherited hemochromatosis
  • Primary biliary cirrhosis

Discuss the pros and cons of screening with your doctor. Together you can decide whether screening is right for you based on your risk. Screening typically involves an ultrasound exam every six months.

Liver cancer care at Mayo Clinic

Aug. 19, 2017
References
  1. AskMayoExpert. Hepatocellular carcinoma. Rochester, Minn.: Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research; 2015.
  2. Feldman M, et al. Hepatic tumors and cysts. In: Sleisenger and Fordtran's Gastrointestinal and Liver Disease: Pathophysiology, Diagnosis, Management. 10th ed. Philadelphia, Pa.: Saunders Elsevier; 2016. http://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Feb. 11, 2016.
  3. Bruix J, et al. Liver cancer: Approaching a personalized care. Journal of Hepatology. 2015;62:S144.
  4. Adult primary liver cancer treatment (PDQ). National Cancer Institute. http://www.cancer.gov/types/liver/patient/adult-liver-treatment-pdq. Accessed Feb. 11, 2016.
  5. Hepatobiliary cancers. Fort Washington, Pa.: National Comprehensive Cancer Network. http://www.nccn.org/professionals/physician_gls/f_guidelines.asp. Accessed Feb. 11, 2016.
  6. Management of hepatocellular carcinoma: An update. Alexandria, Va.: American Association for the Study of Liver Diseases. http://www.aasld.org/publications/practice-guidelines-0. Accessed Feb. 17, 2016.
  7. Hepatitis B FAQs for the public. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. http://www.cdc.gov/hepatitis/hbv/bfaq.htm. Accessed Feb. 17, 2016.
  8. Hepatitis C FAQs for the public. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. http://www.cdc.gov/hepatitis/hcv/cfaq.htm. Accessed Feb. 17, 2016.
  9. Cirrhosis. National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases. http://www.niddk.nih.gov/health-information/health-topics/liver-disease/cirrhosis/Pages/facts.aspx. Accessed Feb. 17, 2016.
  10. Palliative care. Fort Washington, Pa.: National Comprehensive Cancer Network. http://www.nccn.org/professionals/physician_gls/f_guidelines.asp. Accessed Feb. 17, 2016.
  11. Adult cancer pain. Fort Washington, Pa.: National Comprehensive Cancer Network. http://www.nccn.org/professionals/physician_gls/f_guidelines.asp. Accessed Feb. 17, 2016.
  12. Cook AJ. Allscripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn. Feb. 15, 2016.