التشخيص

إذا كنتِ غير قادرة على الحمل خلال فترة زمنية معقولة، فاطلبي المساعدة من طبيبكِ لتقييم هذا العقم وعلاجه.

قد تتضمن اختبارات الخصوبة ما يلي:

  • اختبار الإباضة. أداة كشف منزلية بدون وصفة طبية تكتشف الارتفاع القوي لهرمون اللَوْتنة (LH) والذي يحدث قبل الإباضة. فحص بروجسترون الدم — وهو هرمون ينتج بعد الإباضة — ويمكن أن يؤكد وجود التبويض لديكِ. مستويات هرمون أخرى، مثل البرولاكتين، قد تُفحَص أيضًا.
  • تصوير الرحم والبوق. أثناء تصوير الرحم والبوق، تُحقن صبغة الأشعة السينية في الرحم ويتم تصوير الأشعة السينية للكشف عن تشوُّهات في تجويف الرحم. يحدد الاختبار أيضًا ما إذا كان السائل يمُر خارج الرحم وينسكب من قناتي فالوب. إذا عُثِر على أي تشوهات، فستحتاجين على الأرجح إلى مزيد من التقييم. في عدد قليل من النساء، يمكن للاختبار نفسه أن يحسِّن الخصوبة، ربما عن طريق ضخ السائل وفتح قناة فالوب.
  • فحص مخزون المبيض. يساعد هذا الاختبار في تحديد جودة وكمية البويضات المتاحة للإباضة. النساء المعرَّضات لنفاد البويضات — بما في ذلك النساء الأكبر من 35 سنة — قد يخضعن لتلك السلسلة من اختبارات الدم والفحوصات التصويرية.
  • فحوصات هرمونية أخرى. اختبارات هرمونية أخرى تتحقَّق من مستويات هرمونات التبويض وكذلك هرمونات الغدة الدرقية والغدة النخامية والتي تتحكم في العمليات التناسلية.
  • الفحوصات التصويرية. تبحث الموجات فوق الصوتية على الحوض عن أمراض الرحم وقناتي فالوب. أحيانًا ما يُسمَّى تصوير الرحم بتصوير الموجات الصوتية للرحم بعد تنقيط وريدي لمحلول ملحي؛ لمعرفة التفاصيل داخل الرحم والتي لا يمكن رؤيتها بالموجات فوق الصوتية العادية.

بناءً على حالتكِ، نادرًا ما قد يتضمن فحصكِ ما يلي:

  • الفحوصات التصويرية الأخرى. بناءً على أعراضك، قد يطلب طبيبكِ بتنظير الرحم للبحث عن مرض في الرحم أو قناتي فالوب.
  • تنظير البطن. تتضمن تلك الجراحة طفيفة التوغل إجراء شِقٍّ صغير أسفل السُّرَّة وإدخال جهاز رؤية رفيع لفحص قناتي فالوب، والـمِبيَضين، والرحم. يمكن لتنظير البطن أن يكشف عن انتباذ بطانة الرحم (بطانة الرحم المهاجرة)، أو التندب، أو الانسدادات، أو العيوب في قناتي فالوب والمشكلات المتعلقة بالـمِبيَضين والرحم.
  • الاختبارات الجينية. تساعد الاختبارات الجينية على تحديد إذا ما كان هناك عيوب وراثية تسبب العقم.

العلاج

يَعتمِد علاج العُقم على السبب والعمر وطول المدَّة التي قَضَيتها وأنت مُصاب بالعُقم وتفضيلاتك الشخصية. لأن العُقم هو اضطراب مُعقَّد، فإن العلاج ينطوي على التِزاماتٍ مالية وجسدية ونفسية ووقتيَّة كبيرة.

على الرغم من أن بعض النساء يحتجنَ إلى علاجٍ واحد أو اثنين لاستعادة الخُصوبة، إلَّا أنه قد تكون هناك حاجة إلى مُختلف أنواع العلاج.

قد تهدُف العلاجات إمَّا إلى استعادة الخُصوبة من خلال الدواء أو الجراحة، أو مُساعدتك على الحمْل بتقنيات مُعقَّدة.

استعادة الخصوبة: تحفيز الإباضة باستخدام أدوية الخصوبة

تُنظم أدوية الخصوبة الإباضة أو تحفزها. إن أدوية الخصوبة هي العلاج الرئيسي للنساء المصابات بالعقم نتيجة لاضطرابات الإباضة.

أدوية الخصوبة عمومًا تعمل مثل الهرمونات الطبيعية — الهرمون المنبِّه للجُرَيب. (FSH) وهرمون اللَوْتنة (LH) — لتحفيز الإباضة. كما أنها تستخدم في النساء اللاتي ينتجن البويضات في محاولة لتحفيز بويضة أفضل أو بويضة أو بويضات إضافية. قد تشمل أدوية الخصوبة ما يلي:

  • كلوميفين سترات. يؤخذ عقار كلوميفين (كلوميد) عن طريق الفم ويحفز الإباضة عن طريق تحفيز الغدة النخامية لإطلاق المزيد من الهرمون المنبِّه للجُرَيب وهرمون اللَوْتنة، اللذين يحفزان نمو جُرَيْب المبيض الذي تحتوي على بويضة.
  • الموجهات التناسلية. بدلًا من تحفيز الغدة النخامية لإطلاق المزيد من الهرمونات، تعمل هذه العلاجات المحقونة على تحفيز المبيض مباشرة لإنتاج بويضات متعددة. وتشمل أدوية الموجهات التناسلية، موجهة الغدد التناسلية الإياسية البشرية أو hMG (مينوبور (Menopur)) والهرمون المنبِّه للجُرَيب (جونال إف، وفوليستيم إيه كيو، وبرافيل). وتُستخدم موجهة تناسلية أخرى، وهي موجهة الغدد التناسلية المشيمائية (أوفيدريل، وبريجنيل) لإنضاج البويضات وتحفيز إطلاقها في وقت الإباضة. هناك مخاوف من وجود خطر أكبر للإصابة بمضاعفات والتعرض لولادة سابقة لأوانها مع استخدام الموجهات التناسلية.
  • الميتفورمين. يستخدم الميتفورمين (غلوكوفاج، وأدوية أخرى) عندما تكون مقاومة الأنسولين سببًا معروفًا أو مشتبهًا به في حدوث العقم، وعادة في النساء المصابات بمتلازمة المبيض المتعدد الكيسات. يساعد الميتفورمين في تحسين مقاومة الأنسولين، والتي يمكن أن تحسن من احتمال الإباضة.
  • الليتروزول. ينتمي عقار الليتروزول (فيمارا) إلى فئة من الأدوية المعروفة باسم مثبطات أروماتاز ويعمل بطريقة مماثلة لعمل عقار كلوميفين. قد يحفز الليتروزول الإباضة. ومع ذلك، فإن تأثير هذا الدواء على الفترة المبكرة للحمل لم يعرف حتى الآن؛ لذلك لا يستخدم كثيرًا في تحفيز الإباضة مثل الأدوية الأخرى.
  • البروموكريبتين. يمكن استخدام عقار البروموكريبتين (سيكلوسيت)، إحدى ناهضات الدوبامين، عندما تكون مشاكل الإباضة ناتجة عن زيادة إنتاج الغدة النخامية للبرولاكتين (فرط برولاكتين الدم).

مخاطر أدوية الخصوبة

استخدام أدوية الخصوبة ينطوي على بعض المخاطر، مثل:

  • حمل التوائم. تَحمِل الأدوية الفموية مخاطر أقل نسبيًّا من (أقل من 10%) خطر التوائم. تَزيد فرصتكِ بنسبة 30% مع الأدوية التي يتمُّ إعطاؤها عن طريق الحقن. قد تحمل أدوية الخصوبة التي يتمُّ إعطاؤها عن طريق الحقن أيضًا عامل خطر رئيسيًّا من حمل ثلاث توائم أو أكثر (الحمل المُتعدِّد من الدرجة الأعلى).

    وعمومًا، فإنه كلما زاد عدد الأجنة التي قد تحملينها، زاد خطر حدوث خدج لاحق، ونقص الوزن عند الولادة، ومشكلات تنموية لاحقة. في بعض الأحيان فإن ضبط الأدوية يُمكن أن يُقلِّل من خطر حمل التوائم، في حالة تطوُّر عدد كبير من الجريبات.

  • مُتلازمة فرط تحفيز المبيض (OHSS). حقن أدوية الخصوبة لتنشيط الإباضة يُمكن أن يُسبِّب OHSS، وهو ما يُسبِّب تورُّم المبايض والإحساس بالألم. تختفي العلامات والأعراض عادةً دون علاج، وتتضمَّن الشعور بألم خفيف في البطن والانتفاخ والغثيان والقيء والإسهال.

    وقد تستمرُّ الأعراض لعدة أسابيع حتى في حالة الحمل. وفي حالات نادرة من الممكن الإصابة بشكل أكثر حدة من OHSS الذي قد يُسبِّب أيضًا زيادة سريعة في الوزن وألمًا متزايدًا في المبايض، وتجمُّع سوائل في البطن.

  • المخاطر على المدى الطويل لأورام المبايض. غالبية الدراسات التي يتمُّ إجراؤها على النساء باستخدام أدوية الخصوبة تُفيد بوجود مخاطر على المدى الطويل. في حين، تقترح بضع دراسات قليلة أن المرأة التي تتناول أدوية خصوبة لمدة 12 شهرًا أو أكثر دون حدوث حمل قد تكون عرضة لخطر متزايد لحدوث أورام المبايض الحدِّيَّة لاحقًا في فترة ما من حياتها.

    النساء اللائي لم يحدث لهن حمل يَكُنَّ عرضة لخطر متزايد لحدوث أورام المبايض، لذا، فقد يتعلَّق الأمر بمشكلة كامنة بشكل يفوق العلاج. نظرًا لأن مُعدَّلات النجاح تكون عادةً أعلى في دورات العلاج القليلة الأولى، فإن أدوية إعادة التقييم التي تُستخدَم كل بضعة شهور قليلة وتُركِّز على العلاجات التي تُحقِّق النجاح يبدو أنها مناسبة.

استعادة الخصوبة: الجراحة

تُوجد العديد من الإجراءات الجراحية التي يُمكنها تصحيح المشكلات أو تحسين الخصوبة عند النساء. ومع ذلك، يَندُر استخدام أنواع العلاج الجراحية للخصوبة هذه الأيام؛ نظرًا لنجاح أنواع العلاج الأخرى. وتتضمن:

  • جراحة بتنظير البطن أو تنظير الرحم. يُمكن أن تُزيل هذه الجراحات التشوُّهات أو تُصحِّحها للمساعدة في تحسين فرصكِ لحدوث الحمل. قد تتضمَّن الجراحة تصحيح شكل الرحم غير الطبيعي، أو إزالة سلائل بطانة الرحم وبعض أنواع الأورام الليفية التي تُشوِّه تجويف الرحم، أو إزالة التصاقات الحوض أو الرحم.
  • الجراحات البوقية. في حالة انسداد قناتَيْ فالوب أو امتلائهما بالسوائل (موه البوق)، قد يُوصي طبيبكِ المعالج بإجراء جراحة تنظير البطن لإزالة الالتصاقات، أو توسيع إحدى القناتين أو إنشاء فتحة بوقية جديدة. تُعَدُّ هذه الجراحة نادرة، حيث إن معدلات حدوث الحمل تكون أفضل عادةً باستخدام الإخصاب في المختبر. في حالة موه البوق، فإن إزالة قناتيكِ (استئصال البوق) أو سدهما عند نقطة قريبة من الرحم من شأنه أن يُحَسِّن من فرص الحمل باستخدام الإخصاب في المختبر.

المساعَدة على الإنجاب

تتضمَّن الطرق الأكثر شيوعًا للمساعَدة على الإنجاب ما يلي:

  • التلقيح داخل الرحِم (IUI). أثناء التلقيح داخل الرحم (IUI)، تُوضَع ملايين الحيوانات المنوية السليمة داخل الرحم بحلول وقت الإباضة.
  • تقنية المساعَدة على الإنجاب. ويتضمن هذا الإجراء أخْذ بويضات ناضجة من المرأة وتخصيبها بحيوان منويّ من الرجل في طبق الفحص المختبري (طبق بتري)، ثم نقْل الأجنة وزَرْعها في الرحم بعد الإخصاب. تقنية الإخصاب في المختبر (IVF) هي أكثر تقنيات المساعَدة على الإنجاب فعاليَّة. تستغرق دورة تقنية الإخصاب في المختبر (IVF) عدة أسابيع، وتتطلَّب إجراء اختبارات دم متكرِّرة، وحقْن الهرمونات بشكل يومي.

التجارب السريرية

اطلع على الدراسات التي تجريها Mayo Clinic لاختبار العلاجات والتدخلات الطبية والفحوصات الجديدة كوسائل للوقاية من هذا المرض أو تشخيصه أو علاجه أو السيطرة عليه.

التأقلم والدعم

قد يكون التعامل مع العقم عند النساء مرهقًا بدنيًّا وعاطفيًّا. وللتكيف مع تقلبات اختبارات العقم وعلاجاتها، حاولي اتباع هذه الاستراتيجيات:

  • كوني مستعدة. يمكن أن تكون حالة عدم اليقين التي تسبِّبها اختبارات وعلاجات العقم صعبة ومسببة للتوتر. اطلبي من طبيبك توضيح خطوات علاجك لمساعدتك على الاستعداد أنت وشريكك. فقد يساعدك فهم الخطوات على تقليل التوتر.
  • التمسي الدعم. على الرغم من أن العقم قد يكون مسألة شخصية للغاية، فإن عليكِ التماس الدعم من شريكِ، أو أفراد عائلتك أو أصدقائك المقربين، أو أحد المتخصصين. وتُتيح العديد من مجموعات الدعم على الإنترنت الحفاظ على سرية هويتكِ أثناء مناقشة مشاكلكِ المتعلقة بالعقم.
  • مارسي الرياضة واتبعي نظامًا غذائيًّا صحيًّا. قد تساعد المواظبة على اتباع نظام معتدل لممارسة الرياضة، وتناول الطعام الصحي على تحسين نظرتك للحياة والتركيز على الاستمتاع بحياتك بالرغم من مشكلة العقم.
  • ضعي في اعتباركَ الخيارات المتاحة الأخرى. حددي البدائل — سواء عبر التبني، أو الحصول على السائل المنوي أو البويضات من متبرع، أو حتى عدم الإنجاب — في أقرب وقت ممكن في عملية علاج العقم. فيمكن أن يخفض هذا من التوتر أثناء تلقي العلاجات ويقلل من إحباطكِ في حالة عدم حدوث الحمل.

التحضير من أجل موعدك الطبي

من أجل تقييم حالة العقم، ستقوم على الأرجح باستشارة اختصاصي الغدد الصماء التناسلية — وهو الطبيب المتخصص في علاج الاضطرابات التي تمنع الأزواج من الإنجاب. سيرغب الطبيب على الأرجح في فحصك أنتَ وشريكتك للتعرُّف على الأسباب المُحتملة للعقم وعلاجه.

ما يمكنك فعله

للاستعداد لموعدك الطبي:

  • ضعِي مخططًا للدورة الحيض والأعراض المصاحبة لها لعدة شهور. باستخدام التقويم أو جهاز إلكتروني، سجِّلي موعد بدء الدورة وانتهائها وشكل مخاط عنق الرحم الخاص بك. سجِّلي أيام الجِماع مع زوجك.
  • ضعِي قائمة بأيِّ أدوية أو فيتامينات أو أعشاب أو مكمِّلات غذائية أخرى تتناولينها. اكتبِي الجرعات وكيفية تناوُلها في الغالب.
  • أحضِري السجلات الطبية السابقة. سيرغب طبيبك في معرفة الفحوصات التي قمتِ بها والعلاجات التي جربتِها بالفعل.
  • أحضِري معكِ مفكِّرة أو جهازًا إلكترونيًّا. قد يحصل المريض على الكثير من المعلومات في الزيارة، وقد يكون من الصعب تذكُّر جميع الأمور.
  • فكِّري في الأسئلة التي تودين طرحها. ضعِي قائمة بالأسئلة الأكثر أهميةً أولًا لضمان الحصول على إجابة عن تلك الأسئلة.

تتضمن بعض الأسئلة الأساسية التي تودين طرحها ما يلي:

  • موعد مرات الجماع وتكرارها إذا كنا نريد حدوث حمل؟
  • هل توجد تغييرات في نمط الحياة يمكننا القيام بها لتحسين فرص حدوث الحمل؟
  • هل تُوصي بإجراء أي فحوصات؟ إذا كان الأمر كذلك، فما نوعها؟
  • هل تتوافر أدوية يمكنها تحسين القدرة على الحمل؟
  • ما الآثار الجانبية التي يمكن أن تسببها الأدوية؟
  • هلا شرحت خيارات العلاج الخاصة بنا بالتفصيل.
  • ما هو العلاج الذي تنصح به في حالتنا؟
  • ما معدل نجاحك في مساعدة الأزواج على تحقيق الحمل؟
  • هل هناك أي منشورات أو مواد مطبوعة أخرى يمكنني الحصول عليها؟
  • ما المواقع الإلكترونية التي تُوصِيني بزيارتها؟

لا تترددي في الطلب من طبيبك تكرار المعلومات أو توجيه أسئلة المتابعة.

ما يُمكن أن يقوم به الطبيب

تتضمَّن بعض الأسئلة التي قد يطرحها عليكِ طبيبكِ أو غيره من مزوِّدي الرعاية الصحية ما يلي:

  • منذ متى وأنتِ تحاولين الحمل؟
  • كم مرة يحدُث الجماع؟
  • هل حملتِ من قبل؟ إذا كانت الإجابة نعم، فماذا كانت نتيجة هذا الحمل؟
  • هل خضعتِ لأي عمليات جراحية بالحوض أو البطن؟
  • هل خضعتِ لأي علاج من أي حالات صحية خاصة بالنساء؟
  • في أي عمر بدأتْ أول دَّورة حيضيَّة؟
  • في المتوسط، كم عدد الأيام التي تمرُّ بين بداية دَّورة حيضيَّة وبداية الدَّورة الحيضيَّة التي تليها؟
  • هل يكون لديكِ أعراض ما قبل الحيض، مثل إيلام الثدي عند اللمس أو انتفاخ البطن أو تقلصات مؤلمة؟
21/12/2019
  1. Frequently asked questions. Gynecologic problems FAQ137. Treating infertility. American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists. http://www.acog.org/~/media/For%20Patients/faq137.pdf?dmc=1&ts=20130521T1023327144. Accessed May 10, 2016.
  2. Frequently asked questions. Gynecologic problems FAQ138. Evaluating infertility. American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists. http://www.acog.org/~/media/For%20Patients/faq136.pdf?dmc=1&ts=20130521T1027034009. Accessed May 10, 2016.
  3. Infertility: Frequently asked questions. National Women's Health Information Center. http://www.womenshealth.gov/publications/our-publications/fact-sheet/infertility.pdf. Accessed May 10, 2016.
  4. Infertility FAQs. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. http://www.cdc.gov/reproductivehealth/Infertility/. Accessed May 10, 2016.
  5. Assisted reproductive technologies: A guide for patients. American Society for Reproductive Medicine. https://www.reproductivefacts.org/news-and-publications/patient-fact-sheets-and-booklets/documents/fact-sheets-and-info-booklets/assisted-reproductive-technologies-booklet/ Accessed July 16, 2019.
  6. Infertility: An overview — A guide for patients. American Society for Reproductive Medicine. http://www.asrm.org/uploadedFiles/ASRM_Content/Resources/Patient_Resources/Fact_Sheets_and_Info_Booklets/infertility_overview.pdf. Accessed May 10, 2016.
  7. Kuohung W, et al. Overview of infertility. http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed May 10, 2016.
  8. Frequently asked questions. Gynecological problems FAQ013. Endometriosis. American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists. http://www.acog.org/~/media/For%20Patients/faq013.pdf?dmc=1&ts=20130305T1348596508. Accessed May 10, 2016.
  9. Kuohung W, et al. Causes of female infertility. http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed May 10, 2016.
  10. Kuohung W, et al. Evaluation of female infertility. http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed May 10, 2016.
  11. Kuohung W, et al. Overview of treatment of female infertility. http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed May 10, 2016.
  12. Hornstein MD, et al. Optimizing natural fertility in couples planning pregnancy. http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed May 10, 2016.
  13. Alcohol use in pregnancy. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. http://www.cdc.gov/ncbddd/fasd/alcohol-use.html. Accessed May 10, 2016.
  14. Nisenblat V, et al. The effects of caffeine on reproductive outcomes in women. http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed May 10, 2016.
  15. Nelson LM. Clinical manifestations and evaluation of spontaneous primary ovarian insufficiency (premature ovarian failure). http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed May 11, 2016.
  16. Barbieri RL, et al. Clinical manifestations of polycystic ovary syndrome in adults. http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed May 11, 2016.
  17. Coddington CC (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn. May 18, 2016.
  18. Asante A, et al. Fertility drug use and the risk of ovarian tumors in infertile women: A case-control study. Fertility and Sterility. 2013;99:2031.
  19. Snyder PJ. Clinical manifestations and evaluation of hyperprolactinemia. http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed May 11, 2016.
  20. Chen L, et al. Borderline ovarian tumors. http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed May 11, 2016.

Diagnosis

If you've been unable to conceive within a reasonable period of time, seek help from your doctor for evaluation and treatment of infertility.

Fertility tests may include:

  • Ovulation testing. An at-home, over-the-counter ovulation prediction kit detects the surge in luteinizing hormone (LH) that occurs before ovulation. A blood test for progesterone — a hormone produced after ovulation — can also document that you're ovulating. Other hormone levels, such as prolactin, also may be checked.
  • Hysterosalpingography. During hysterosalpingography (his-tur-o-sal-ping-GOG-ruh-fee), X-ray contrast is injected into your uterus and an X-ray is taken to detect abnormalities in the uterine cavity. The test also determines whether the fluid passes out of the uterus and spills out of your fallopian tubes. If abnormalities are found, you'll likely need further evaluation. In a few women, the test itself can improve fertility, possibly by flushing out and opening the fallopian tubes.
  • Ovarian reserve testing. This testing helps determine the quality and quantity of eggs available for ovulation. Women at risk of a depleted egg supply — including women older than 35 — may have this series of blood and imaging tests.
  • Other hormone testing. Other hormone tests check levels of ovulatory hormones as well as thyroid and pituitary hormones that control reproductive processes.
  • Imaging tests. A pelvic ultrasound looks for uterine or fallopian tube disease. Sometimes a hysterosonography (his-tur-o-suh-NOG-ruh-fee) is used to see details inside the uterus that can't be seen on a regular ultrasound.

Depending on your situation, rarely your testing may include:

  • Other imaging tests. Depending on your symptoms, your doctor may request a hysteroscopy to look for uterine or fallopian tube disease.
  • Laparoscopy. This minimally invasive surgery involves making a small incision beneath your navel and inserting a thin viewing device to examine your fallopian tubes, ovaries and uterus. A laparoscopy may identify endometriosis, scarring, blockages or irregularities of the fallopian tubes, and problems with the ovaries and uterus.
  • Genetic testing. Genetic testing helps determine whether there's a genetic defect causing infertility.

Treatment

Infertility treatment depends on the cause, your age, how long you've been infertile and personal preferences. Because infertility is a complex disorder, treatment involves significant financial, physical, psychological and time commitments.

Although some women need just one or two therapies to restore fertility, it's possible that several different types of treatment may be needed.

Treatments can either attempt to restore fertility through medication or surgery, or help you get pregnant with sophisticated techniques.

Fertility restoration: Stimulating ovulation with fertility drugs

Fertility drugs regulate or stimulate ovulation. Fertility drugs are the main treatment for women who are infertile due to ovulation disorders.

Fertility drugs generally work like the natural hormones — follicle-stimulating hormone (FSH) and luteinizing hormone (LH) — to trigger ovulation. They're also used in women who ovulate to try to stimulate a better egg or an extra egg or eggs. Fertility drugs may include:

  • Clomiphene citrate. Clomiphene (Clomid) is taken by mouth and stimulates ovulation by causing the pituitary gland to release more FSH and LH, which stimulate the growth of an ovarian follicle containing an egg.
  • Gonadotropins. Instead of stimulating the pituitary gland to release more hormones, these injected treatments stimulate the ovary directly to produce multiple eggs. Gonadotropin medications include human menopausal gonadotropin or hMG (Menopur) and FSH (Gonal-F, Follistim AQ, Bravelle). Another gonadotropin, human chorionic gonadotropin (Ovidrel, Pregnyl), is used to mature the eggs and trigger their release at the time of ovulation. Concerns exist that there's a higher risk of conceiving multiples and having a premature delivery with gonadotropin use.
  • Metformin. Metformin (Glucophage, others) is used when insulin resistance is a known or suspected cause of infertility, usually in women with a diagnosis of PCOS. Metformin helps improve insulin resistance, which can improve the likelihood of ovulation.
  • Letrozole. Letrozole (Femara) belongs to a class of drugs known as aromatase inhibitors and works in a similar fashion to clomiphene. Letrozole may induce ovulation. However, the effect this medication has on early pregnancy isn't yet known, so it isn't used for ovulation induction as frequently as others.
  • Bromocriptine. Bromocriptine (Cycloset), a dopamine agonist, may be used when ovulation problems are caused by excess production of prolactin (hyperprolactinemia) by the pituitary gland.

Risks of fertility drugs

Using fertility drugs carries some risks, such as:

  • Pregnancy with multiples. Oral medications carry a fairly low risk of multiples (less than 10 percent) and mostly a risk of twins. Your chances increase up to 30 percent with injectable medications. Injectable fertility medications also carry the major risk of triplets or more (higher order multiple pregnancy).

    Generally, the more fetuses you're carrying, the greater the risk of premature labor, low birth weight and later developmental problems. Sometimes adjusting medications can lower the risk of multiples, if too many follicles develop.

  • Ovarian hyperstimulation syndrome (OHSS). Injecting fertility drugs to induce ovulation can cause OHSS, which causes swollen and painful ovaries. Signs and symptoms usually go away without treatment, and include mild abdominal pain, bloating, nausea, vomiting and diarrhea.

    If you become pregnant, however, your symptoms might last several weeks. Rarely, it's possible to develop a more-severe form of OHSS that can also cause rapid weight gain, enlarged painful ovaries, fluid in the abdomen and shortness of breath.

  • Long-term risks of ovarian tumors. Most studies of women using fertility drugs suggest that there are few if any long-term risks. However, a few studies suggest that women taking fertility drugs for 12 or more months without a successful pregnancy may be at increased risk of borderline ovarian tumors later in life.

    Women who never have pregnancies have an increased risk of ovarian tumors, so it may be related to the underlying problem rather than the treatment. Since success rates are typically higher in the first few treatment cycles, re-evaluating medication use every few months and concentrating on the treatments that have the most success appear to be appropriate.

Fertility restoration: Surgery

Several surgical procedures can correct problems or otherwise improve female fertility. However, surgical treatments for fertility are rare these days due to the success of other treatments. They include:

  • Laparoscopic or hysteroscopic surgery. These surgeries can remove or correct abnormalities to help improve your chances of getting pregnant. Surgery might involve correcting an abnormal uterine shape, removing endometrial polyps and some types of fibroids that misshape the uterine cavity, or removing pelvic or uterine adhesions.
  • Tubal surgeries. If your fallopian tubes are blocked or filled with fluid (hydrosalpinx), your doctor may recommend laparoscopic surgery to remove adhesions, dilate a tube or create a new tubal opening. This surgery is rare, as pregnancy rates are usually better with IVF. For hydrosalpinx, removal of your tubes (salpingectomy) or blocking the tubes close to the uterus can improve your chances of pregnancy with IVF.

Reproductive assistance

The most commonly used methods of reproductive assistance include:

  • Intrauterine insemination (IUI). During IUI, millions of healthy sperm are placed inside the uterus close to the time of ovulation.
  • Assisted reproductive technology. This involves retrieving mature eggs from a woman, fertilizing them with a man's sperm in a dish in a lab, then transferring the embryos into the uterus after fertilization. IVF is the most effective assisted reproductive technology. An IVF cycle takes several weeks and requires frequent blood tests and daily hormone injections.

Clinical trials

Explore Mayo Clinic studies testing new treatments, interventions and tests as a means to prevent, detect, treat or manage this disease.

Coping and support

Dealing with female infertility can be physically and emotionally exhausting. To cope with the ups and downs of infertility testing and treatment, consider these strategies:

  • Be prepared. The uncertainty of infertility testing and treatments can be difficult and stressful. Ask your doctor to explain the steps for your therapy to help you and your partner prepare. Understanding the process may help reduce your anxiety.
  • Seek support. Although infertility can be a deeply personal issue, reach out to your partner, close family members or friends, or a professional for support. Many online support groups allow you to maintain your anonymity while you discuss issues related to infertility.
  • Exercise and eat a healthy diet. Keeping up a moderate exercise routine and eating healthy foods can improve your outlook and keep you focused on living your life despite fertility problems.
  • Consider other options. Determine alternatives — adoption, donor sperm or egg, or even having no children — as early as possible in the infertility treatment process. This can reduce anxiety during treatments and disappointment if conception doesn't occur.

Preparing for your appointment

For an infertility evaluation, you'll likely see a reproductive endocrinologist — a doctor who specializes in treating disorders that prevent couples from conceiving. Your doctor will likely want to evaluate both you and your partner to identify potential causes and treatments for infertility.

What you can do

To prepare for your appointment:

  • Chart your menstrual cycles and associated symptoms for a few months. On a calendar or an electronic device, record when your period starts and stops and how your cervical mucus looks. Make note of days when you and your partner have intercourse.
  • Make a list of any medications, vitamins, herbs or other supplements you take. Include the doses and how often you take them.
  • Bring previous medical records. Your doctor will want to know what tests you've had and what treatments you've already tried.
  • Bring a notebook or electronic device with you. You may receive a lot of information at your visit, and it can be difficult to remember everything.
  • Think about what questions you'll ask. List the most important questions first to be sure that they get answered.

Some basic questions to ask include:

  • When and how often should we have intercourse if we hope to conceive?
  • Are there any lifestyle changes we can make to improve the chances of getting pregnant?
  • Do you recommend any testing? If so, what kind?
  • Are medications available that might improve the ability to conceive?
  • What side effects can the medications cause?
  • Would you explain our treatment options in detail?
  • What treatment do you recommend in our situation?
  • What's your success rate for assisting couples in achieving pregnancy?
  • Do you have any brochures or other printed materials that we can have?
  • What websites do you recommend visiting?

Don't hesitate to ask your doctor to repeat information or to ask follow-up questions.

What to expect from your doctor

Some potential questions your doctor or other health care provider might ask include:

  • How long have you been trying to become pregnant?
  • How often do you have intercourse?
  • Have you ever been pregnant? If so, what was the outcome of that pregnancy?
  • Have you had any pelvic or abdominal surgeries?
  • Have you been treated for any gynecological conditions?
  • At what age did you first start having periods?
  • On average, how many days pass between the beginning of one menstrual cycle and the beginning of your next menstrual cycle?
  • Do you experience premenstrual symptoms, such as breast tenderness, abdominal bloating or cramping?
Nov. 24, 2016
References
  1. Frequently asked questions. Gynecologic problems FAQ137. Treating infertility. American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists. http://www.acog.org/~/media/For%20Patients/faq137.pdf?dmc=1&ts=20130521T1023327144. Accessed May 10, 2016.
  2. Frequently asked questions. Gynecologic problems FAQ138. Evaluating infertility. American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists. http://www.acog.org/~/media/For%20Patients/faq136.pdf?dmc=1&ts=20130521T1027034009. Accessed May 10, 2016.
  3. Infertility: Frequently asked questions. National Women's Health Information Center. http://www.womenshealth.gov/publications/our-publications/fact-sheet/infertility.pdf. Accessed May 10, 2016.
  4. Infertility FAQs. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. http://www.cdc.gov/reproductivehealth/Infertility/. Accessed May 10, 2016.
  5. Assisted reproductive technologies: A guide for patients. American Society for Reproductive Medicine. http://www.asrm.org/uploadedFiles/ASRM_Content/Resources/Patient_Resources/Fact_Sheets_and_Info_Booklets/ART.pdf. Accessed May 10, 2016.
  6. Infertility: An overview — A guide for patients. American Society for Reproductive Medicine. http://www.asrm.org/uploadedFiles/ASRM_Content/Resources/Patient_Resources/Fact_Sheets_and_Info_Booklets/infertility_overview.pdf. Accessed May 10, 2016.
  7. Kuohung W, et al. Overview of infertility. http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed May 10, 2016.
  8. Frequently asked questions. Gynecological problems FAQ013. Endometriosis. American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists. http://www.acog.org/~/media/For%20Patients/faq013.pdf?dmc=1&ts=20130305T1348596508. Accessed May 10, 2016.
  9. Kuohung W, et al. Causes of female infertility. http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed May 10, 2016.
  10. Kuohung W, et al. Evaluation of female infertility. http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed May 10, 2016.
  11. Kuohung W, et al. Overview of treatment of female infertility. http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed May 10, 2016.
  12. Hornstein MD, et al. Optimizing natural fertility in couples planning pregnancy. http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed May 10, 2016.
  13. Alcohol use in pregnancy. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. http://www.cdc.gov/ncbddd/fasd/alcohol-use.html. Accessed May 10, 2016.
  14. Nisenblat V, et al. The effects of caffeine on reproductive outcomes in women. http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed May 10, 2016.
  15. Nelson LM. Clinical manifestations and evaluation of spontaneous primary ovarian insufficiency (premature ovarian failure). http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed May 11, 2016.
  16. Barbieri RL, et al. Clinical manifestations of polycystic ovary syndrome in adults. http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed May 11, 2016.
  17. Coddington CC (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn. May 18, 2016.
  18. Asante A, et al. Fertility drug use and the risk of ovarian tumors in infertile women: A case-control study. Fertility and Sterility. 2013;99:2031.
  19. Snyder PJ. Clinical manifestations and evaluation of hyperprolactinemia. http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed May 11, 2016.
  20. Chen L, et al. Borderline ovarian tumors. http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed May 11, 2016.