The department's 13 divisions provide services and treatments for a wide variety of diseases and conditions. Most Internal Medicine physicians serve two roles:

  • As internists, they act as the primary or coordinating physician for a patient, conducting a history and physical exam, ordering tests and scheduling appointments with any specialists the patient needs to see.
  • As subspecialists, they see patients or consult with other Mayo doctors in their area of special expertise.

Internal Medicine physicians have available to them the most advanced diagnostic and therapeutic technology and techniques.

Patients can be seen in the following divisions:

Allergic Diseases
Cardiovascular Diseases
Endocrinology, Metabolism, Diabetes and Nutrition
Gastroenterology and Hepatology
General Internal Medicine
Hospital Internal Medicine
Infectious Diseases
Nephrology and Hypertension
Preventive, Occupational, and Aerospace Medicine
Primary Care Internal Medicine
Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine