普通感冒没有办法治愈。但那些号称能更快见效的感冒药呢?找出哪些是有效的,哪些无效。

来自妙佑医疗国际员工

感冒药几乎和普通感冒一样常见,但它们有效吗?没有任何方法能治愈感冒。但是一些治疗方法可能会帮助您减轻症状,让您不会感到很痛苦。下面就来看看一些普通感冒药以及大家对它们的了解。

如果您感冒了,您可能会生病一到两个星期。这并不意味着您一定很难受。以下缓解措施可能会让您感觉更好:

  • 保持体内水分充足。水、果汁、清汤或温柠檬水加蜂蜜有助于缓解充血和防止脱水。避免饮酒、咖啡和含咖啡因的碳酸饮料,因为它们会使脱水更严重。
  • 休息。您的身体需要休息才能痊愈。
  • 缓解咽喉痛。盐水(1/4 到 1/2 茶匙的盐溶于 8 盎司(236.56 毫升)的温水中)漱口可以暂时缓解咽喉痛或发痒。6 岁以下的儿童不太可能正确漱口。

    您也可以尝试冰片、咽喉痛喷雾剂、锭剂或硬糖。给孩子吃锭剂或硬糖时要小心,因为他们可能会被噎住。请勿让 6 岁以下的孩子食用锭剂或硬糖。

  • 应对鼻塞。非处方盐水鼻滴剂和喷鼻剂可以帮助缓解鼻塞和充血。

    对于婴儿,专家建议将几滴生理盐水滴入一个鼻孔,然后用球注射器轻轻地吸鼻孔。采取该措施时,应先挤压球,将注射器尖端轻轻地放入鼻孔中约 1/4 到 1/2 英寸(约 6 到 12 毫米)处,然后慢慢松开球。盐水喷鼻剂可用于较大的儿童。

  • 缓解疼痛。对于 6 个月或更小的儿童,只能使用对乙酰氨基酚。对于 6 个月以上的儿童,可以使用对乙酰氨基酚或布洛芬。向孩子的医生询问适合适合孩子年龄和体重的正确剂量。

    成人可以服用对乙酰氨基酚(泰诺等)、布洛芬(Advil、Motrin IB 等)或阿司匹林。

    儿童或青少年要慎用阿司匹林。尽管阿司匹林已获批用于 3 岁以上的儿童,但千万不要给处于水痘或流感样症状恢复期的儿童和青少年使用阿司匹林。这是因为阿司匹林与瑞氏综合征有关,对于这类儿童,瑞氏综合征是一种罕见但可能危及生命的疾病。

  • 喝温热液体。喝温热液体,例如鸡汤、茶或温暖的苹果汁,是许多文化中使用的感冒缓解措施,它可能会让人感到舒缓并可能通过增加黏液流动来缓解充血。
  • 尝试蜂蜜。蜂蜜可以改善 1 岁以上儿童和成人的咳嗽。尝试在热茶里加蜂蜜。
  • 加湿。冷雾蒸发器或加湿器会给您的房间增加水分,这可能有助于缓解充血。每天更换水,并按照制造商的说明清洁设备。
  • 试试非处方 (OTC) 感冒药和咳嗽药。对于 5 岁及以上的儿童和成人,非处方减充血剂、抗组胺药和止痛药可能会提供一些症状缓解。然而,它们不能预防感冒或缩短感冒持续时间,而且大多数都有一些副作用。

    专家们一致认为,这些不应该给年幼的孩子。过度使用和滥用这些药物会造成严重损害。在给孩子服用任何药物之前,请先咨询医生。

    仅遵医嘱服药。一些感冒药含有多种成分,例如减充血剂和止痛药,所以请阅读您服用的感冒药的标签,以确保您没有服用过多的任何药物。

无效感冒药名单很长。一些较常见的无效药物包括:

  • 抗生素。这些攻击细菌,但对感冒病毒不起作用。不要向医生索要感冒用抗生素或服用已有抗生素。您不会更快康复,而抗生素使用不当会导致严重的耐抗生素细菌滋生问题。
  • 幼儿非处方感冒和咳嗽用药。OTC 感冒和咳嗽用药可能对儿童产生严重甚至危及生命的副作用。服用任何药物前应咨询孩子的医生。

尽管研究正在进行中,科学界就维生素 C 和松果菊等常见感冒疗法的作用仍然还没有定论。以下是一些常见替代疗法的最新信息:

  • 维生素 C。通常情况下服用维生素 C 似乎不能帮助普通人预防感冒。

    但是,一些研究发现,在感冒症状开始之前服用维生素 C 可能会缩短症状的持续时间。维生素 C 可能会为因频繁接触而患感冒的高风险人群带来好处:例如,冬季参加集体托儿服务的孩子。

  • 松果菊。关于松果菊是否可以预防或缩短感冒症状的研究结果不一。一些研究显示其并无益处。其他研究则表明,若在感冒初期服用,则感冒症状严重程度会降低,持续时间会缩短。在不同研究中使用不同类型的松果菊可能导致了不同的结果。

    如果发现感冒症状即服用松果菊并持续服用 7 至 10 天似乎最有效。其对于健康的成年人似乎很安全,但其可能与许多药物相互作用。服用松果菊或任何其他补充剂之前,请先咨询您的医生。

  • 锌。几项研究表明,补锌可以减少感冒症状的持续时间。但是,关于锌和感冒关系的研究结论喜忧参半。

    一些研究表明,锌锭剂或糖浆可将感冒症状的时间缩短约一天,尤其是在感冒最初体征和症状出现后的 24 至 48 小时内服用。

    锌还具有潜在的有害副作用。在考虑使用锌预防或减少感冒症状持续时间之前,请先咨询您的医生。

虽然感冒通常较轻微,但会让您很难受。尝试最新疗法很诱人,但您能做的最好的事情就是照顾好自己。注意休息,多喝水,保持周围空气湿润。记得勤洗手。

Sept. 10, 2022

There's no cure for the common cold. But what about cold remedies that claim to make you feel better faster? Find out what's effective — and what's not.

By Mayo Clinic Staff

Cold remedies are almost as common as the common cold, but are they effective? Nothing can cure a cold, but there are some remedies that might help ease your symptoms and keep you from feeling so miserable. Here's a look at some common cold remedies and what's known about them.

If you catch a cold, you can expect to be sick for one to two weeks. That doesn't mean you have to be miserable. Besides getting enough rest, these remedies might help you feel better:

  • Stay hydrated. Water, juice, clear broth or warm lemon water with honey helps loosen congestion and prevents dehydration. Avoid alcohol, coffee and caffeinated sodas, which can make dehydration worse.
  • Rest. Your body needs to heal.
  • Soothe a sore throat. A saltwater gargle — 1/4 to 1/2 teaspoon salt dissolved in an 8-ounce glass of warm water — can temporarily relieve a sore or scratchy throat. Children younger than 6 years are unlikely to be able to gargle properly.

    You can also try ice chips, sore throat sprays, lozenges or hard candy. Don't give lozenges or hard candy to children younger than 3 to 4 years old because they can choke on them.

  • Combat stuffiness. Over-the-counter saline nasal drops and sprays can help relieve stuffiness and congestion. In infants, experts recommend putting several saline drops into one nostril, then gently suctioning that nostril with a bulb syringe. To do this, squeeze the bulb, gently place the syringe tip in the nostril about 1/4 to 1/2 inch (about 6 to 12 millimeters) and slowly release the bulb. Saline nasal sprays may be used in older children.
  • Relieve pain. For children 6 months or younger, give only acetaminophen. For children older than 6 months, give either acetaminophen or ibuprofen. Ask your child's doctor for the correct dose for your child's age and weight. Adults can take acetaminophen (Tylenol, others), ibuprofen (Advil, Motrin IB, others) or aspirin.

    Use caution when giving aspirin to children or teenagers. Though aspirin is approved for use in children older than age 3, children and teenagers recovering from chickenpox or flu-like symptoms should never take aspirin. This is because aspirin has been linked to Reye's syndrome, a rare but potentially life-threatening condition, in such children.

  • Sip warm liquids. A cold remedy used in many cultures, taking in warm liquids, such as chicken soup, tea, or warm apple juice, might be soothing and might ease congestion by increasing mucus flow.
  • Add moisture to the air.  A cool mist vaporizer or humidifier can add moisture to your home, which might help loosen congestion. Change the water daily, and clean the unit according to the manufacturer's instructions. Don't use steam, which hasn't been shown to help and may cause burns.
  • Try over-the-counter (OTC) cold and cough medications. For adults and children older than 5, OTC decongestants, antihistamines and pain relievers might offer some symptom relief. However, they won't prevent a cold or shorten its duration, and most have some side effects.

    Experts agree that these shouldn't be given to younger children. Overuse and misuse of these medications can cause serious damage.

    Take medications only as directed. Some cold remedies contain multiple ingredients, such as a decongestant plus a pain reliever, so read the labels of cold medications you take to make sure you're not taking too much of any medication.

The list of ineffective cold remedies is long. A few of the more common ones that don't work include:

  • Antibiotics. These attack bacteria, but they're no help against cold viruses. Avoid asking your doctor for antibiotics for a cold or using old antibiotics you have on hand. You won't get well any faster, and inappropriate use of antibiotics contributes to the serious and growing problem of antibiotic-resistant bacteria.
  • Over-the-counter cold and cough medications in young children. OTC cold and cough medications may cause serious and even life-threatening side effects in children. The FDA warns against their use in children younger than age 6.
  • Zinc. The cold-fighting reputation of zinc has had its ups and downs. That's because many zinc studies are flawed.

  • The jury is still out, but a review of 18 randomized, controlled studies indicated that zinc lozenges or syrup reduced the average length of a cold in otherwise healthy people when taken within 24 hours of the onset of symptoms. The review also found some evidence that zinc taken for five months to prevent colds reduced the incidence of colds in children. Keep in mind, though, that you can't really know what's in the zinc product you take.

    The review didn't recommend zinc for people with chronic illnesses, such as asthma, because they weren't included in the studies. Side effects of zinc include a bad taste and nausea.

    Intranasal zinc may result in permanent damage to the sense of smell. The FDA issued a warning against using three zinc-containing nasal cold remedies because they had been associated with a long-lasting or permanent loss of smell (anosmia).

In spite of ongoing studies, the scientific jury is still out on some popular cold remedies, such as vitamin C and echinacea. Here's an update on some common alternative remedies:

  • Vitamin C. It appears that for the most part taking vitamin C won't help the average person prevent colds. However, taking vitamin C before the onset of cold symptoms may shorten the duration of symptoms. Vitamin C may provide benefit for people at high risk of colds due to frequent exposure — for example, children who attend group child care during the winter.
  • Echinacea. Study results on whether echinacea prevents or shortens colds are mixed. Some studies show no benefit. Others show some reduction in the severity and duration of cold symptoms when taken in the early stages of a cold. Different types of echinacea used in different studies may have contributed to the differing results.

    Echinacea seems to be most effective if you take it when you notice cold symptoms and continue it for seven to 10 days. It appears to be safe for healthy adults, but it can interact with many drugs. Check with your doctor before taking echinacea or any other supplement.

Although usually minor, colds can make you feel miserable. It's tempting to try the latest remedy, but the best thing you can do is take care of yourself. Rest, drink fluids and keep the air around you moist. Remember to wash your hands frequently.

April 03, 2015