استخدم الدروس التي تعلمتها من علاجك الأول لتمدك بالثقة والقوة في مواجهة الغضب والخوف المصاحبين لعودة السرطان.

By Mayo Clinic Staff

عندما يعود مرض السرطان، تعود معها الصدمة والخوف اللذان شعرا بهما عند التشخيص الأول للمرض. كذلك يساوره الشعور بعدم اليقين من جديد ويتساءل بشأن خضوعه لمزيد من علاج السرطان ومستقبله.

شعور المريض بالكرب أمر طبيعي — ويقول البعض إن التشخيص الثاني بالسرطان يمكن أن يكون أشد كربًا عن الأول.

يُعنى بعودة السرطان تكرار الإصابة بالسرطان بعد فترة من الهجوع. ويحدث ذلك لأنه على الرغم من بذل أفضل الجهود للتخلص من السرطان الذي يعاني منه المريض، تظل بعض الخلايا السرطانية باقية.

قد تكون هذه الخلايا في الموضع ذاته الذي نشأ فيه السرطان في الإصابة الأولى، أو قد تكون في جزء آخر من الجسم. ومن الممكن أن تظل هذه الخلايا السرطانية خامدة لفترة من الزمن ولكنها تواصل التكاثر في النهاية مما يؤدي ذلك إلى عودة ظهور السرطان.

يُقصد بعودة السرطان تكرار الإصابة بالسرطان ذاته بعد فترة من الزمن. وفي حالات نادرة، قد يتم تشخيص سرطان جديد غير ذي صلة تمامًا بالإصابة السرطانية الأولى. ويُطلق عليه في هذه الحالة اسم السرطان الرئيسي الثاني.

يمكن أن تتكرر الإصابة بالسرطان في الموضع ذاته الذي اكتُشف فيه السرطان في البداية أو قد تنتقل إلى أجزاء أخرى من الجسم. وتنقسم حالات تكرار الإصابة بالسرطان إلى ثلاث فئات:

  • التكرار الموضعي. يشير هذا إلى عودة ظهور السرطان في المكان ذاته الذي اكتُشف فيه أول مرة أو بالقرب منه. وفي هذه المرحلة، لا يكون السرطان قد انتشر إلى الغدد الليمفاوية أو المناطق الأخرى في الجسم.
  • التكرار الناحي. يحدث التكرار الناحي في الغدد الليمفاوية والنسيج الموجود في محيط المنطقة التي اكتُشف فها السرطان أول مرة.
  • التكرار البعيد. تشير هذه الفئة إلى السرطان الذي قد انتشر (انتقل) إلى مناطق أبعد من المنطقة التي اكتُشف فيها أول مرة.

يعتمد المكان الذي تحدث فيه الإصابة المتكررة للسرطان على نوع الإصابة الأولى بالسرطان ومرحلتها. حيث إن بعض أنواع السرطان يتكرر حدوثها بشكل شائع في أماكن محددة.

تشخص عودة السرطان كما يشخص أي نوع آخر من أمراض السرطان. قد يشك طبيبك في عودة السرطان بناءً على فحوصات معينة، أو يمكنك أنت الاشتباه في عودته بناءً على العلامات والأعراض لديك.

بعد جولتك الأخيرة من العلاج، الأرجح أن طبيبك قد أعطاك جدولاً من اختبارات المتابعة لفحص ما إذا عاد السرطان. الأرجح أنك أُخبرتَ بشأم العلامات والأعراض التي عليك الانتباه لها والتي قد تشيل إلى عودة السرطان.

غالبًا ما يكون الانتباه إلى عودة السرطان مختلفًا تمامًا عن التنظير الشعاعي للكشف عن السرطان. والهدف من الأمرين مختلف.

بالنسبة لأغلب أشكال السرطان، فمازال بالإمكان علاج عودة السرطان الموضعية، لذا فاكتشاف العودة الموضعية في وقت مبكر هي أمر مهم للغاية. بالنسبة لأغلب أمراض السرطان، فعودتها في مكان بعيد عن المكان الأول لظهور السرطان يعني أن احتمالية العلاج ليست جيدة.

جميع أمراض السرطان مختلفة، لذا تحدث مع طبيبك بشأن نوع السرطان الذي لديك وما يمكن فعله إذا ما عاد في مكان بعيد. يمكن لهذا الأمر أن يكون هاديًا إلى نوعية الاختبارات التي تخضع لها خلال الفحوصات الروتينية بعد علاجك الأولي.

في العديد من الحالات، يمكن علاج حالات تكرار السرطان الموضعية والموجودة في نفس المنطقة. حتى إن لم يكن الشفاء محتملاً، فقد يقلص العلاج من السرطان ويبطئ نموه. وهذا سوف يخفف الألم والأعراض الأخرى ومن المحتمل أن يساعد المريض على العيش لفترة أطول.

سوف يعتمد العلاج، إن وُجد، الذي يختاره المريض على العديد من العوامل المماثلة التي تم وضعها في الاعتبار عند تحديد العلاج الأولي. ويجب أن يأخذ المريض بعين الاعتبار ما الذي يأمل أن يحققه وما الآثار الجانبية التي سوف يستعد لتحملها. كذلك، سوف يضع الطبيب في اعتباره أي أنواع من العلاج التي خضع لها المريض من قبل وكيفية استجابة الجسم لهذه العلاجات.

يمكن للمريض أيضًا أن ينضم إلى تجربة سريرية حيث قد تتوفر له صلاحية تجربة أحدث العلاجات أو الأدوية التجريبية. ويجب عليه أن يتحدث إلى الطبيب حول التجارب السريرية المتاحة بالنسبة له.

تسترجع تكرار الإصابة بمرض السرطان الكثير من المشاعر نفسها التي شعرتَ بها حينما جرى تشخيصك بالمرض أول مرة. وتشمل المشاعر الشائعة:

  • الضيق. حينما أنهيت علاجك من المرحلة الأولى للسرطان، تبدأ ببطء المضي قدمًا في حياتك، وتعتقد أن السرطان قد انتهى وذهب. وخلال الأسابيع أو الأشهر أو السنوات التي تمضي، يُصبح السرطان ذي حيز أقل وأقل في حياتك اليومية.

    صدمة الإصابة بالسرطان تحدث بعد افتراضك أنه قد انتهى قد تسبب لك ضيقًا — وأحيانًا قد تكون هذه الصدمة أشدُّ من تلك التي أُصبت بها حينما تم تشخيصك به أول مرة.

  • الشك في الذات. ربما ينتابك الشك حول الحكمة من قرارات علاجك في السابق أو خياراتك في الحياة التي قمت بها منذ تجربتك الأخيرة مع السرطان. حاول ألا تنظر للوراء. وبدلاً من ذلك، ركّز على وضعك الحالي وما تحتاجه الآن للمضي قدمًا.

  • الغضب. من المعتاد والمعقول أن تشعر بالغضب عند إصابتك مرة أخرى بالسرطان.

    وقد تشعر أيضًا بالغضب من طبيبك لعدم إيقافه لإصابتك بالسرطان في المرة الأولى. أو ربما تتساءل عن سبب تحملك الآثار الجانبية الناتجة عن علاجك الأصلي، وقد تتكرر إصابتك بالسرطان على أي حال. ولكنك وطبيبك قمتما باختيارات العلاج بناءً على المعلومات المتاحة لديكما في هذا الوقت.

    وإن طلب رأي آخر قد يساعدك على فهم خياراتك بشكل أفضل.

  • التعب. من الطبيعي أن تشعر أنه لا يمكنك التعامل مع إصابتك بالسرطان مرة أخرى. وسواء كنت تخاف من الآثار الجانبية للعلاج أو اضطرارك لإخبار عائلتك وأصدقائك بأنك مصاب بالسرطان، لا تخف فأنت قمتُ بذلك من قبل.

    وكن واثقًا في حقيقة أنك كنت قادرًا على فعل الأمر في المرة الأولى، حتى وإن شككتُ في نفسك آنذاك.

فكل هذه المشاعر طبيعية، وإن نفس آليات المواجهة التي استخدمتها أثناء تشخيصك بمرض السرطان في المرة الأولى على الأرجح ستعمل الآن. وسواء تلقيت الدعم من صديقك المقرب أو أحد أشخاص عائلتك أو مجموعة الدعم، فأنت تعرف أن هذا الشخص أو تلك المجموعة تقدم لك الدعم العاطفي الجيد والمناسب.

كما إنه لديك مزايا أخرى في هذه المرة. اعتمد على ما يلي لمساعدتك على مواجهة الأمر. على سبيل المثال:

  • أنت تعرف الكثير الآن عن المرض. إن كثرة المعرفة حول مرض السرطان وخياراتك في العلاج قد تساعدك على تقليل شعورك بالقلق. فكّر كم المعلومات التي عرفتها حول السرطان في أول تشخيص لك به. قارن ذلك بما تعرفه الآن، مثل ما يشمله العلاج والآثار الجانبية المتوقعة.
  • لقد بنيتُ علاقات. لقد عملت عن كثب مع طبيبك، كما إنك تعرف طريقك فيما يتعلق المستشفى أو العيادة. وهو ما قد يجعلكِ تشعرين بالراحة.
  • فقد قُمتَ بذلك من قبل. بناءً على تجربتك الأولى مع مرض السرطان، فأنت تعرف ما هو الأفضل بالنسبة لك في هذه المرحلة. سواء كنت تحتاج لقضاء بعض الوقت بمفردك أو تفضل وجود شخص بقربك، يمكنك استرجاع تجربتك للتخطيط مستقبلاً.

استخدم هذه التجارب لصالحك. فقد تساعدك على الشعور بأنك متحكم في الأمر بصورة أكبر عند اتخاذك قرارات علاجك.

عبّر عن مشاعرك مع طبيبك. نتيجة الحديث مع طبيبك قد تقدم لك فهمًا أكبر بوضعك، وقد تساعدك في اتخاذ قرارات علاجك.

Sept. 27, 2018

Use lessons from your initial treatment to give you confidence and strength as you face the anger and fear that comes with a cancer recurrence.

By Mayo Clinic Staff

Your cancer is back, and so are the shock and fear that came with your first diagnosis. The uncertainties are back, too, and you wonder about more cancer treatment and about your future.

The distress you feel is normal — some say the second cancer diagnosis can be more distressing than the first.

When cancer returns after a period of remission, it's considered a recurrence. A cancer recurrence happens because, in spite of the best efforts to rid you of your cancer, some cells from your cancer remained.

These cells could be in the same place where your cancer first originated, or they could be in another part of your body. These cancer cells may have been dormant for a period of time, but eventually they continued to multiply, resulting in the reappearance of the cancer.

A cancer recurrence means it's the same cancer coming back after some period of time. In rare cases, you may be diagnosed with a new cancer that's completely unrelated to your first cancer. This is referred to as a second primary cancer.

Your cancer can recur in the same place it was originally located, or it can migrate to other parts of your body. Recurrence is divided into three categories:

  • Local recurrence. This means the cancer reappears in the same place it was first found or very close by. The cancer hasn't spread to the lymph nodes or other parts of the body.
  • Regional recurrence. A regional recurrence occurs in the lymph nodes and tissue located in the vicinity of your original cancer.
  • Distant recurrence. This refers to cancer that has spread (metastasized) to areas farther away from where your cancer was first located.

Where your cancer recurs depends on your original cancer type and stage. Some cancer types commonly recur in specific areas.

Cancer recurrences are diagnosed just like any other cancer. Your doctor might suspect a cancer recurrence based on certain tests, or you might suspect a recurrence based on your signs and symptoms.

After your last round of treatment, your doctor probably gave you a schedule of follow-up exams to check for cancer recurrences. You were probably told what signs and symptoms to be alert for that might signal a recurrence.

Watching for a cancer recurrence is often very different from screening for the original cancer. And the goals of the two are different.

For most forms of cancer, a local recurrence may still be curable, so early detection of a local recurrence is very important. For most cancers, a recurrence at a site distant from where the cancer first began means the chance of cure is not good.

All cancers are different, so talk with your doctor about what type of cancer you have and what can be done if it recurs at a distant site. This can guide what tests you undergo during routine checkups after your initial treatment.

In many cases, local and regional recurrences can be cured. Even when a cure isn't possible, treatment may shrink your cancer to slow the cancer's growth. This can relieve pain and other symptoms, and it may help you live longer.

Which treatment you choose, if any, will be based on many of the same factors you considered when deciding on your treatment the first time. Consider what you hope to accomplish and what side effects you're willing to endure. Your doctor will also take into account what types of treatment you had previously and how your body responded to those treatments.

You might also consider joining a clinical trial, where you may have access to the latest treatments or experimental medications. Talk to your doctor about clinical trials that are available to you.

A cancer recurrence brings back many of the same emotions you felt when you were first diagnosed with cancer. Common emotions include:

  • Distress. When you ended treatment for your initial cancer, you slowly started to move on with your life, thinking the cancer was gone. In the weeks, months or years that passed, cancer became less and less a part of your daily life.

    The shock of having cancer come back after you assumed it was gone can cause distress — sometimes more so than your first diagnosis did.

  • Self-doubt. You may doubt the wisdom of your past treatment decisions or the lifestyle choices you made since your last cancer experience. Try not to look backward. Instead, focus on your current situation and what you need to do now to move forward.
  • Anger. It's very common and reasonable to be angry that your cancer has returned.

    You might even be angry with your doctor for not stopping your cancer the first time. Or you might wonder why you put up with the side effects of your original treatment, just to have the cancer recur anyway. But you and your doctor made treatment choices based on the information available at that time.

    Seeking a second opinion may help you to better understand your choices.

  • Fatigue. It's normal to feel that you can't deal with cancer again. Whether it's the side effects of treatment you're dreading or having to tell your friends and family that you have cancer, you've done it before.

    Take heart in the fact that you were able to do it the first time, even though you might have doubted yourself back then.

All of these feelings are normal, and the same coping mechanisms you used during your first cancer diagnosis are likely to work now. Whether it was a best friend, a family member or a support group you turned to, you know that person or group provides good emotional support.

You have other advantages this time around. Rely on these to help you cope. For example:

  • You know more now. Knowing more about cancer and your treatment options can help reduce your anxiety. Think about how much you knew about cancer at your first diagnosis. Compare this to what you know now, such as what treatment involves and what side effects to expect.
  • You've built relationships. You've worked closely with your doctor, and you know your way around the hospital or clinic. This can make you feel more comfortable.
  • You've done this before. Based on your first experience with cancer, you know what's best for you during this time. Whether you needed some time alone or preferred having someone nearby, you can draw on your experience to plan ahead.

Use these experiences to your advantage. They can help you feel more in control when making decisions about your treatment.

Express your feelings to your doctor. The conversation that results can give you a better understanding of your situation, and it can help you make treatment decisions.

Feb. 18, 2014