هل يمكن أن يصاب البالغون بالحساسية من الطعام؟

تبدأ معظم أنواع الحساسية من الطعام في مرحلة الطفولة، ولكن يمكن الإصابة بها في أي سن. لا يُعرف السبب، ولكن يصاب بعض البالغين بالحساسية من الطعام الذين اعتادوا تناوله دون مشاكل. وأحيانًا يتعافى الطفل من الحساسية من الطعام لتظهر مرة أخرى في مرحلة البلوغ.

إن الأطعمة الأكثر شيوعًا التي تسبب الحساسية من الطعام لدى البالغين هي الفول السوداني والأسماك والمحار (الروبيان أو جراد البحر) وشجرة الجوز (اللوز وعين الجمل والجوز والكاجو).

إذا كنت تعاني من الحساسية من الطعام، فستحتاج إلى تجنب الطعام المسبب للحساسية. فتفاعل الحساسية يمكن أن يضع جهازك المناعي في حالة طوارئ بسرعة، مما يؤثر على العديد من الأعضاء في الجسم. وبالنسبة إلى بعض الأشخاص، حتى قدر ضئيل من الطعام قد يسبب علامات وأعراضًا مثل مشكلات الهضم أو الطفح الجلدي أو تورم الوجه أوصعوبة في التنفس.

يتعرض بعض المصابين بالحساسية من الطعام إلى خطر الإصابة بتفاعل مهدد للحياة (فرط الحساسية) مما يتطلب العلاج الفوري.

لا تتجاهل التفاعل الذي يحدث بعد فترة وجيزة من تناول طعام معين. زر الطبيب لتحديد السبب في حدوث هذا التفاعل. حتى وإن أصبت بتفاعل خفيف نسبيًا في الماضي، فإن تفاعلات الحساسية اللاحقة قد تكون أكثر خطورة. احصل على العلاج الفوري لأي تفاعل حاد من الطعام.

27/09/2018 See more Expert Answers

Can adults develop a food allergy?

Answers from James T C Li, M.D., Ph.D.

Most food allergies start in childhood, but they can develop at any time of life. It isn't clear why, but some adults develop an allergy to a food they used to eat with no problem. Sometimes a child outgrows a food allergy only to have it reappear in adulthood.

The most common foods that cause food allergy in adults are peanuts, fish, shellfish (shrimp or lobster) and tree nuts (almonds, walnuts, pecans and cashews).

If you have a food allergy, you'll need to avoid the offending food. An allergic reaction can quickly put your immune system into a state of emergency, affecting numerous organs in your body. For certain people, even a tiny amount of the food may cause signs and symptoms such as digestive problems, hives, facial swelling or trouble breathing.

Some people with a food allergy are at risk of a life-threatening reaction (anaphylaxis) that requires emergency treatment.

Don't ignore a reaction that occurs shortly after eating a particular food. See your doctor to determine what's causing it. Even if you've had a relatively mild reaction in the past, subsequent allergic reactions may be more serious. Get emergency treatment for any severe food reaction.

June 02, 2017 See more Expert Answers