قد يزيد السُّكَّري من خطر الإصابة بمرض الزهايمر. قُم بتقليص ذلك الخطر عن طريق ضبط مستوى السكر في الدم. يُمكن أن يفيد نظام الطعام والتمرين الرياضي في ذلك.

By Mayo Clinic Staff

يرتبط السُّكَّري والزهايمر بطرق لم يتم فهمها كلياً لحد الآن. في حين أنه لم يتم تأكيد العلاقة تقترح العديد من الدراسات أن مرضى السُّكَّري، خاصةً الذين يعانون من نمطه الثاني، عرضة أكثر لنشوء خرف الزهايمر أو غيره من الخرف في نهاية المطاف.

إن اتخاذ الخطوات اللازمة للحد من السُّكَّري أو السيطرة عليه قد يفيد في تقليل خطر الضعف الإدراكي.

يُمكن أن يُسبب السُّكَّري العديد من المضاعفات كتلف أوعية الدم، كما يُعتبر السُّكَّري عامل خطورة للإصابة بالخرف الوعائي. يحدث هذا النوع من الخرف نتيجة التلف الذي يُصيب الدماغ الذي غالباً ما يُسببه تضاؤل أو عرقلة تدفق الدم إلى الدماغ.

يُعاني الكثير من مرضى السُّكَّري من تغييرات في الدماغ تدخُل ضمن قائمة السمات المميزة لمرض الزهايمر والخرف الوعائي معاً. يعتقد بعض الباحثين بأن كل حالة مرضية تدعم التلف الذي تُسببه الحالة الأُخرى.

تنظر البحوث العلمية في مساعي فهم الصلة بين مرضي الزهايمر والسكري على نحو أفضل. قد تنجم تلك الصلة عن الطرق المعقدة التي يؤثر فيها السُّكَّري من النمط الثاني على قدرة الدماغ وأنسجة الجسم الأُخرى على استعمال السكر (الغلوكوز) والاستجابة للأنسولين.

قد يزيد الأنسولين أيضاً خطر نشوء خلل معرفي (ادراكي) متوسط الشدة وهو حالة يُعاني فيها الأشخاص من كثرة التفكير (معرفي) ومشاكل الذاكرة التي عادةً ما تظهر نتيجة التقدم الطبيعي في السن. قد يسبق الخلل المعرفي متوسط الشدة مرض الزهايمر والأنواع الأُخرى من الخرف أو يترافق مع هذه الحالات.

وفيما ينخرط الباحثون في دراسة الصلات بين السُّكَّري والزهايمر فهم في نفس الوقت يدرسون الطرق التي يُمكن من خلالها الوقاية من المرضين أو علاجهما.

Working with your health care team to prevent diabetes or manage your diabetes has been shown to be an effective strategy to avoid or reduce complications. Diabetes prevention or effective diabetes management also may help prevent Alzheimer's disease and other dementias.

وقد تفيد الوقاية من السُّكَّري أو تدبيره بنجاح في تجنب المضاعفات الأُخرى كالآتي:

  • أمراض القلب
  • السكتة الدماغية
  • تلف العينين
  • أمراض الكلى
  • تلف العصب الذي قد يُسبب ألن في القدمين أو اليدين (اعتلال الأعصاب السُّكَّري)
  • أمراض الهضم (خزل المعدة)

تتضمن الخطوات التي تفيد في الوقاية من السُّكَّري أو تدبيره وتجنب المضاعفات المحتملة الآتي:

  • تناول الأطعمة الصحية بما فيها الفواكه والخصروات والحبوب الكاملة واللحوم الخالية من الدهون والحليب والأجبان منخفضة الدسم.
  • إِذا كنت تعاني من السُمنة فتناول الطعام الصحي ومارِّس الرياضة لتخفيف الوزن. يُمكن أن تؤدي البدانة إلى السُّكَّري وغيره من المشاكل الصحية.
  • مارِّس الرياضة لما لا يقل عن نصف ساعة في أغلب أيام الأسبوع.
  • قُم بمُعاينة القدمين يومياً للكشف عن القروح.
  • خُذ جميع الأدوية الموصوفة طبياً حسب مواعيدها.

تشير الأدلة العلمية إلى أن التغييرات التي تُجرى على الطعام والتمرين الرياضي للتخلص من الوزن تعتبر الأكثر فاعلية في تقليل مخاطر السُّكَّري.

يُمكن أن تُحدث الخطوات الصغيرة فارقاً كبيراً. قام المشتركون في دراسة بحثية سريرية رائدة بتقليص خطر نشوء السُّكَّري من النمط الثاني لديهم بمعدل يزيد عن 50 بالمائة عن طريق التمرين الرياضي (30 دقيقة في اليوم على مدار 5 أيام في الأسبوع) وتخفيف القليل من الوزن يتراوح بين 5 إلى 7 بالمائة من وزن الجسم الأصلي، علماً أنهم كانوا يعانون من ارتفاع مستويات السكر في الدم فوق المعدل الطبيعي (مقدمات السُّكَّري). تُفسر نسبة انقاص الوزن هذه بين 10 إلى 14 رطل (4.5 إلى 6.4 كيلوغرام) بالنسبة للشخص الذي يبلغ وزنه 200 رطل (حوالي 91 كيلوغرام).

March 23, 2016

Diabetes may increase your risk of Alzheimer's. Reduce this risk by controlling your blood sugar. Diet and exercise can help.

By Mayo Clinic Staff

Diabetes and Alzheimer's disease are connected in ways that aren't yet fully understood. While not all research confirms the connection, many studies suggest people with diabetes, especially type 2 diabetes, are at higher risk of eventually developing Alzheimer's dementia or other dementias.

Taking steps to prevent or control diabetes may help reduce your risk of cognitive decline.

Diabetes can cause several complications, such as damage to your blood vessels. Diabetes is considered a risk factor for vascular dementia. This type of dementia occurs due to brain damage that is often caused by reduced or blocked blood flow to your brain.

Many people with diabetes have brain changes that are hallmarks of both Alzheimer's disease and vascular dementia. Some researchers think that each condition fuels the damage caused by the other.

Ongoing research is looking at trying to better understand the link between Alzheimer's and diabetes. That link may occur as a result of the complex ways that type 2 diabetes affects the ability of the brain and other body tissues to use sugar (glucose) and respond to insulin.

Diabetes also may increase the risk of developing mild cognitive impairment, a condition in which people experience more thinking (cognitive) and memory problems than are usually present in normal aging. Mild cognitive impairment may precede or accompany Alzheimer's disease and other types of dementia.

As researchers examine the connections between diabetes and Alzheimer's, they're also studying potential ways to prevent or treat both diseases.

Working with your health care team to prevent diabetes or manage your diabetes has been shown to be an effective strategy to avoid or reduce complications. Diabetes prevention or effective diabetes management also may help prevent Alzheimer's disease and other dementias.

Preventing diabetes or managing it successfully may help you avoid other complications, such as:

  • Heart disease
  • Stroke
  • Eye damage
  • Kidney disease
  • Nerve damage, which may cause pain in your feet or hands (diabetic neuropathy)
  • Digestive problems (gastroparesis)

Steps to prevent or manage diabetes and avoid potential complications include:

  • Follow your health care team's recommendations about the most appropriate plan for monitoring your blood glucose, cholesterol level and blood pressure.
  • Eat healthy foods, including fruits, vegetables, whole grains, lean meats, and low-fat milk and cheese.
  • If you're overweight, eat a healthy diet and exercise to lose weight. Obesity can lead to diabetes and other health problems.
  • Exercise at least 30 minutes most days of the week.
  • Examine your feet daily for sores.
  • Take any prescribed medications on schedule.

Evidence suggests diet and activity changes that lead to weight loss are especially effective in reducing diabetes risk.

Small steps can make a big difference. In a major clinical research study, participants with blood sugar levels slightly above normal (prediabetes) cut their risk of developing type 2 diabetes by more than 50 percent through exercise (30 minutes five days a week) and as little as a 5 to 7 percent loss in body weight. That weight loss translates to 10 to 14 pounds (4.5 to 6.4 kilograms) for a 200-pound (about 91-kilogram) person.

March 23, 2016