هل هناك أي فوائد لتناول المكملات الغذائية الغنية بزيت السمك لعلاج الاكتئاب؟

قد تساعد المكملات الغذائية الغنية بزيت السمك في تقليل أعراض الاكتئاب عند بعض الأشخاص. تقترح بعض الدراسات الخاصة بالبالغين أن الأحماض الدهنية أوميغا 3 قد تكون مفيدة في علاج الاكتئاب الخفيف والمتوسط، ولكن الأمر بحاجة إلى المزيد من الأبحاث.

زيت السمك مصدر جيد للأحماض الدهنية أوميغا 3 والتي تلعب دورًا هامًا في وظيفة المخ. قد يعاني الأشخاص المصابون بالاكتئاب من نقص مستويات مواد كيميائية في المخ تسمى حمض إيكوسابنتا إينويك (EPA) وحمض دوكوساهيكسينويك (DHA). تجد هذين الحمضين في زيت السمك.

تناول السمك عدة مرات في الأسبوع يمد جسمك بهذه الزيوت الصحية. من الأمثلة على السمك الذي يحتوي على نسبة عالية من أوميغا-3: السردين والسلمون والرنجة والتروتة (السلمون المُرقَّط) والتونة البيضاء المعلبة.

إذا كنتِ حاملاً أو مرضعًا، بسبب مستويات الزئبق العالية في السمك، قللي من نسب استهلاكك الأسبوعية إلى 12 أونصة (340 غرامًا) من مختلف أنواع السمك وخذي خيارات حكيمة. فعلى سبيل المثال، يحتوى سمك السلمون على نسبة منخفضة جدًا من الزئبق. ولكن لا تأكلي أكثر من 6 أونصات (170 غرامًا) من التونة البيضاء المعلبة أسبوعيًا لأنها أعلى في نسبة الزئبق من التونة الفاتحة المعلبة.

بشكل عام، إنها حقيقةٌ أن الطعام الصحي هو الطريقة المثلى للحصول على المواد الغذائية، ولكن هذا مثال يوضح أن المكملات الغذائية تقدم لنا بعض المساعدة. أوضحت بعض الدراسات أن الملوثات كالزئبق لا يتجمع في زيت السمك ولكنه يمكث بشكل أساسي في لحم السمك. لهذا إن ساورك القلق بشأن الزئبق، قد يساعدك تناول المكملات الغذائية الغنية بزيت السمك في التخلص من الاكتئاب ولكن استشر طبيبك بهذا الشأن.

لا يعد زيت السمك بديلاً لعلاجات الاكتئاب ولكنه قد يكون مفيداً بجانب الأدوية الموصوفة أو العلاجات الأخرى. هناك حاجة إلى المزيد من الدراسات لتحديد الدور الذي يلعبه أوميغا 3 بالضبط في علاج الاكتئاب. قد تساعد المكملات الغذائية الغنية بزيت السمك في تقليل مخاطر الاكتئاب — كما تساعد الأحماض الدهنية أوميغا 3 في حماية صحة القلب.

27/09/2018 See more Expert Answers

Is there any benefit to taking fish oil supplements for depression?

Answers from Daniel K. Hall-Flavin, M.D.

Fish oil supplements may help ease symptoms of depression in some people. Some studies in adults suggest that omega-3 fatty acids may be beneficial in the treatment of mild to moderate depression, but more research is needed.

Fish oil is a good source of omega-3 fatty acids, which play an important role in brain function. People with depression may have low blood levels of brain chemicals called eicosapentaenoic (i-koe-suh-pen-tuh-e-NO-ik) acid (EPA) and docosahexaenoic (doe-koe-suh-hek-suh-e-NO-ik) acid (DHA). EPA and DHA can be found in fish oil.

Eating fish a few times a week may provide your body with these healthy oils. Examples of fish high in omega-3s include sardines, salmon, herring, trout and canned white (albacore) tuna.

If you're pregnant or nursing, due to mercury levels, limit your weekly fish intake to 12 ounces (340 grams) of a variety of fish and make wise choices. For example, salmon is typically low in mercury. But eat no more than 6 ounces (170 grams) of canned white tuna a week because it's higher in mercury than light canned tuna.

However, while it's generally true that the best way to get nutrients is through healthy foods, this is one example where a supplement may help. Some studies have shown that contaminants like mercury do not appear to accumulate in fish oil, but remain primarily in the meat of the fish. So if you're concerned about mercury, a high-quality fish oil supplement may help with depression, but ask your doctor for advice.

Fish oil isn't considered a replacement for treatment of depression, but it may be helpful as an addition to prescribed medications or other treatment. Although more studies are needed to determine exactly what role omega-3s play in depression, it's possible that fish oil supplements high in omega-3s may help lower the risk of depression — and omega-3 fatty acids help protect heart health.

Nov. 03, 2015 See more Expert Answers