糖尿病性黄斑水肿筛查:多久一次?

定期筛查糖尿病性黄斑水肿是预防视力下降的关键。

糖尿病性黄斑水肿是糖尿病的一种并发症,可导致视力减退。它发生时往往没有伴随任何症状。如果您患有糖尿病,请定期安排眼科检查,以筛查这种并发症,保护您的视力很重要。

全面的眼科检查可以发现眼球后部黄斑是否肿胀(水肿)。黄斑对您的中央视觉至关重要,可以让您看清事物的细节。

如果您患有 2 型糖尿病,医生可能会建议您在确诊后立即进行全面的眼科检查。如果您患有 1 型糖尿病,建议在确诊后的 3 到 5 年内做一次眼科检查。

无论哪种情况,您都需要在初次眼科检查后安排持续的、每年一次的眼科检查,以检查有没有迹象表明糖尿病带来了损害。仅仅做眼科检查还不够。如果您的视网膜已经出现了一些损伤(视网膜病),医生可能会建议您增加检查次数。如果您怀孕了,医生也可能会建议您在孕早期做一次眼科检查,在整个孕期和产后一年内复诊。因为怀孕期间血糖水平有可能会飙升,进而影响眼睛。对于大多数女性来说,这种情况只是暂时的,分娩后很快就会消失。

眼科检查期间可能出现的情况

全面的眼科检查由专门治疗眼部疾病的医生(眼科医生或验光师)检查。该检查包括多项测试:

  • 视力检查。您要看视力表。还会让您盯着一个中心目标,然后用某种方式做出回应,比如当看到一个物体出现在您的视野两侧(周边视觉)时,您需要按下一个按钮或者对医生说些什么。
  • 视网膜检查。散瞳检查可以帮助眼科医生好好检查您的视网膜。医生会在您的眼睛里滴上特殊的药水,使瞳孔扩大(扩张)。这样,他或她能充分检查您的眼睛背面,以帮助检测糖尿病性黄斑水肿和其他眼睛问题。医生也可以在扩张瞳孔的情况下提供视网膜筛查摄影。
  • 眼压测量。医生会测量您眼睛内部的压力。高压会造成视神经损伤(青光眼)而导致失明。

如果您的视力模糊,感到眼睛有压力,或者在任何距离都看不见东西,不要等待一年一度的眼科检查。立即联系您的医生。早期发现和治疗糖尿病性黄斑水肿有助于防止视力下降。

July 02, 2022 了解更多深度信息

Screening for diabetic macular edema: How often?

Regular screening for diabetic macular edema is key to preventing vision loss.

Diabetic macular edema is a complication of diabetes that can cause vision loss. It often occurs with no symptoms. If you have diabetes, it's important to schedule regular eye exams to screen for this complication and preserve your vision.

A comprehensive eye exam can detect swelling (edema) in the macula at the back of your eye. The macula is essential to your central vision and allows you to see in fine detail.

If you have type 2 diabetes, your doctor may recommend that you have a comprehensive eye exam immediately after diagnosis. If you have type 1 diabetes, it's recommended that you have an eye exam within three to five years of diagnosis.

In either case, you'll need to schedule ongoing, yearly eye exams after your initial eye exam to look for signs of damage from diabetes. Simply having your eye prescription tested isn't enough. Your doctor might recommend more-frequent exams if there's already some damage in your retina (retinopathy). If you're pregnant, your doctor may also recommend an eye exam during your first trimester, with follow-up exams throughout pregnancy and for one year after delivery. That's because blood sugar levels can spike during pregnancy and affect the eyes. For most women, this is temporary and goes away soon after delivery.

What to expect during your eye exam

A comprehensive eye exam is done by a doctor who specializes in treating disorders of the eyes (ophthalmologist or optometrist). This exam includes several tests:

  • Vision check. You'll read an eye chart. You'll also stare at a central target and then indicate in some fashion — such as by pushing a button or saying something to your doctor — when you see an object at the sides of your vision (peripheral vision).
  • Retinal exam. A dilated eye exam can help your eye doctor get a good look at your retina. Your doctor will place special drops in your eyes to open up (dilate) your pupils and make them larger. This will allow him or her to fully examine the backs of your eyes, to help detect diabetic macular edema and other eye problems. Your doctor may also offer retinal screening photography without dilation.
  • Tonometry. Your doctor will measure the pressure in your eyes. High pressure can cause you to lose vision from damage to the optic nerve (glaucoma).

Don't wait for your annual eye exam if you experience blurred vision, feel pressure in your eyes, or have trouble seeing at any distance. Contact your doctor immediately. Early detection and treatment of diabetic macular edema can help prevent vision loss.

Jan. 23, 2015 See more In-depth